We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Original

8 boulevard Beaumarchais, 75011 Paris France
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
Traveler (514)
Room & Suite (265)
Dining (16)


Certificate of Excellence
Looking for a place to stay in Paris? Then look no further than Hôtel Original, a romantic hotel that brings the best of Paris to your doorstep. Hotel Lyon Mulhouse Paris offers guests an array of room amenities including a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a desk, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available. The hotel offers a 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge, to make your visit even more pleasant. The property also features a sauna and breakfast buffet. For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Paris, Hotel Lyon Mulhouse Paris is located a short distance from Louvre Museum (1.6 mi) and Palais Garnier - Opéra National de Paris (2.1 mi). While visiting Paris, you may want to try some dumplings at one of the nearby restaurants, such as L'Arpege, Ze Kitchen Galerie, or Raviolis Chinois Nord Est. If you’re looking for something to do, Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris (0.9 mi), Le Marais (0.6 mi), and Latin Quarter (1.2 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Hôtel Original. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Hôtel Original as you experience everything Paris has to offer.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Free internet
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Rate:Free room upgrade


Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
382Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
97Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
8 boulevard Beaumarchais, 75011 Paris France
Name/address in local language
E-mail hotel
Getting there
Orly Field9 miSee all flights
Charles De Gaulle Airport13 miSee all flights
BastilleParis Metro3 min
Bréguet – SabinParis Metro4 min
Bastille / Oberkampf
Bastille and Oberkampf are lively parts of town made for entertainment. During the day rows of unassuming bars welcome customers for a bite or a drink, but it’s at night this area really comes to life. Students and young professionals fill the busy bars around Bastille and Oberkampf. At Place de la Bastille, crowds flock to the Opéra Bastille in the evening and groups wait for coveted tickets during the day. Towards Republique, skateboarders practice their tricks while others chill out at the square. If you’re looking for late-night revelry, this is your neighborhood.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
1,074Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 693
  • 309
  • 53
  • 11
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here for 3 nights, and booked directly with the hotel as it had the best rate compared with all the other third party platforms. We were very happy with the fuss-free check in, and they allowed us to check in early at 11+am as rooms were available. Got upgraded to the executive room, which was slightly more spacious. Would say that it is more suitable for couples as the shower is translucent. Room was fine for 2 with 2 large suitcases. We picked this place primarily for the location. It's a 150m walk from Exit 9 of Bastille station. Bastille station itself has connections to lines 1, 5 and 8. Line 1 takes you to the Louvre and other attractions, and Bastille is also 1 stop on Line 1 to Gare de Lyon, where you can take the train to Disneyland / onwards to e.g. Lyon. Further, there are lots of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Restaurant H (one michelin star), Bistrot de L'Oulette, Chez Janou, were a couple we tried which were good. Front desk was very friendly and helpful, in making reservations for restaurants. Prior to your stay, the hotel would send a survey with some questions to make your stay more enjoyable, along with a list of recommended restaurants if you request for it. Overall highly recommended!
Read more
Response from Fabien M, Responsable relations clients at Hôtel Original
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello :)! Thank you so much for having taken the time to share your Original experience. Great that you enjoyed as much your stay in our unusual quirky universe, your room decor and comfort as well as our location :) As you saw we have rooms for all likings so....for a next time, do not hesitate to ask for the one you wish to try :) We surely hope there will be a next time too! Take good care in the meantime and a big hello from all of us here. Sincerely, Fabien
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
We recently stayed at the Hotel Original on a trip with our daughter. The three single bed room was perfect for our stay. The room was clean and comfortable and decorated in a fun style. I cannot say enough positive about the friendly, knowledgable front desk team and other staff members who went out of their way to make our stay a great one. The area is within walking distance of good restaurants - Brooklyn Pizzeria and Chez Janou are recommended. A great place to stay in the Bastille area.
Read more
Response from Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hôtel Original
Responded Aug 28, 2018
Hello! Great hearing from you and thnak you so much for this awesome feedback and best rating! It was our pleasure having you all in our unusual universe and great we were up to your expectations...and to our name :) We hope the return to reality went well and we surely hope there will be a next time at the Original! Sincerely, Fabien
Read more
After initially getting my room request wrong - specifically requested a shower and not a bath - the second room on night two was more comfortable and the shower & toilet setup was much better than the open messy bath and cramped toilet cubicle of the first one which was supposed to be an ‘upgrade’ but was in fact not as nice and comfortable as the double room with shower that I originally booked. The carpet of the first room was full of stains and the toilet cubicle was incredibly small and odd. The small old elevator is also an experience. Not for anyone who’s big or tall or claustrophobic! The black porceilanware was also quite ‘original’... the new room had a great shower, pity I could only enjoy it for the last night of my short stay. Enjoyed the small but good quality breakfast. Staff were lovely! The lady from the Philippines who made my excellent cappuccinos was great as well as Angela the Italian girl at reception. Tony the Brazilian and the Slovak girl also at reception and the Mauritian guy in management were all very helpful. Overall a quirky and eclectic hotel.
Read more
Response from Fabien M, Responsable relations clients at Hôtel Original
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with our community. Great that overall your stay was up to our name and your expectations :) Just as a note, we unfortunately never received any information as to your preference in terms of the room...this was also stated to you by Angela at te desk but no matter, in the end we did our best to provide one more to your likings :) We often do that since we have rooms for all likings :) Indeed the elevator is....french :) so up to 4 persons with no luggage or 2 with some luggage.... as for the rooms we have from a Single occupancy to up to 4 persons in a 27 square meters so for a next time let's definitely plan together :) Have a great summer and till next time. Sincerely, Fabien
Read more
Ok, so the hotel is small. Very small and that's a feeling you get walking around the floors, the tiny reception and restaurant. I am not sure it can accommodate more than ten people at the same time during breakfast for instance. If you're claustrophobic that is not for you. I had booked a room for one person and it ended up being one of the rooms on the top floors under the roof, the very small ones with the tub openly located by the bed. That was not necessarily a bad thing at first and it was aesthetically pleasing. However, the moment you'd try to actually take a shower standing as an adult, you'd create such a mess with the water pooling across the room. I asked for extra towels to put on the floor so I could walk around the room while I get ready. Granted by the time I returned in the room late afternoon, everything had dried. The staff was courteous and helpful and they seem to be on top of things, breakfast was mediocre at best and definitely overpriced - you'd be better off hitting that bakery in the next corner (not towards the metro) that had spectacular croissants. It also seemed to be clean even though you could smell the damp in places and you could very clearly see besides the fancy decorations that it is a pretty poorly maintained old building.
Read more
Response from Sooruth_Sookun, Directeur général at Hôtel Original
Responded Jul 9, 2019
Dear Antigonakee, First of all, thank you for having taken the time to share your feeling following this experience at our establishment. The satisfaction of our guests is the biggest of our concerns, that is why we are sorry to note your overall disappointment concerning this stay. As you probably know, boutique hotels in Paris are intimate, especially in Marais, however we do our best to provide warm welcome, comfortable rooms and good amenities to our guests, in the heart of the City of Lights, between Place des Vosges and Place de la Bastille. It is also a pleasure for us to dive our guests in an original universe, totally imagined by the famous Stella Cadente. We sincerely hope that you enjoyed the setting of our 4-star hotel. Of course, we paid much attention to your remarks, very important for our improvements. We regret to note that our breakfast didn’t meet your expectations, as the room at your disposal. Rest assured that we will take necessary step to make you enjoy the best possible experience on a next visit in Paris. Do not hesitate to contact us directly before booking. You are most welcome and we are impatient to see you, so, please feel free to renew us your confidence. Best regards, The Management
Read more
I absolutely love this hotel and hope to stay there again in the future. The decor is interesting and beautifully done. The staff was super helpful and spoke excellent English (sadly, my French is non-existent). The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was quiet at night. And, while many have said the rooms are small, I didn't find it to be so (sure, smaller than American hotel rooms, but who needs all that wasted space anyway?). There are lots of nearby cafes, restaurants, shops, and cultural sites nearby. If you are adventurous, you can even walk to the Catacombs (about 45-minute walk) or the Eiffel Tower (also 45 minutes, but in a different direction). The Louvre was about a 25-minute walk with all the beauty of Paris to see on the way. There is also a metro stop just on the corner with routes to a number of locations as well as CDG airport. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel!
Read more
Response from Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hôtel Original
Responded Jun 18, 2019
Hello! :) Thank you so much for this great detailed feedback and we are so happy you enjoyed as much your original experience! :) You are hired...we could not have said it better :) Great we were up to our name and your expectations in terms of service and comfort....this is really why we are all here for! We surely hope there will be a next time and why not in a totally different decor this time....let's leave it as a surprise and do not hesitate to contact us for your next adventure :)! All the best till then Sincerely, Fabien
Read more
$148 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
lyon mulhouse hotel, lyon mulhouse paris, hotel lyon mulhouse paris
FranceIle-de-FranceParisBastille / Oberkampf / Roquette / 11th Arr. - Popincourt / Bastille
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing