We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Save
Share
Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne France
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$257
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/18/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$257
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/18/21
Trip.com
$257
$243
View deal
Hotels.com$257
Travelocity$257
eDreams$257
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1453)
Room & Suite (364)
Dining (131)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 04/27/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Updated 04/27/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 39 hotels in Carcassonne Center
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Full body massage
Hammam
Manicure
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
2092Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,416
  • 441
  • 163
  • 51
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
edmund s wrote a review Jul 3
Ibiza, Spain341 contributions161 helpful votes
The Hotel is located in the heart of Carcassonne just in front of the very nice cathedral. Sure this makes the stay expensive. However we think about 450-500.-E per day is too expensive if your bathroom is not at all ok. What is more important in a hotel- a bathtub or a decent shower. Perfect to have both for sure. But a problem if the shower is integrated in the ( small) bathtub and you have to climb first over a quite high bathtub border. There is nothing to hold and bathrooms are slippery very often. Even worse to get out-nothing to hold you. Very risky and slippery! The closet is a seperate small room with no windows and no ventilation. Mmmh you pay 500.-E and after you have to open the windows of your room in order to ventilate? There are modern solutions for all that-so no excuse “ building historical blabla” . It needs an investment! Very nice were the views out from the room and the room size itself was ok and beds were nice. Every day problems with the entrance card system. Our cards had to be reloaded in five days five times. An absolute no go are the prices of the outside bar! 48.-E for two Aperol Spritz? Thats a rip off! Four Seasons or Mandarin Hotel offer Aldi prices compated to that….and it was a small amount! Nothing against correct pricing but 48.-E is over the top!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sam Richez, Owner at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent stay with us. I regret that you were not satisfied with our service. I have already addressed your comments with our management Team and I would like to apologise for the inconvenience that was caused. We still hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back at the Hôtel de la cité order to make up for your recent inconvenient stay. Kind regards Sam Richez Director of Rooms
Read more
john s wrote a review Jun 2021
Edon, France459 contributions155 helpful votes
We decided to stay here for a night as we had always wanted to visit Carcassonne and it was a perfect halfway house whilst driving back home from Nice. We received a warm welcome from Jerome in the private car park and were whisked up the hotel in the little Fiat Panda. Without any need for formalities and because we were a little late we were shown straight into the restaurant (reviewed separately) where we enjoyed a lovely lunch. After lunch and a simple check in, we were shown to our classic room which overlooked the front entrance and Basilica. I only booked their basic room but we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. More than adequate for one night. Luggage was all in the room along with flowers sorted out which we had brought with us. (Anniversary in Nice) Later in the day after a walk round, we enjoyed good drinks service in the beautiful gardens and even later a nightcap in the main bar Breakfast was very nicely presented and despite the ubiquitous buffet, partial table service was appreciated Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sam Richez, Owner at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, What an heartfelt comment ! It is a real pleasure to read that your stay at l'hotel de la cite was perfect. Your comment is truly the best reward for our team who is devoted to make your stay Memorable. We will make sure to congratulate them. We do look forward to welcoming you again. Best Regards, Sam Richez Director of Rooms
Read more
Mike C wrote a review Jun 2021
25 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed here on way back from Rhone and booked in at restaurant. Had always wanted to stay in Carcassonne having visited it once before. Previous night we had a wonderful stay in a hotel with a Michelin star restaurant and wanted to relax halfway back. We asked about recommendations on local wines, based on preference we were advised on very distinct wine that bore no resemblance to what we had asked for. We were not asked whether the wine was any good after we were poured it (way below room temperature so very difficult to say when we "tasted" it). Food was very mediocre and no aesthetic consideration, can only think that the wow factor of Carcassonne impaired people's perception. Type of cooking of meat was asked for but completely ignored. They only took any notice after we complained very blatantly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Gordon E wrote a review Sep 2020
Les Arques, France193 contributions180 helpful votes
We stayed two nights to celebrate a birthday and wedding anniversary and the hotel was advised of this before our arrival. The welcome was good and the private parking and shuttle was much appreciated - that said, we were not advised of the 20 euros per day charge and only found out when checking our bill on departure. The hotel is in an excellent position within the town walls and tucked away from the madding crowd- with its own delightful gardens ideal for aperos. We had a tour of the hotel by Jean-Jacques who was lovely. We had a superior room that had lovely views of the garden and ramparts - the room was sufficiently large but not capacious with a reasonable ensuite. We noted that there was no Illy coffee machine in the room, contrary to the website details - instant coffee sachets for a 5* hotel is unacceptable. I popped down to Reception to explain this but they said that only suites had Illy machines. I apologised and suggested that I had made a mistake, but on returning to the room and checking the website again (by the way, the wifi is excellent) - I was correct but the reception staff would only accept this by me showing them the website with the info in view. Within minutes a Lavazza machine arrived but later found that it leaked and it was replaced speedily thereafter. COVid19 safety steps were excellent and all staff were considerate. We loved having pre-dinner drinks in the gardens. On Sandy's birthday the room was decorated with balloons and we were presented with a bottle of champagne - a nice touch. On the second night we reserved a table in Le Barbacane Restaurant to celebrate our double anniversary. We were amazed that there was no dress code as some diners wore beach ware or even track suits. The staff there were outstanding, especially Hugo, Marina, Bozar & Fabrice - who were particularly engaging and efficient. The various courses certainly sounded inviting but a couple were disappointing- the sea bass was rather tasteless, the duck breast tough and sinewy and filet de beouf was so miniscule that it should not have been described as the main ingredient as it was surrounded by shredded beef cheek - all very tasty but insultingly small. The star of the show were the oysters in jelly - absolutely gorgeous. We mentioned the duck to the staff but were advised that this was normal for duck breast - which we know is false as we live in the Lot, famous for its duck. On checking out - we were charged for 4 breakfasts that we had not taken.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Emile Viciana, Directeur général at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Responded Sep 13, 2020
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent stay with us. I sincerely regret that your stay did not live up to your expectations and would like to present my apologies for that. I have already addressed your comments with our management Team We do look forward to welcoming you again. Best Regards, Sam Richez Director of Rooms
Read more
K_T wrote a review Aug 2020
Lancashire, United Kingdom17 contributions18 helpful votes
Meet and greet at the private car park through to the hotel is very good and speedy. Checkin was efficient and helpful. The room - 302 - was spacious enough for a couple with a good size bathroom and separate W.C. There is a useful fridge in the room, along with tea and coffee making facilities. There’s ample wardrobe space with hangers, and a secure safe. The bathroom had a really good shower over the bath and a nice selection of toiletries, bathrobes and slippers. The only downside to the room was there was no balcony to sit out on. The view however from the room was fantastic, overlooking Carcassonne. Breakfast was average - food is left uncovered so does get flies on it. The hot buffet took a long time to be replenished when low. Receiving pastries and bread on the table was not consistent unless you asked for them. The service overall was not good - very slow and they seemed very rushed. The library bar also was poor service - no one serves you unless you call them over or wait at the bar. The drinks menu being online is also not helpful when you don’t have a smartphone. The pool area is clean and tidy but sun beds availability is limited. There is a bar by the pool too but again service is not proactive - you have to find a member of staff to ask them for a drink or snack. Finally we did try the lunchtime menu in the Michelin star restaurant - fortunately it is very low priced otherwise we would not of been happy. The food lacked flavour, the shrimps had not been deveined, the main course fish was very undercooked. Compared to some of the local small restaurants it was poor. Food and drinks in most of the nearby restaurants are cheaper and much better quality. Checkout from the hotel was quick and efficient however we then waited 20 minutes for our luggage to arrive at the private car park. In summary we wouldn’t return to this hotel but would return to the local and surrounding area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Second floor some rooms have private terraces, room 302 has a fabulous panoramic view of Carcassonne
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emile Viciana, Directeur général at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Responded Aug 29, 2020
Dear K_T, Thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent stay with us. I regret that you were not satisfied with our service. I have already addressed your comments with our management Team and I would like to apologise for the inconvenience that was caused. We still hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back at the hotel de la cite in order to make up for your recent inconvenient stay. Kind regards Sam Richez Director of rooms
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$208 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
de la cite hotel, de la cite carcassonne
LOCATION
FranceOccitanieAudeCarcassonneCarcassonne Center
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection?
Nearby attractions include Cathar Castles (0.08 miles), Chateau et Remparts de la Cite de Carcassonne (0.10 miles), and Église Saint-Nazaire (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant La Marquiere, Barriere Truffes L'Atelier, and Meli Et Zeli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Carcassonne Center.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.