We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Place du Capitole, 31000, Toulouse France
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$134
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$142
View deal
Priceline
$120
View deal
Hotels.com$142
Travelocity$142
Trip.com$142
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (350)
360
Panoramas (31)
Room & Suite (316)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 06/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#23 of 139 hotels in Toulouse
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
The Grand Hotel de l'Opera is located on the Capitole square in the heart of the "Pink city", 100 meters far from the Capitole subway station. The historical hotel has an interior courtyard and offers a bar and breakfast room. All our rooms are air conditioned and have a classic decoration. The hotel offers free wifi connexion, satellite TV with Canal+ and Bein Sport, minibar, safe and bathrooms with shower or bath. Suites offer a lounge area. The hotel accommodates 2 restaurants (a one starred restaurant and a brasserie) which serve a refined cooking. Furthermore, the hotel offers discount for Capitole Car Park (rate of Capitole Parking is 22 €/day, 19€/ 16h, max hight 1,8 mt) and reception 24h/24. You will be able to visit easily the main monuments of Toulouse within walking distance. The hotel is located opposite the famous 'Theatre du Capitole" and 25 minutes by car from the Blagnac Airport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Walking tours
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
466Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
93Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
947Reviews8Q+A96Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 449
  • 308
  • 115
  • 52
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Andywoo1 wrote a review Sep 17
Fresno, California182 contributions132 helpful votes
Appreciated that this hotel was in the center.......but.......access was hard...down a small access way only room for one car and hard to get into with rental car......no rooms with view to square.....essentially close to the square but not facing it and most rooms inward facing so not a great view.......nice breakfast......friendly staff.....no extras to speak of........rooms of average size.....average decor.........
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Opéra, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Responded 1 week ago
Dear clients, thank you for taking the time for your freedback. We are pleased to read that you have appreciated our location , the breakfast and the welcome by our staff. Indeed we only have 3 junior suites facing the Capitol square, all the other rooms are going to the interior courtyards or to Rue Saint Romes. The advantage is that rooms are quiet even if located in the heart of the city. We are sorry to read that you seem a little disappointed about the room. Our hotel is actually quite fully booked but do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next stay to get a room which fits your expectations. Best regards from Toulouse, Sandra Lampée, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Russell1 wrote a review Sep 16
Bethersden, United Kingdom34 contributions17 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights whilst settling our daughter into Toulouse university. The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel has a great location right in the main square of Toulouse. We were upgraded to a better room which was a lovely surprise. The room was beautiful and comfortable. My only slight criticism was that because its an old building the floor boards were quite creaky and we could hear the people in the room above walking about during the night - but maybe they were just very stomping guests . Highly recommend this charming hotel, thank you for looking after us so well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Opéra, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Responded 1 week ago
Dear clients, In behalf on the entire team we would like to thank you for your feedback due to your recent stay at the Grand Hôtel de l' Opéra. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay, our location and the helpful and friendly welcome by our team. Sorry for the issue you had with the noise but indeed in an old building with wooden floor it's impossible to make it 100% soundproof even after the renovation works we have done in 2020. We will be happy welcoming you soon again when you will be back visiting your daughter in Toulouse. Do not hesitate to contact our front desk staff directly. Best regards from Toulouse, Sandra Lampée, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jed P wrote a review Aug 2022
Middletown, Connecticut126 contributions66 helpful votes
The Hotel has 18th Century Charm. The Receptions Staff was wonderful in moving my room to a higher floor due to a miscommunication when I made my reservation. The Room was Serviced everyday. The only thing which was a little disappointing was if you wanted to check in before 3:30, it would cost 35 euro.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: The ceilings on floor 1 are slightly lower than other floors.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Opéra, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Jed, we would like to thank you for your excellent freedback due to your recent stay at the Grand Hôtel de l'Opéra. We are very pleased to read that you have appreciated the service provided by our staff and the quality of your room. We charge a fee for early check in but we always try to provide the room a liittle bit earlier than 3:30 pm if this is possible for our housekeeping service. We would be happy welcoming you soon again. Best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MequonMaizy wrote a review Aug 2022
Mequon, Wisconsin11 contributions12 helpful votes
Very nice hotel in a very interesting area of Toulouse. Great air conditioning in the room and very responsive hotel staff. The front desk staff were excellent. My only minor issue was that on two of the 7 days we had to ask the cleaning staff to replace our coffee ingredients for our coffee maker (didn't realize we had no coffee until each of those two mornings when we woke up). Other than this minor issue (which the front desk rectified immediately) we love this place!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Opéra, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear clients, We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your travel impressions about your recent stay in Toulouse on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have appreciated the welcome by our front desk staff. Sorry about the minor issue about the housekeeping staff who forgot to replace the coffee indredients daily. We are very much looking forward welcoming you soon again. Best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roberta M wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
Absolutely beautiful hotel. Perfect location, clean, charming, and very helpful staff. Staff spoke English and gave us great suggestions and directions. The Pink City is lovely, and there is plenty to see in walking distance of the hotel. Our room was so pretty, air conditioning worked well. Great places to dine nearby, but really enjoyed drinks and chacuterie in the elegant hotel bar. Highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Opéra, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Dear Roberta, Thank you so much for sharing your great feedback with the travel community of Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay, the style of the hotel, our location and welcome by our staff. We are looking forward welcoming you soon again. Do not hesitate to contact us to get the best deal and the same room for your next stay. Best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan S wrote a review Jul 2022
United Kingdom1 contribution
A Lovley ornate hotel. Immerse yourself in true French indulgence. Staff were so friendly, an absolutely delightful stay. Comfortable, clean and cool. Great breakfast, relaxed bar area and private outside space to enjoy. Close to parking and the main square. Enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Opéra, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Responded Jul 20, 2022
Dear Clients, thank you very much for your great feedback, we are happy to read that you have enjoyed the atmosphere of our hotel, welcome by our staff , the breakfast and our central location. We hope welcoming you soon again, best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer L wrote a review Jul 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
I arrived at 12:30 and was told if I wanted to check in before 3:30 that I would need to pay 30 euros even though there was a room available. ???? This is a new experience to be asked to pay for a two hour early check out for something that costs them nothing. I understand late check out fees, but this seems gratuitous. The person who was the employee checking me in seemed extremely nice and very apologetic about this after she checked with I think the manager. It's unfortunate, but since the service was nice I would give them three stars. The lobby is nice, the bed comfortable, the room was interesting due to the vintage design. The location was good. They did get a taxi for me and tried to save me money by contacting another guest to see if they wanted a ride share. That was great. They said that they would make a reservation at a restaurant in their hotel. When I arrived at the restaurant, they told me that no reservation had been made but I was early in the evening so they got me in regardless. They tried but this stay was average.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Opéra, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Responded Jul 20, 2022
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. Concerning your arrival , check in is specified starting from 3H30 pm and we also mention on our webpage that we charge a fee for early check in or late check out, which is very commun in the hospitality industry. We are pleased to read that you appreciated the lobby, your room and the location of our hotel. Concerning the restaurant I have checked with my team. They have done the reservation at the Bibent Restaurant and the restaurant also confirmed that the reservation was fixed for you (they will send you and e mail). I suppose that the person who welcomed you at the restaurant did not check the reservation book or maybe had some troubles in english. The restaurant noted you as a no show in the reservation book. We nevertheless hope welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel de l'Opéra in Toulouse. Best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne M wrote a review Jul 2022
Dublin, Ireland91 contributions85 helpful votes
Disappointing visit. We booked the hotel well in advance but the hotel neglected to send us the email with an explanation of how to arrive by car. Arrival was extremely complicated and made more so by the young man who eventually came out of the hotel after I phoned them. There were only 2 staff on duty and unfortunately the famous Alexandre was not one of them. The female receptionist insisted she couldn’t help us drive to the hotel although I told her in French and English on the phone that we were just opposite at McDonald’s. She then insisted that we had been emailed directions and in discovering that we hadn’t she then sent them after we checked in. Such a pity. We missed our dinner reservation despite arriving in the Capitol an hour beforehand ! The hotel has a good location and vast empty unpeopled spaces perhaps due to there only being 2 staff members on duty . It’s the people who make a hotel visit special but that was totally lacking for us.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Opéra, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Responded Jul 20, 2022
Dear clients, We are very sorry to read that you had big troubles to arrive at the hotel. I have checked with my team and Lise at reception did remember your call. You have been arriving by rue Remusat next to Mc Donald just opposite on the square. She explained you the way to the garage of Capitole Square which seemed to be a discussion with some missunderstandings, sorry about this. When you make a reservation on our webpage driving directions are always sent with the confirmation and are also explained on our webpage. The only way to access the Capitole Square is to drive to Place Wilson and than follow the signs of Parking Capitole and the brown signs to the hotel. Your arrival was on a week-end so there is always in the afternoon/evening one receptionnist and one person to serve at the bar and to help with the luggage. We nevertheless hope welcoming you back in Toulouse again as generally clients are very happy with the welcome provided by our staff and we always try to make their stay as memorable as possible. Best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager Sandra Lampée, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zoë M wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I had one night in Toulouse before leaving France to go back home to the US and wanted to book somewhere special (because I was traveling with my grandmother) and also wanted to book somewhere that had a good concierge service to help us organize any COVID testing we needed prior to our departure. The hotel was so prompt in following up with me and providing any and all answers I needed. They were also very kind to make sure we were in an accessible room for my grandmother, and even left a lovely note and treat for her birthday. The beauty of the hotel really swept her away, she was so in awe and happy to be there. We had our last dinner in France at one of the restaurants downstairs. Everything was so lovely. Cant wait to visit again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Opéra, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Responded Jul 5, 2022
Dear Zoë, We would like to thank you for your great feedback and are very happy to read that you have spent a lovely stay with your grandmother in our hotel. Our team is looking forward welcoming you back again. Do not hesitate to contact us directly to get the same room as you have stayed in last time. Best regards from the pink city, Sandra Lampée, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kip136 wrote a review Jun 2022
Alameda, California8 contributions2 helpful votes
First I arrived at the hotel and Hotels.com had booked the room with the wrong description. I was expecting a room with a bathtub, and that was not what awaited me. The front desk associate, Alexandre, seeing the problem when he checked on line, immediately found me a different room. He came up to the room and took my bags and escorted me to the other wing of the building. I took the elevator and he took the stairs. He explained that the hotel was two old buildings joined together, giving me some of the history going back six hundred years. Fascinating backdrop to hear the hotel’s storied history. The impeccable service from Alexandre set the tone for a wonderful stay. The hotel is NOT one of those modern, sterile environments. It has the genuine feel of a classic European hotel. My room was lovely. The white marble bathroom and the luxurious tub were amazing. The hotel was on the main square, Place de la Capitole, near shopping, museums, and walks along the river. I’ll be returning I hope in 2024 for the reopening of the main museum. I will only stay at the Hotel de l’Opera. And I hope Alexandre, Laura, and Anna are there when I return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: I’d call in advance. The front desk staff are extraordinarily competent.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Opéra, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Dear clients, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recent stay in our hotel. We are pleased to read that you appreciated our central location on the Capitole Square and our typical French Belle Epoque atmosphere, which we maintain while meeting the standards of modern comfort. Alexander is indeed great and he always tries to find a solution to make our guests happy. We are lucky to have such a great team and would be very pleased to welcome you again in Toulouse in 2024. Ana is finishing her training this summer and going back to university but I also hope that Alexander and Laura will still be here to welcome you again. Do not hesitate to contact us directly by mail for your next stay. Thank you again for your review and we look forward welcoming you again. Best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$111 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel toulouse
LOCATION
FranceOccitanieHaute-GaronneToulouseSaint Rome
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Which popular attractions are close to Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera?
Nearby attractions include First Clue Escape Game (0.3 miles), Church of Les Jacobins (0.2 miles), and Marché Victor Hugo (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera?
Conveniently located restaurants include Curry Cafe, Le Restaurant, and Oh la vache.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the center of Toulouse.
Are any cleaning services offered at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.