We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel de la Paix

Traveler (66)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (2)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#25 of 50 hotels in La Rochelle
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Breakfast in the room
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Desk
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
288Reviews
5Q+A
9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 79
  • 139
  • 37
  • 19
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I stayed in this hotel over Easter after having reserved a room with twin beds. Upon arrival we were told that there were no more twin bed rooms except for one behind the reception and near the kitchen. This room had very little light and one of the beds was for children. I am 6ft 4 so that wasnt going to work. The room we got was tiny with a small double bed and only had one electrical socket. We were told this was because it was an old home with charm, and this is why there is only one socket. We heard everything all night long - creaking beds, floors, doors etc,the insulation being non existant. However, the worst was yet to come. Upon check out the lady in front of us was being lectured because she had reserved through a booking site which cost a lot to the hotel and forced them to put up their rates. Then when she produced cheque vacances to pay, again there was a lecture which nobody present needed to hear. My turn was remarks made by this lady in a threatening tone because I had dared signal the bed problem problem to my booking site. Had she just said that they were sorry about not having two beds, I would have gone on my merry way. But no, threatening remarks because I had dared mention the problem. Unbelievable !
Read more
Response from LAURENT K, Gérant at Hotel de la Paix
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello sir. You had actually booked the last room available on the sites, but it was a room in double bed, without possibility of modification in twin as you would have liked. The room proposed as a solution to meet your request was a triple with a double bed and a single bed 90x190. We can admit your choice not to accept the proposed solution, and that results in a great disappointment on your part, but we are sorry to read, despite your promise to "slaughter" us on the internet, so many inaccurate and exaggerated remarks which goes so far as to mention facts that do not concern you, of which you have no knowledge. The reception
Read more
Owner Karen exquisitely renovated a 1680 Shipowner's house. For the period the rooms are a good size. The location is perfect, steps from the daily farmers' market. The buffet breakfast is amazing w/jam from local produce. There are even oranges to squeeze your own fresh OJ. All food is top quality. CONS: if you need help at night it's next door at the budget twin to this place: hotel de Paris; 350-year old floors are creaky, of course, so plot your midnight bathroom route carefully. We heard someone creak up the stairs in at 11pm but s/he was considerate. BOTTOM LINE: Don't miss this great hotel when in La Rochelle. It's not the cheapest option but it's an amazing value for the money.
Read more
A great hotel in excellent location to explore. We used as a stopover from travelling from further South. Easy to get to from the motorways. Parking easy at verdun or esplanade. Room basic and small for 5, but fine, we only slept in it! Breakfast excellent just what we needed before our uk drive. Kids under 10 are free. Excellent option. Reception spoke English and we received a great welcome with lots of information. Had to pay for a travel cot and not had to anywhere else as parents now for 9.5 years! But did us a treat as little man slept well. Thanks for a great stay
Read more
So to be fair, the staff were very welcoming and the location is central, close to the daily market and art museum. But the reviews are misleading. Granted it is a 2 star hotel so manage your expectations accordingly but for the price we expected a better quality room - It was clean but very tatty and dog-eared. Also no air con (we didn’t notice this on website so our fault.) Bathroom was very basic and hot water supply erratic. If you’re looking for a budget no frills affair I think you’d get better value at the Ibis.
Read more
Response from Laurent K, Gérant at Hotel de la Paix
Responded Apr 5, 2019
Hello. We are continuing the modernization of our establishment taken over 3 years ago. Our services are gradually improved to satisfy our customers. We are located in the heart of historic city and we strive to offer a competitive price ratio. Sincerely, Karim, the front desk
Read more
Very friendly helpful staff, great location. Basic facilities but spotlessly clean and very charming building. Perfect for a short visit. We had family room which had aircon and balcony. Breakfast very nice.
Read more
Previous
1234569
PRICE RANGE
$100 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineCharente-MaritimeLa Rochelle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing