We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
68 boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris France
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$382
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/14/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
$293
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/15/22
Expedia.com$376
Hotel Website$376
ZenHotels.com$389
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (138)
Room & Suite (49)
Videos (2)

About

#526 of 1,886 hotels in Paris
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
The Hotel Le Chat Noir is located at the foot of the Montmartre district, just 165 ft from the Moulin Rouge, Paris 18th district . Le Chat Noir Design hotel is close to "Blanche"metro station , walking distance to the famous "Rue Lepic", "Place du Tertre" or le "Sacre Coeur" and the artist's square (12 min walk). With the same name as the famous Chat Noir Cabaret, our hotel has contemporary decor with red and black tones. Each floor of the hotel is dedicated to a famous writer or poet from the cabaret period. Ours guest rooms at the Le Chat Noir Design are decorated in an original style and are air-conditioned, TV Flat screen, italienne shower. Some of the rooms have a balcony or offer panoramic views of the Eiffel Tower. The hotel is serviced by an elevator and the front desk is open 24 hours a day. We welcome you in a quiet and cozy atmosphere in the heart of one of the liveliest districts of the capital, so you just "lovez" in our hotel
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 2 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
450Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
120Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
420Reviews16Q+A29Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 236
  • 127
  • 34
  • 11
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jo M wrote a review Sep 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I have just returned from a nights stay at the Hotel le chat noir. I read some poor reviews on Tripadvisor before we went so was worried the room would be noisy. It was completely the opposite; quiet and comfy and we had a wonderful sleep. A bonus was the view of the Ifel Tower from our room, really special. The man on reception who checked us in and out was charming and helpful. The location of this hotel is fab and the restaurant next door was great for a Saturday night drink. We would love to return
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel le Chat Noir
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Joey, Thank you for such a positive review of your stay with us. Our dedicated team always aims to deliver the best experience possible to all our guests and you will always find them ready to assist at any time. We are glad you appreciated the high standards of your room and our central location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel Le Chat Noir Tel : +33 1 42 64 15 26 - Mail: bonjour@hotelchatnoir.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SalimKent wrote a review May 2022
Sidcup, United Kingdom456 contributions290 helpful votes
Unfortunately the first night was so bad it spoilt our stay, particularly as we only were in Paris for 2 nights. Firstly the area. As described here it is located in an area with lots of sex shops and shows so if you are a bit prudish I’d suggest that you stay elsewhere. We didn’t mind the location as it is so accessible to some very nice areas, including Montmartre, which is only a short walk. We were given a room on the 2nd floor which was small, but that was expected at this price point. It was reasonably appointed and everything seemed to work. The problems started when we returned from our evening out and tried to sleep. We may as well as had the window wide open (it wasn’t, it was closed) for the amount of noise we heard from the bar below. The loud music stopped at 2.45 am but the loud voices and shouting carried on for another hour or so. To show how much noise intruded, when the street cleaning van came in the morning I had to turn the TV up to be able to hear it. We spoke to reception in the morning and they claimed not to have any other rooms at the back available to move us too. The best he wound do was offer us an upgrade to a room on the 5th floor but wanted €130. Bear in mind this was approximately mid-day and the room was still unhooked and us, existing guests had just had the worst night at a hotel we’d ever experienced. After trying to negotiable the best he’d do was reduce it to €100. We had no choice as we could not get our money back and go elsewhere. He did offer a free breakfast the next morning but the breakfast space is unappealing, particularly when there are lovely cafes within a 10 minute walk. The god news is that this room was quiet. It was also much bigger with a good sized bathroom and walk in shower. I believe the hotel is rated 4 star. This must be a French rating as it would not be 4 star in the UK. Paper cups in the bathroom and lack of a soap dish are two areas that let it down. Also a fridge would be provided in the UK at that rating. I would suggest paying the extra and getting the bigger room or ensure that you are placed at the back of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel le Chat Noir
Responded May 23, 2022
Dear Salim, Thank you for taking the time to share your views of your stay at our hotel. While we are pleased that you found our strategic location to be ideal, we regret to read that all your expectations were not met. While all our rooms have soundproofing, we are sorry that you were disturbed. Nonetheless, thank you for notifying our team of your concerns; we are delighted to know that they were able to offer an immediate solution. Thank you for your feedback regarding our breakfast area and room amenities. We have taken note of it as this helps us to identify areas for improvement and improve our guests' experience. Your satisfaction is a top priority for us. We hope that you will visit us again in the future for an improved stay. Best regards, Hotel Le Chat Noir Tel : +33 1 42 64 15 26 - Mail: bonjour@hotelchatnoir.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Asmaa As wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions4 helpful votes
I booked through booking.com since early morning and we reached the hotel afternoon. Not to mention the wrong directions we got from google, the receptionist didn't cooperate to send me the correct location on Whatsapp when I called from my own phone number he only gave me the name of the street !!. However, we got there...the hotel located in a bad area of paris actually, not smelling good at all..lots of sex shops everywhere and moulin rouge show and ads are in the same street which leads to the hotel, so I don't think it is recommended to family with kids to visit this area. The funny thing we reached the hotel and the receptionist didn't find my booking! He didn't even make any effort to help!! I left the hotel thanking God that they didn't find my booking 🤣🤣 . I don't know why it got 4 stars!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mira M wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I will start with the positive: very friendly staff! Unfortunately the hotel was not at all what we expected. The airco/ventilation was broken and the room was very very hot. At night there was a lot of noice in the street. Leaving the window open was not a real option but because of the heat it was necessary.. result very bad nights. The breakfast was disappointing as well. Not worth the price. It would be better to go and eat outside.. what we did after the first day. Despite my sympathy for the staff I would not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Le ChatNOIR Hôtel, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir
Responded Sep 18, 2021
Dear 179miram, Thank you for sharing your experience with us on expedia. I am sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expactations. I sincerely aoplogize for the disagrement concerning the air conditionning problem that you encountered during your stay. Regarding the breakfast , we had to adjust the offer to the re opening of the hotel. Our staff is always eager to help you organise your stay with us. Best regards, Valentine Lavergne Guest Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alison taborn wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions
we had booked this hotel for a family celebration which cost us £1300 - because of Covid the hotel was closed. I have been e-mailing this hotel for months and the last communication in August said they were passing it on to their finance dept. Still no refund and they have not had the decency to respond to any e-mails.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Le ChatNOIR Hôtel, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir
Responded Sep 18, 2021
Dear 400BLT, I m sincerely sorry for the lack of communication , we had a lot of demand like yours for reiboursment. Unfortunately we can not reimbourse all our guests because of Covid. Please accept our aoplogy . Best regards, Valentine Lavergne Guest Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison B wrote a review Sep 2020
Lewes, United Kingdom10 contributions
I originally booked for March but because of covid this was cancelled. Despite numerous emails ignored and telephone calls not answered I have still not received a refund. I was hoping to rebook rather than refund but their lack of response is appalling.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Le ChatNOIR Hôtel, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir
Responded Sep 18, 2021
Dear Alison B, I apologize, we have received a very large number of cancellation and refund requests. Know that we strive to meet and satisfy our customers in their request. I hope that this will not prevent you from coming to stay in our hotel soon. Regards, Valentine Lavergne Guest Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon L wrote a review Aug 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom7 contributions11 helpful votes
Booked a room at the end of May 2020. Of course booking cancelled due to Covid 19 and although promised a refund in an email sent in May 2020, this has not materialised. Have contacted several times by email and phone and fobbed off on each occasion. They have consistently ignored emails. Although now open again and taking bookings clearly refunds are not a priority for them. Other providers have refunded all costs several months ago. AVOID.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Le ChatNOIR Hôtel, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir
Responded Sep 18, 2021
Dear Simon L39, We have received a very large number of cancellation and refund requests. Know that we strive to meet and satisfy our customers in their request. I hope that this will not prevent you from coming to stay in our hotel soon. Regards, Valentine Lavergne Guest Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan_holidays wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom33 contributions20 helpful votes
Stayed here with my boyfriend for a city break in Paris - really lovely hotel! Great location and very close to metro stations and bus stops (closest was about a 2 min walk across the road). Sacre Coeur is walking distance away and other key tourist destinations are fully accessible via the metro. The hotel is located on the red light district but absolutely safe and we experienced no hassle/trouble whatsoever! Lovely clean room, comfortable beds and housekeeping was done everyday providing fresh towels. Breakfast was included in our package - continental breakfast which was nice. Best to come down earlier around 8.30/9am if you can, as the breakfast area is fairly small so gets busy quickly with hotel guests. Overall we would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Le ChatNOIR Hôtel, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Cher client, Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de partager votre ressenti à la suite de votre séjour à L'Hôtel le Chat Noir. Nous nous réjouissons que vous ayez apprécié la localisation de l'hôtel, ainsi que la décoration et l'équipe. Nous espérons vous revoir très prochainement! Cordialement, Valentine Lavergne Guest Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SimonmWest wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom14 contributions6 helpful votes
Lovely Hotel with lots of character and wonderful Cat motifs everywhere. Great location and good transport links. So close to some icon Parisian landmarks, restaurants and... 'clubs'!. I would definely return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Le ChatNOIR Hôtel, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Dear SimonmWest, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy that your enjoy your stay with us , and that you felt the home spirit of this hotel. Our design refers to the famous cabaret show that used to make Montmartre so emblematic. We can wait to welcome you again in our property. Best regards, Valentine Lavergne Guest Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Musheypea wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom62 contributions35 helpful votes
Hotel is perfectly located for bars, restaurants and quick access for visiting Sacre Coeur. The room was clean, stylish and had lots of room to store bags etc. Only complaint, as others have mentioned, was that the room was quite hot. My husband queried the air conditioning with reception and they confirmed it is not available in the winter months. We tried sleeping with the window open but this was incredibly noisy, so we had two nights of broken sleep. Regardless, we still enjoyed our stay at Le Chat Noir.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Le ChatNOIR H, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Chat Noir
Responded Feb 17, 2020
Dear Mr Musheypea, Thank you for sharing your exprience on TripAdvisor. What a delight to read that you enjoy your stay with us and that you felt the home atmosphere of this place. I do apologise for the inconvenience with your air conditionning , the winter mode is not convenient for all the guests. Our rooms are all equiped with sound proof window to ensure more confort to our guests. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next parisian trip. We hope to have the chance to welcome you in the future. Best regards, Valentine Lavergne Guest Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$153 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
relais de hotel paris
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Le Chat Noir Design Hotel
LOCATION
FranceIle-de-FranceParisMontmartre / Pigalle / Grandes-Carrières / 18th Arr. - Buttes-Montmartre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel le Chat Noir
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel le Chat Noir?
Nearby attractions include Moulin Rouge (0.09 miles), Chez Michou (0.3 miles), and La Nouvelle Eve (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel le Chat Noir?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel le Chat Noir?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel le Chat Noir?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel le Chat Noir?
Conveniently located restaurants include Les Apotres de Pigalle, La Crêperie, and Via Emilia.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel le Chat Noir?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel le Chat Noir?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sainte-Chapelle (2.0 miles), Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris (2.2 miles), and Arc de Triomphe (1.9 miles).
Is Hotel le Chat Noir accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.