We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

20, rue du Portail Boquier, 84000, Avignon, France
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

659 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 378: English reviews
La Canada Flintridge, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was attracted to the beautiful old cloister building and serene grounds pictured online, and they did not disappoint. The room, however, was in a wing of newer construction which had none of the old world elegance I had hoped to find. It was clean, spacious, comfortable and quiet, but had more of a dormitory feel to it. They do... More 

Helpful?
Thank DHBall
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The quality of finish in the room was generally not good. Badly painted boxed in pipes in the toilet for example. There were two florescent lamps on the patio, one was not working, one did not switch off. Someone was sent to point out the switch but he couldn't find it either so he ended up standing on a chair... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard d
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear Richard, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I would like to extend my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced in the hotel. I sincerely do regret that we did not live up to your expectations, be sure that all points noted will... More 

Travelers are raving about these Avignon hotels

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel in the cloister section four years ago and were really disappointed in the room we were allocated this time around - the "new" part, which had the look of a prison pre-fab. The room itself was fairly large, with a balcony, but it was grey and not welcoming in the least. Toilet and sink separate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria S
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear Maria, We thank you for having chosen the Cloitre Saint-Louis for your stay in Avignon and for having taken the time to share your experience with us and we deeply regret that this stay was not like you expected it. You can be sure that every point mentioned were communicated to the department concerned. With our best regards, The... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of a tour group, good location for seeing the sights of Avignon,all rooms have a different format, accessibility may be an issue for some, staff were very helpful, breakfast was completely self service, coffee was a disappointment, bathroom set up interesting, overall though a comfortable place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Callydogtravels
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for having chosen the Cloitre Saint-Louis, and for having taken the time to share your experience by writing on this website. We are very delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in Avignon. It's a big satisfaction for us, to read your good experience at the hotel. We hope that we will have the... More 

Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just stayed here for 2 nights and it was very good. We had a room over looking the courtyard and it was great. Very big as far as European standards go. The bathroom was great with a bathtub and a roomy shower and counter space. Had an issue checking in with room not being ready till 430pm, not a big... More 

Helpful?
Thank 814Sadie
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read you had a nice holiday staying at the Cloitre Saint-Louis and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. On behalf of our entire staff here, we would like to thank you for your kind comment and we... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked Cloitre St Louis 8 months ahead. Got great early bird price and found hotel to be exactly as it was portrayed in its marketing. We would probably stayed in the biggest room with still 2 weeks left in our Tour De France. The rooftop swimming pool is a nice place to relax - part of the terrace is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Singfat_Chu
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear guest, We thank you for your glowing review at the Cloitre Saint-Louis! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. With our best regards. The Direction More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very expensive but absolutely stunning -was a monastery and the courtyard is the view and is awesome. Staff were lovely but breakfast pretty run of the mill. Room was pleasant though bath a real squeeze around the screen and no bedside table which is annoying and the shelf behind bed - just dangerous in the dark if you want to... More 

Helpful?
Thank alanaw0king
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great comment, and for your precision about your stay at the CLOITRE SAINT LOUIS. These details allows us to better understand each points to lift or more detailed. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, it's a big satisfaction. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again... More 

Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely hotel very close to train station and yet in heart of old city. Add to that the pool and excellent breakfast comes close to perfect. A few hiccups - all light switches in very odd places - light for balcony next to bed across room, bathroom switch also next to bed. Television not programmed - someone had to come... More 

Helpful?
Thank jackmontgomery
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the AVIGNON GRAND HOTEL. We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and all détails given are so important for us, to well understand your expectations and to maintain... More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

centrally located hotel in a quiet small road in the center of Avignon. Situated in a wonderful old cloister. Rooms charming and practical but relatively noisy. Maintainance of the hotel somewhat questionable: Elevator was broken (no big thing) and we were told 'was broken yesterday but will be repaired today' but nothing happened for an entire week; we had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christian S
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear Christian, We thank you for having chosen the Cloitre Saint-Louis for your stay and for having taken the time to share your experience with us. To give you more informations about the lift, it was broken a sunday. OTIS (our maintenance society) could not repair the same day because they have to order a special piece. That's why our... More 

Paso Robles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

This hotel fit all of our needs and had added bonuses like a nice restaurant (we only ate breakfast there) and a rooftop pool. It is in a great location of Avignon, the there are a lot of cafes in very close walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank 824natalied
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review

Dear guest, We thank you for your glowing review at the Cloitre Saint-Louis. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read you had a nice holiday staying at our hotel and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. On behalf of our entire staff here at the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

206 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (188)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#9 of 70 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#14 of 70 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#2 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel du Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel du Cloitre Saint Louis
Cuisines: Mediterranean, French
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Address: 20, rue du Portail Boquier, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Price Range: $110 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Avignon
Avignon Clarion
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay