We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel La Caravelle

Expedia.com$97*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$97*
$97*
$97*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel La Caravelle
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 54: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel La Caravelle
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2016

It is a small and quite hotel, good and just typical french style! I think is good to spend one or two nights, alone or in couple. This tiny hotel is a bit old, but it is good if you want to feel l'ambiance provençale.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan_Sho_
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

The staff were all really friendly and did everything they could to help us and ensure our stay was enjoyable. The rooms were cleaned and bed changed everyday. The hotel is in a great location too, the staff helped us with the best places to eat and socialise. There is a car park 2 minute walk from the car park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jtoheom
Suva
Reviewed October 3, 2016

most disappointing that despite the interesting location the Hotel and the room we were in, had an awful smell of sewerage. When we brought this to the attention of the Manager at Check out, he did to appear at concerned, " IT is how it is " was his abrupt response. However rather than have breakfast there we went next...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ZhouLIN
Brussels
Reviewed August 5, 2016

Aix is expensive this time of the year, so for one night we opted for La Caravelle. It is charming with plenty of character and our room, although relatively spartan with a small double bed, was perfectly adequate. Thank goodness also for the very good air con in the room. The bathroom is fine, but the shower head needs a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank storytellerBrussels
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the small single room which has an external toilet along the corridor which is a bit of a strange set up but was ok for one night. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even spoke English to me. It's a very good location for seeing Aix as the centre of town is only a short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitty N
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 25, 2015

This hotel is excellent (expecially for the price) on a whole range of levels. Firstly, the service. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and charming. Secondly, the room. Light, airy and comfortable. Thirdly, location. A short walk to wherever you want to go in Aix-en-Provence. The only thing that might make one think twice is no air-conditioning. I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann T
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed September 24, 2015 via mobile

This was our 4th hotel in 3 weeks in France. The man at the desk David was very friendly and nice. There was even a room ready for us at 11:00 in the morning. The room exceeded my expectations in size and wonderful view of courtyard out the window. Room 16 is great. Elevator available but took 2 trips with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1xmasgirl
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 30, 2015

The location is excellent. We can walk everywhere (but every hotel in the centre will be like this). The staff couldn't be more friendly. Breakfast is fine. The room was spotless when we arrived. But then it wasn't properly cleaned during our stay. One day, the rubbish wasn't collected. The floor wasn't swept properly. Not even the toilet was cleaned....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luciana C
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, nice neighborhood with everything in close walking distance. You really couldn't ask for a better location. The staff is extremely helpful and very friendly, ready and willing to help with a smile. You will feel very safe and comfortable. The rooms are simple but very clean and ours had lavender hanging in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Flatraveler11
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed May 28, 2015

I needed an affordable room at short notice for a business trip. It had to be within walking distance of the centre of Aix, and this was the only place available via the normal booking sites. The good points: friendly staff, quiet room (if at back), room available in busy period The weak points: shabby ill-smelling room, poor value for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tom0523
HotelLaCaravelle2015, Propriétaire at Hotel La Caravelle, responded to this review

Thanks for this comment. On the other side, we think that you are too severe and that's why we don't agree with you. You came to us asking for a room, meanwhile all others hotels were fully booked. We proposed you the very last room we had available, and surely it was not the very best. We specify that it...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#11 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#23 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#54 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Appart'Hotel Odalys L'Atrium
Appart'Hotel Odalys L'Atrium
#42 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
#35 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Mozart Hotel
Le Mozart Hotel
#14 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel La Caravelle

Address: 29 boulevard du Roi Rene, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $85 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Caravelle 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Caravelle Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel La Caravelle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Find somewhere else until hey ix the problem”
ZhouLIN, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
“For quiet, ask for room at the back”
tom0523, May 28, 2015 | Read review
“Only get a room facing the court yard.”
117marian, Apr 18, 2015 | Read review
“Pay the extra money (approx. $10) and go for a bedroom at the back of the hotel.”
ree_reee, Sep 28, 2014 | Read review
“Make certain you understand how the remote for you air conditioner operates.”
BarbPensacola, Jun 19, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$97* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com$97
TripAdvisor$97
Hotels.com$97
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates