We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Barriere Le Normandy Deauville

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (847)
Room & Suite (215)
Dining (52)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#7 of 27 hotels in Deauville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A total change of scenery, just 2 hours from Paris.A change of scenery is guaranteed at the Hotel Normandy Barriere. This surprising Anglo-Norman dwelling has managed to absorb progress over time, which has contributed to improving service quality on site. As the simple elegance of the hall and bar decorated by Jacques Garcia show; the sunlight from the beaches bounces off the light wood-coloured shades and plays with the fabric texture, creating a sensation of soothing comfort in the rooms and suites.​
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Sauna
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
TV Channel One Russia
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View

Location

Full view
93Great for walkers
Grade: 93 out of 100
53Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
11Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,090Reviews
22Q+A
21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 580
  • 263
  • 158
  • 57
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had drinks in the bar and dinner in the restaurant on Thursday evening and were very impressed. The building is traditional and impressive (easy to imagine Oscar Wilde, Coco Chanel and Hercules Poirot walking its corridors) but the staff are so charming that it also feels very welcoming. We settled on Provence rose for aperitifs though many available. Then cote du bouef cooked perfectly with small roasted potatoes and simple green salad. Raspberry sorbet to finish. A lovely start to our stay in France!
Read more
Wonderful hotel steeped in history, immaculate attention to detail, done in excellent taste. However, I’m constantly astounded by how these hotels simply refuse to to wake up and go greener. From the single use plastic amenities (there are *so many* possible options available now), plastic bottles of water at the bedside, plastic straws at the bar, Nespresso capsules, plastic stirring ‘spoons’ right to disposable cups with plastic lids for my morning coffee? There are attempts dotted around, the usual ‘hang towel if you don’t want to laundered (although I hung it each day and it was replaced regardless...) and something called ‘Planet Barrière’ which I couldn’t find out more on, but it felt a lot like green-washing. What amazes me most is we (South Africa) used to look to Europe for the way forward with this kind of trend shift but now it seems we’ve left them behind in the dust, this just doesn’t fly back home anymore, especially not in a 5 star establishment. Come and see for yourself in one of our many 5 star bush lodges, hygienic pulp action amenities that contain gorgeous locally manufactured shampoos etc (no parabens), fluffy light grey towels that require less chemicals to wash (white towels require a lot), you will not see a plastic spoon or straw in sight, reusable glass water bottles, world class chefs focusing on locally available seasonal food with minimum waste, all it just takes a bit of effort. Wake up and smell the climate change? These choices are no longer a nicety but a necessity. Also just from a perspective or staying current, it just feels dated now, no? I will not be returning to this Hotel Barriére which is a pity as it is beautiful.
Read more
Response from LIMOGES_Jerome, Directeur général at Hotel Barrière Le Normandy Deauville
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 304leighanned, I would like to thank you for leaving us your impression following your recent stay at the Barrière Le Normandy Hotel in Deauville. I am deeply sorry that we have not lived up to your expectations in our sustainable development policy. Indeed, Planète Barrière was set up as part of our CSR policy in order to become greener in a context where indeed, preserving the health of our planet is a real necessity and a challenge that all companies must nowadays face. We are constantly improving and we plan to change our habits in the very near future. I am sincerely sorry that you have not been touched by what we have already implemented, but know that we will be able to make up for it and that we have of course heard your suggestions. However, I am delighted to read that you have appreciated the beauty and authenticity of our hotel. I look forward to seeing you again very soon, Very sincerely, Jérôme Limoges, General Manager.
Read more
+1
This hotel is a fifteen minute walk from the Deauville-Trouville train station...we had to walk as no taxis or Uber’s were available when we arrived. The hotel is beautiful from the outside with a nice little garden area with benches just in front of it. The lobby has nice sofas and tables and there is a bar on one side with the restaurant behind it. We were charged 30-something euros per night for buffet breakfast for me as my husband was part of a conference. I tried to opt out of it as I would have preferred to try the small cafes outside but I could not. The back entrance has some outdoor bistro tables and chairs and across the road are tennis courts. Along the back road is the convention centre, Olympic pool and Deauville beach. Right beside the hotel is the Deauville Casino and tons of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The room we had was a smaller one with king bed. A door separates the bedroom from the entrance and closet. The washroom has its own door from the entrance area and the toilet area has its own door.....allows for quiet sleep for one person as the other is getting ready. There was no iron in the room....we had to request it and the cleaning staff would try to remove it daily but I told them to leave it for our entire stay. There is a safe and coffee maker and a small closet. They replenished toiletries daily and I requested our towels to not be changed (by hanging them up) in order to be “green” but it looked like new towels daily. The disposable coffee cups and lids, and daily plastic water bottles negated any “green” initiative. I did like that common washrooms on the main level lit up with movement and were not left on at all times. There is a tiny elevator but stairs are close by. The gym is small and limited and the pool is decent (small) with loungers and sofas. The pool was not busy during our stay. The concierge was not too helpful when I asked for info on tours. They said they had none and we could hire a car for 100 euros per hour and hire a guide for 500 euros for the day😳😳 The walk over to Trouville took me about an hour to get to the beach...at a strolling pace. We used our rental car to go to Juno beach. The buffet restaurant in the hotel was large, extensive and good quality. Plenty of pastries but I would have liked more fruit.
Read more
Response from LIMOGES_Jerome, Directeur général at Hotel Barrière Le Normandy Deauville
Responded Jun 13, 2019
Dear Momr2d2, Thank you for choosing Hotel Barrière Le Normandy for your recent stay in Deauville. We are glad to read you appreciated your overall experience, especially our lobby, garden area, and breakfast. However, I have read your feedback with great attention and I am sorry for not having exceeded your expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, Best Regards, Jérôme Limoges, General Manager
Read more
Fantastic place full of art and good taste. Like the old style here as the attention to details with an excellent staff indeed. A really special place to go and go again. Faithfully,Olli from Riad Dar Najat in Marrakech.
Read more
Response from LIMOGES_Jerome, Directeur général at Hotel Barrière Le Normandy Deauville
Responded Jun 13, 2019
Dear Olli, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a perfect comment, further to your recent stay at Hotel Barrière Le Normandy Deauville ! We are proud to read that the beauty of Normandy took your breath away ! Thank you too for your kind words about our excellent staff Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, Best Regards, Jérôme Limoges, General Manager
Read more
Deauville was our first stop after leaving Paris, and Barriere was our Globus tour's choice for the night's accomodation. Not only is Deauville a well-known and historic French vacation spot, but the town itself is a little jewel. We were there in mid- April, a bit on the cool side, and pre-season, so no humongous crowds like we had in Paris. Hotel Barriere was, for us, a luxury. hotel that we would not have been able to afford if traveling on our own, so we opted to dine in their restaurant to enjoy our good fortune. A great dinner, room with beautiful, spa- like bath and wonderful service. An unforgettable start to the next two weeks abroad.
Read more
Response from LIMOGES_Jerome, Directeur général at Hotel Barrière Le Normandy Deauville
Responded Jun 13, 2019
Dear woodboatchick, We thank you for this great review on TripAdvisor and are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the time spent with us. We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you for another wonderful stay at the hotel Barrière Le Normandy. Best regards, Jérôme Limoges, Directeur Général
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$331 - $774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
normandy barriere deauville, normandy barriere hotel deauville, normandy hotel deauville
LOCATION
FranceNormandyBasse-NormandieCalvadosDeauville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
271
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing