We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Andre Latin

50 rue Gay Lussac 05 Arr., 75005 Paris France
12% less than usual
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View Deal
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (199)
Panoramas (40)
Room & Suite (219)


Hotel André Latin*** (HAL for short) takes advantage of its location in the famous "Latin Quarter" in the 5th district of Paris. We are located near the Luxembourg Garden, the Pantheon, and missed streets like the Boulevard St Michel and rue Mouffetard. A beautiful stone building dating back to the 19th century hides 69 rooms with contemporary décor and neat. Every day, daily newspapers are available at the reception. The living room is spacious, the wifi is free and available in all rooms. The left-luggage office is also available 24h/24 to facilitate your start or end of stay. Our staff is available 24h/24 and eager to unveil their expert advice about our capital. Suggest a restaurant, book a taxi, advise an unusual visit or any other things to your liking ... Do not hesitate to contact us by phone or by mail for further information. Welcome to the HAL Paris!
Read more
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Free internet
Public wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Air conditioning
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more


Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
153Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
84Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
640Reviews12Q+A48Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 117
  • 265
  • 153
  • 59
  • 46
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hotel is nicely situated in the Quartier Latin of Paris, a very studenty area, so fairly quiet when I visited at the end of August. It's quite a smart looking hotel, well kept and clean, and the reception and other staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. My room was small and the bathroom tiny but adequate for a short stay. Breakfast (included in the price) was OK.
Read more
Response from Sodano-Fabien, Directeur général at Hotel André Latin
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Brian H, Firstly, thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that your enjoy your stay! I hope you will visit us again for your next stay in Paris :) Best regards
Read more
The hotel is a quirky building in the 5e, and at least partially renovated. Nonetheless, the only recommendation in this case can be to avoid this venue. Housekeeping is worse than terrible: On arrival, I found my toilet seat toilet with urine and dust, and immediately notified the front desk to ask for a change of room. They could not offer another room, nor did they offer to rectify the problem immediately (it was late), but promised to rectify the issue the following day. Not great. Shockingly, the cleaner did NOT touch the toilet seat the next day, either, although I had noted the dirty toilet! And although towels had been changed. I contacted the front desk again (in the evening), and the response was the same. The next morning, I complained again to the person at the front desk, and they did not believe me that the toilet was dirty and insisted going to my room to inspect the problem (wasting my time). There was one last time at least to clean this up while I was having my breakfast. Needless to say they did not take that opportunity. Besides failing to solve this issue until my departure, the customer service response I have received is also mind-blowing. No sincere apologies were made at any point, nor did the hotel agree to offer compensation of any sort. Worse, they even claimed after the fact that this has been "a big understanding between my reception team and you", and that the toilet "was mottled but cleaned". Actually, I had personally tested whether the stains were urine because I could not believe they were still there on the second day, by wiping one off with some toilet paper, and it was exactly as disgusting yellow dried urine that it looked like. Utterly shocking and definitely to be avoided.
Read more
Response from Sodano-Fabien, Directeur général at Hotel André Latin
Responded Jul 30, 2019
Dear Ms Moller, Hope you are fine. I'am surprised to read your complaint one more time. We already explained you what happened by mail. And I do apologize one more time, because i think there is a big misunderstanding between my reception team and you. Indeed, the first time that you said that your toilet was not cleaned upon your arrival, our team cleans it a second time. When you tell us a one more time that the toilet was not clean we were very surprised ! And one of my receptionist team came to your room, and also my head housekeeper the next morning in order to check. And as we told you during your stay, the toilet was clean, the only fact is that the toilet bowl was mottled but cleaned (is just the normal wear) ! But I guarantee you at 100% that the toilet was cleaned by our houskepping team. I do apologize if this misunderstanding makes your stay not leave up to your expectations. As I tell you on my mail, for your next trip in Paris we will be very pleasant to make a discount on your stay with some other advantages. I stay at your disposal, Best regards,
Read more
We stayed here for 5 nights. The room was very small, but we were only going to be sleeping in it, not living in it. The lift was also very small, but it did it's job, it got us up and down. The shower was great, great water pressure and big shower head. Didn't really care for the shampoo provided, and there was no conditioner. The hair dryer worked great. We had the breakfast in our room, it was sufficient, fresh juices, delicious coffee, and a variety of croissants. The bed were clean and comfortable. The bath tub is a deep one, so be careful getting in and out, lift your leg high, I tripped as I got out the first time, and went flying but luckily I landed ok and did not get hurt, it was a miracle. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and accommadating.
Read more
Response from Sodano-Fabien, Directeur général at Hotel André Latin
Responded Jul 30, 2019
Dear Nikki D, So glad to read this amazing comment about your stay with us ! About our room, there do between 11 and 21 square meters, as the reglementation of 3 & 4 stars hotels want. :) I hope to see you for your next trip in Paris, and if you want a bigger room you will can book one of our superior room! Regards
Read more
Actually I’m at this hotel right now, the corredor it so scary!!!very dark and narrow and very old decor. The lift is a joke is a Doll box 📦 only 2 people maximum. The room is horrible is so small and full of mould everywhere 🤧. I feel I was in a box. I went to have a shower off corse the drains didn’t work. Got flooded!!!! It was desgaste. I’m very frustrated to be here. I hate every single minute here. By the way we went 9am to have breakfast there weren’t no much food there. Again room so small is not enough space for the clients. Forget about. I don’t recommend staying here. I would never come back even to the door. 😤😩
Read more
Response from Sodano-Fabien, Directeur général at Hotel André Latin
Responded Jul 21, 2019
Dear Macrow870, I am sorry to read that your stay with us was note up to your expectations. We are very surprised to read your comment because this week-end we didn't have any complains from guest. If you are still in the hotel, please come to see us and we will find a solution of your disapointment. But if you don't share with us directly at the reception we can't guess. In addition about the elevator we know that his size is a small averagen however, we will unfortunatly never change it. The building dates from 1900s, and it's not possible to change a lift shaft in this king of building. May be as you see on our information, we are under renovation on this moment for improve our services. Our corridor will be renovate at the end. It's true that our breakfast is a buffet where some time it can miss some details. Our staff is here for you and restock the buffet. Don't hesite to ask them if something missing. Kind regards,
Read more
We stayed here during our recent trip to Paris- and it was not exactly my cup of tea. The rooms are extremely small- it- as was the bathroom. We were 3 in a room, and super crowded by the time you factor in luggage. The bar area was nice, s was the bartender. The bathroom was a tiny box, that could stand some updating and re-grouting. I will stick to the big box franchises should I ever need lodging again in Paris, it just wasn't for me. ( Shrugs)
Read more
Response from Sodano-Fabien, Directeur général at Hotel André Latin
Responded Jul 30, 2019
Dear Ericaa28, I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not up to your expectations, Our rooms are the normal size of a 3-star Parisian establishment. As you may know, we must respect specific suqare meters by room in order to be awarded 3 stars hotel, and we respect them (we even respect those of the 4 stars). Also, about the bathroom, we are under renovations, and all ours rooms will be renovated in 6 months. Maybe you will can try again and our new room will convince you ? Best regards
Read more
$103 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
comfort inn paris, comfort hotel paris, hotel andre latin
FranceIle-de-FranceParisVal-de-Grâce / 5th Arr. - Panthéon / Quartier Latin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing