We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 252: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel was perfect for a busy stay, the bed was very comfortable but if sharing a twin you would need to be pretty comfortable with your roommate as the beds are so close they could be a double, the hotel was really quiet and lacked any character so wouldn't entice you to stay and relax or socialise there. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Unicorn_chaser23
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments I will pass them on to our teams. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager

Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am sorry to say, but really skip this Mercure hotel in Cean at once, because we did have a absolute dirty room and bathroom full of mold, as we complane at the front desk we did get a most easy reply you can give, " We are sorry to inform you that the hotel is fully booked and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IAPA-TRAVELER
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, We thank you for having taken the time to write to us following your stay at Mercure Caen Centre. You have a lukewarm memory of your stay and you rightly highlighted certain insufficiencies in the service that was provided to you, and I have been made aware of them. I assure you that we are sorry...

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to the Mercure Caen for our regular autumn visit to France. The car park shared with the IBIS. Nice comfy bed. Room not overly big. Inside room, no view. Check in efficient, as was check out. Nice bar with view onto the square and attached restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank radiosutch
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, dear Madam, We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager

sweden
Reviewed December 15, 2016

Nice hotel compared to others we tried in Caen during previous years ( plus smilling, competent, English speaking staff... finally !) Location is convenient as it is within the city center and few minutes from the train station by tram, we could easily walk to the castle and art museum as well as go shopping in five minutes. Breakfast is...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Delphine M
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 8, 2016

Very courteous reception welcome and so good having the underground car park. The hotel is so well positioned in the centre of Caen and to have the car parking availability is a high bonus. The bedrooms give you all the facilities you need but we didn't breakfast as we were catching the 8.30 ferry. Excellent easy route to the cross...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 550carriec
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your comments I will pass them on to our teams. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2016

We arrived at the hotel to discover that I had booked it for the following weekend. No matter Amy on reception sorted it out, getting us a rate close to our special rate and letting us pick the room, great service. The staff here are excellent, friendly and helpful. The room was god with a good sized bed, bath, fridge,...

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NigelB48
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously...

Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

In the city center of Caen. Just by the port and restaurants. Breakfast was great with fresh orange juice, eggs ham and cheese. Fitness center is located on ground zero. AC functions well and room is spacious. Honestly one of the best MERCURE's hotels I've tried and would definitely go back there if i go back to Caen. Parking costs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atatouille
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager

Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewed October 26, 2016

The accessibility of the hotel to the port and the restaurants was easy and a pleasant walk. The room size was adequate and the rain shower outstanding. The breakfast was excellent and there is an elevator which helps considerably with luggage and packages. We loved the rain shower!

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy R
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance. Dear Sir, Dear Madam, It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously...

Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

Hotel was amazingly nice. Carpets as said before a little shabby but the staff were so kind. Spoke english and went to the last degree to help. I left not one pair but two pairs of glasses at the hotel. They were returned to me promptly. Many hotels would not have bothered to do so and so courteously. In a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction. Regarding the state of the carpet on the upper floor, we are aware of it and we will be holding...

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 12, 2016

I was surprised to read previous negative reviews. My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and decided it was one of the nicest Mercures we have stayed in. We are Accor loyalty club members and we booked a privilege room. The room was on the third floor and was enormous - more of a suite really! Everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anncolly
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.5 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#5 of 41 in Caen
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Moderne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in the heart of Normandy in the city of William the Conqueror: the Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, located in the city center, has 126 luxury rooms, renovated in 2009, including 24 Privilege Rooms and 4 suites, all with air conditioning. Our Atrium and 6458 sq. ft (600 m²) of modular conference rooms can be booked for receptions and seminars. Private paying car park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

Address: 1 rue de Courtonne | BP 3086, 14018 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Price Range: $94 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Caen Centre Port De Plaisance Hotel Caen
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Caen
#6 Business Hotel in Caen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay away from the place”
  • Room (1)
  • Bathroom (2)
  • Bathroom (1)
 of 5 bubbles IAPA-TRAVELER, 1 week ago | Read review
“They are all ok for a night or two.”
 of 5 bubbles radiosutch, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“No tips and tricks, For a short stay it is okay, in case you do not need reliable internet.”
 of 5 bubbles Varazslotanonc, Aug 10, 2016 | Read review
“Our room was quiet but no view, which didn't matter to us as only overnight stay.”
 of 5 bubbles Worthy09, Jul 3, 2016 | Read review
“Try and book a room overlooking the yacht basin. Also there are parking restrictions on Saturday due to the Sunday morning market.”
 of 5 bubbles brianwR6658FB, May 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question