We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nothing much to say for or against this hotel situated on a Montpellier's main Street short walk from the station . Room clean ,medium size and well-appointed ...breakfast not expensive and adequate ...good location with very short walk to main square . Bad points: terrible Wi-Fi in room , inafequate shower , no restaurant. Otherwise perfectly adequate for a short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and see you soon. WIFI is now working properly.

Nottinghamshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We thought we were never going to get to the Hotel what with all the one-way streets around it and of course the trams. We did not realise that the Hotel is in a pedestrian zone so we were never going to be able to park outside to unload our luggage. I ended up calling in to another Hotel to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank savilleann
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We Are happy you did enjoy your stay. See you soon.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed August 1, 2016

The staff were excellent & the breakfast was not bad. The room looked like the bathroom & toilet had been updated but the bed area hadn't. The carpet was very old with lots of stains. The carpet through the corridors looked like it may have been laid in Napoleonic times & not cleaned since. Apart from this it was situated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dazza857
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you

Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed July 13, 2016

We enjoyed very much the hotel. Its warm atmosphere as well as its excellent location. We recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have good time in Montpellier. The rooms are clean and confortable. The breakfast is also very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ssorel_772300
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much ! It was a pleasure to welcome you and we look foward to see you again.

Reviewed June 19, 2016

The Hotel Royal is super convenient, 100m from the train station. My room was quiet, the staff were friendly and helpful, in fact they booked a tour for me, and the buffet breakfast had a really good variety including some hot items. There was a lounge area you could read in and drink tea during the day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teajaye
royalhotelmtp, Front Office Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your visit. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again. Don't forget to call us to get the best prices.

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed June 10, 2016

Located within a 3 to 4 minute walk from the train station. Speak French, Spanish, English and more. Rooms are not small, not large but very clean and quiet. Free Wi Fi. Breakfast is 10€ extra. Many small restaurants, coffee shops, grocery stores, etc nearby. Hugo, the front desk manager, took care of us and helped us with our itineraries....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustinodelValle
royalhotelmtp, Front Office Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

It was a real pleasure to meet you. We hope to see you back soon.

Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed March 9, 2016

Middle of the city just a few minutes walk from the train station. Common areas and front in need of freshing up but the room and the brakfast room was very nice. Very nice breakfast. Good place to stay at a reasonable price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndersOhman
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your visit. We hope to welcome you again very son.

Wageningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed February 17, 2016

Staying at the royal makes you feel like a royal. The location is perfect, the rooms are nice and clean. Just the hotel you want to stay when you visit Montpellier. The personnel is very friendly, chapeau!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KingBilly63
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and nice commments. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Staunton, Virginia
Reviewed February 14, 2016

We stayed overnight at the Royal in October. Did not get the name of the man behind the desk that waited on us, but he was so friendly and helpful as was the staff at breakfast the next morning. The hotel was clean and well-located to the train station. If I am ever in Montpellier again, will definitely stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome you. We hope to see you again. Thank you very much.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 3, 2016

I spent nine nights at this hotel over the Christmas period and found it excellent. All the staff were friendly and helpful. My room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The hotel is a short walk both to the centre (Place de la Comedie) and to the main railway station. The breakfast was good. The wifi worked well. Robin.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ROBIN951
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much, It was a pleasure to welcome you. Happy new year 2016

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (56)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Best Western Eurociel Centre
#1 of 86 in Montpellier
738 reviews
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#6 of 86 in Montpellier
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 86 in Montpellier
1,126 reviews
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Three stars hotel, right in the historical city center walking area of Montpellier. Next to the train station, Comedie Square, Corum conference center. Ideal to discover the city or for business trip. Tram lines connections at two minutes. Car park parking Comedie. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 8 rue Maguelone, 34000, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Price Range: $85 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Montpellier
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Montpellier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms at the back are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Teajaye, Jun 19, 2016 | Read review
“Room 106 was very good.”
 of 5 bubbles JustinodelValle, Jun 10, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in back (202) because of tram noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles Alec, Oct 22, 2015 | Read review
“ask for a quiet room (to the back)”
 of 5 bubbles JeDi666, Oct 18, 2015 | Read review
“Rooms facing the back street are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles whitetrip, Oct 5, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay