We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

684 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 384: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were very impressed with this hotel. We booked on an advance deal and had a room right in the attics - it had some low ceilings and a skylight window but was big and comfortable. Wifi was fine. We had the breakfast buffet every day which we enjoyed. We loved the pool area on the roof - the pool... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank green_eyes_2787
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited the hotel with two kids and had two adjacent rooms. The rooms are simple, but complete. The terras is noisy. Breakfast is good. Front desk is friendly although not very flexible when we arrived a bit early. Swimming pool is nice - but not too big.

Helpful?
Thank andre-en-astrid
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear guest, We thank you for your feedback about your stay in the Cloitre Saint-Louis. We attach lot of importance in our guest comments, wether positiv or less. This kind of feeling permit to always remain vigilant to maintain our gains. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again. Kind regards The Direction More 

Laos
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel could be beautiful but fails to take advantage of its beautiful structure. The decoration from the reception to the rooms is cheap and outdated and it feels like being in a hospital rather than a hotel. Hopefully a new owner one day will make something nice out of it. Nothing to say about the restaurant as we just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stekype
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear guest, We thank you for your feedback about your stay in the Cloitre Saint-Louis. We attach lot of importance in our guest comments, wether positiv or less. This kind of feeling permit to always remain vigilant to maintain our gains. We sincerely do regret that we did not live up to your expectations, be sure that all points noted... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were delighted with our stay here. The room was full of character, incorporating original walls and looking out through shuttered windows onto the cloistered courtyard. All the staff were friendly, relaxed and efficient. Breakfast was an excellent start to the day. It felt like we were out in the country, but just across the road from the station and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry L
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Thank you so much for this positiv review on TripAdvisor ! We are really happy that you fully enjoyed your experience at the Cloitre Saint-Louis. It is a pleasure to read your positive feedback and to share it with our team who strives continuously to improve our quality of service. Your satisfaction is our best reward... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Avignon was a memorable dramatic start as we entered within the walls of the city down the narrowest of streets to arrive at our destination. we had a car and stopped in front to a friendly greeting and quick guidance to enter the gated parking lot. once we parked, the visual was stunning. large elm trees looming overhead and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denise D
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear customer, We thank you for your glowing review at the Cloitre Saint Louis! We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. We remain at your disposal to organise your next trip in Avignon. With our best regards. The Direction More 

Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good location in the city in walking distance to so much; also close to the Gare. There is a great deal of old world charm about the cloister and the adaptations made. Staff were always very helpful. We stayed here four nights but were in the newer additional wing which is more functional than charming. However the room was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gym9403
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I would like to warmly thank you for this wonderful comment after your stay in our hotel CLOITRE SAINT LOUIS. It is always a pleasure for us to receive such nice compliments. Your satisfaction is out best reward ! I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you for some real holidays in Avignon. Best regards, The... More 

La Canada Flintridge, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

I was attracted to the beautiful old cloister building and serene grounds pictured online, and they did not disappoint. The room, however, was in a wing of newer construction which had none of the old world elegance I had hoped to find. It was clean, spacious, comfortable and quiet, but had more of a dormitory feel to it. They do... More 

Helpful?
Thank DHBall
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

The quality of finish in the room was generally not good. Badly painted boxed in pipes in the toilet for example. There were two florescent lamps on the patio, one was not working, one did not switch off. Someone was sent to point out the switch but he couldn't find it either so he ended up standing on a chair... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard d
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear Richard, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I would like to extend my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced in the hotel. I sincerely do regret that we did not live up to your expectations, be sure that all points noted will... More 

Travelers are raving about these Avignon hotels

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

We stayed at this hotel in the cloister section four years ago and were really disappointed in the room we were allocated this time around - the "new" part, which had the look of a prison pre-fab. The room itself was fairly large, with a balcony, but it was grey and not welcoming in the least. Toilet and sink separate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria S
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear Maria, We thank you for having chosen the Cloitre Saint-Louis for your stay in Avignon and for having taken the time to share your experience with us and we deeply regret that this stay was not like you expected it. You can be sure that every point mentioned were communicated to the department concerned. With our best regards, The... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

Stayed here as part of a tour group, good location for seeing the sights of Avignon,all rooms have a different format, accessibility may be an issue for some, staff were very helpful, breakfast was completely self service, coffee was a disappointment, bathroom set up interesting, overall though a comfortable place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Callydogtravels
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for having chosen the Cloitre Saint-Louis, and for having taken the time to share your experience by writing on this website. We are very delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in Avignon. It's a big satisfaction for us, to read your good experience at the hotel. We hope that we will have the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

220 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (202)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#9 of 70 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#2 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#14 of 70 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel du Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel du Cloitre Saint Louis
Cuisines: Mediterranean, French
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Address: 20 rue du Portail Boquier, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Price Range: $111 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Avignon
Avignon Clarion
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay