We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Young & Happy Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Young & Happy Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

478 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 231: English reviews
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

THIS HOSTEL IS INFESTED WITH BED BUGS. DO NOT STAY HERE. While staying at the Young and Happy hostel this past August, my friend and I found our bodies completely covered in red bites one morning. Upon searching our beds and the room, we found it was infested with adult bed bugs, crawling in our beds and all over the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mstieglitz27
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest Once again we're sorry for this inconvenience out of our control. we've already explained all the process that we apply into our hostel to make our best to prevent from this, even if it is coming from many other criteria that unfortunately cities like Paris and all kind of hotels and hostels may encounter. In any case, we... More 

Paris, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff friendly, left my luggage there during the day, lively area, perfect to go out. But: showers were super dirty and mouldy, overall not enough showers for the whole hostel, some were even not working. Everything was old and quite shabby, 40€ a night are not worth paying! Only if you cannot find a better place.

Helpful?
Thank vivihej
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest, sorry you didn't enjoy more your experience with us; however we still tkeep in mind feedback and hope to improve soon what is wrong. Let us know if you come back for another experience in the Latin Quarter ! More 

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel is located in a very good neighborhood, the latin quartier. Very close to lots of good restaurants, to a metro station, etc. the thing that i didnt like that much is the facilities. There's no elevators, so i had to go up to the third floor with two heavy luggages. Also there's no many bathrooms for all guests.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luciana V
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest, thanks for your feedback. in fact the house is atypical in a Parisian style so there's no elevator, but this is the appeal of the old Latin Quarter. That's why we still have a free luggage room at your disposal downstairs to keep big bags if needed. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great hostel at an excellent price with good facilities. Location was perfect - out of the main part of rue mouffetard but 5 minutes walk from two metros, supermarket, cafes. Staff are friendly and speak so many languages. I was really impressed. The laundry and breakfast are relatively expensive, but there's plenty of other options for both nearby.

Helpful?
Thank SP_Brisbane
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your very postitive feedeback, we had a great stay with you too and hope to see you soon for another Parisian experience ! More 

sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

I stayed here for six nights in a 6 bedroom female dorm. The location couldn't be better, it's in the Latin quarter close to shops, cafes, restaurants, the metro station or about a 15 minute walk to Notre Dame. Room was clean and comfortable, although a little bit cramped. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank scorpio85
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest, we thank you for taking time to share with us your feedback. We'd be pleased to welcome you for another trip soon ! More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

This is such a friendly place! Rates are great and I feel at home here. This is my 2nd visit at Y& H and it's just as friendly as I experienced the first time around. It's not "fancy" by any means. It's the oldest hostel in Paris so it has it's aging factors but to me that's charm. It has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, it's still a pleasure for us to welcome you here and share with our guests a little part of our Parisian life. We work to improve all the time and for your next stay, we hope to let you enjoy new surprises ! See you soon with us ! More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

I would definetely recommend the hostel. Location is great because it is in the latin quarter close to a lot of bars, restaurants, coffee shops and a metro station (place monge). The staff is really nice, friendly and helpful. My special thanks to Joaquim and Lucy. They were amazing!

Helpful?
Thank César L
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your positive feedback. Happy that you enjoyed our location and had a nice time with the staff. See you soon! More 

UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Great cheap hostel in a great location in the Latin Quarter of Paris. We stayed there for 2 nights during the Euros, great value plus a free beer on check in! They had an enjoyable party on the Monday night and there were lots of football fans having fun enjoying themselves and we drank the place dry!

Helpful?
Thank djulster
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your fantastic feed back. Glad you enjoy our party and animations!!! See you soon for another great experience... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

It did the job! Cheap and cheerful for the few hours we were there Friendly front of house staff Let us store bags as we went out through the day! Room was clean toilet was a bit cramped though Shared showers weren't the cleanest but again met there purpose Wifi worked fine Good location seemed busy when we returned, plenty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunderland1989
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your positive feedback. The staff is here to help you! A refurbishing for toilets and showers is previewed soon... See you then for a even better staying! More 

Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

The best thing about this hostel is the location in the Latin Quarter. Me and my friend had one room with a bunk bed in it. The room was very small but I guess we weren't in it much. The top bunk was very close to the ceiling and you couldn't sit up on it! I'm not sure how many... More 

Helpful?
Thank durnin26
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Hello thanks for your feedback. the building is a very atypical one, attic rooms, spiral stairs, but that's the way the Parisian houses are in the historical center. In any case we hope you had a good experience with us and were immersed into parisian way of life ! see you soon in the Latin Quarter ! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
Oops! Hostel
Oops! Hostel
#12 of 144 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Arty Paris
#11 of 144 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#10 of 144 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
3 Ducks Hostel
#18 of 144 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#15 of 144 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Quartier Latin

Neighborhood Profile
Quartier Latin
The Latin Quarter bursts with intellectual life, architectural splendor and ongoing merriment. The small streets are filled with classical buildings, student bars and lively eateries while the squares are dominated by historic monuments. The area is defined by the 800-year-old Sorbonne University, where Latin once prevailed, and is famous for the Pantheon which celebrates the great men and women of France. During the day students rush from classes to the library and intellectuals people watch from the terraced cafés. As night time falls the surrounding establishments fill up and the merriment really begins. The liveliest parts are around Rue Mouffetard, lined with crêperies and international street food eateries, and Place de la Contrescarpe characterised by terraced brasseries, this neighborhood provides real nourishment for the mind, belly, and soul.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Young & Happy Hostel is in the 5th district in the Latin Quarter where you can find a very lively atmosphere, with restaurants all along the street Mouffetard, a market on Place Monge every Wednesday and Friday morning. We are also located few minutes ago from touristic areas, Pantheon, Notre Dame, the Luxembourg Gardens...Have fun with us, meeting guests from all over the world, during the Happy Hour that we organize every day from 6 pm ! We have also other events, quizz, foosball tournaments, movie night... then enjoy ice creams and snacks while watching sports onto big tv screen !The reception is open 24/7, everyone can book in advance a Parisian breakfast (French baguette and other pastries, honey and jam...) every morning, we have FREE wifi everywhere, FREE luggage room and lockers for your valuables. Use our laundry, the best rate in the neighbourhood, no need to get out from the hostel !Please note that we don't accept guests under the age of 18 without an adult companion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Young & Happy Hostel

Address: 80 Rue Mouffetard, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Price Range: $27 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Young & Happy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Young & Happy Hotel Paris
Young And Happy Hostel
Young Happy Hostel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay