We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5 Place Du Chancelier Adenauer, 75116 Paris France
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (1189)
360
Panoramas (75)
Room & Suite (759)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

About

#55 of 1,879 in Paris
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Just fully renovated by Laura Gonzalez! A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy in a brand new decor. The property offers 50 perfectly appointed rooms & suites, a gourmet restaurant with one Michelin-star, Bellefeuille with Chef Julien Dumas, newly designed gardens including a graceful pergola for outdoor dining, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering single and double treatment rooms, a fitness and a well-being area with swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna and steam room. A member of Relais & Châteaux.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Hot tub
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Walking tours
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German

Location

Full view
97Great for walkers
Grade: 97 out of 100
78Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
15Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1574Reviews59Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,349
  • 166
  • 37
  • 15
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Annalyn C wrote a review May 20
San Francisco, California1 contribution
My husband and I spent 5 nights at Saint James Paris, and had an incredible time. From the moment we arrived, we received world class customer service from every staff member we met. The property and the grounds were magnificent and well maintained. Our room, which overlooked the water fountain, was beautifully furnished, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the bathroom and all its amenities and fixtures were amazing. We dined in the restaurant for breakfast almost daily, and we had dinner one night at Bellefeuille where we had a fantastic 9-course meal. We loved how intimate, secluded, and elegant the property was. Everyone at and everything about this hotel is exceptional. We can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
mariejeanne_bertrand wrote a review May 20
Montreal, Quebec4 contributions2 helpful votes
Fabulous hotel in the heart of Paris in the chic 16th arrondissement. Beautiful venue, with a nice and big garden. Excellent food and a very welcoming staff. A welcoming upgrade offered upon arrival, with a beautiful suite very comfortable and cozy" Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Suites are roomy, comfortable and spacious
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Thomas D wrote a review May 19
1 contribution
A wonderful visit. The accommodations were excellent and the staff was extraordinarily kind and helpful. We see the Saint James as a home away from home in Paris. The location is very convenient to all of the Paris destinations.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Francesca R wrote a review May 18
Province of Naples, Italy3 contributions
Everything was very perfect. Wish to come back soon! This is a dreaming place where you can enjoy the silence and calm of the '800s slow life staying in the centre of Paris, enjoying a beautiful architecture style and a beautiful spa, exceptional meals at restaurants and open air time in the garden! Truly Beautiful
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Mariecaputo wrote a review May 15
Columbia, Maryland1 contribution2 helpful votes
The St. James was an amazing retreat from the touristy areas of the city. It is tucked in this wonderful neighborhood and we found it was walking distance to nearly everywhere we went. My daughter and I started out our journey with a refresh upon arrival in the spa. Guerlain is one of my top favorite spas to visit and the one at the St. James did not disappoint. We also enjoyed the pool, steam, sauna and whirl pool to ease away the tired muscles from long days of walking. The outside garden was a lovely spot for cocktails (which were fabulous) and we enjoyed a few small bites in the library which were tasty, fresh and just perfect! Everyone on the staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was wonderful and while not a necessity booking through their St. James pick-up from the airport and being met upon leaving the plane was a wonderful luxury given we were all tired from a long trip. When the notes said we would be able to skip the customs lines I didn’t envision it would be exactly that. Not having to stand in a possibly hour plus custom line upon arrival started our trip with an ease we would not have otherwise had. We had a smaller room for our adult daughter and next to it a deluxe room for my husband and I. Both were comfortable, I slept like a baby, and had wonderful bathrooms with separate tubs and showers. I will definitely return to Paris and the St. James!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Make sure to reserve the attractions well ahead of your visit to avoid scrambling and possibly...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laure Pertusier, General Manager at Saint James Paris
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosing the Saint James Paris for this stay with your family and for recommending us so kindly. We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed all the services of our Relais & Châteaux property, an oasis of nature and peace in the city. It will be a pleasure for all of us to serve you again in your Paris home! Yours sincerely, Laure Pertusier
Read more
Elias wrote a review May 13
99 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
+ fabulous interior design by renowned Laura Gonzalez 
+ amazing Michelin restaurant by chef Julien Dumas
 + wonderful Château-property

 BUT: - Upon arrival at the hotel, there was no bellboy in sight. I had to ask the taxi driver to help me carrying 2 suitcases and 1 bag up the stairs to the entrance door. Very odd for a 5* property. 

 - When I entered the hotel, I saw two front desk employees talking and laughing loudly. They did not stop when I approached the front desk and greeted me only after they finished their radiant private conversation. 

 - The greeting was rough. I expressed my dissatisfaction about the rather careless and arrogant welcome. As a result to this, the female front desk employee was making fun of me giving particular looks to her colleague. The attitude toward me was one that I had to be grateful to stay at this hotel. 

 - I booked the Relais & Châteaux „enchanted City Break“ - fare including a confirmed upgrade to the next category (Junior Suite) upon arrival. The room the desk clerk assigned to me was on the ground floor, basically next to the reception, facing the parking slot and a freight lift. When I asked her if she could probably find a room with a more „inspirational“ view (like toward the garden or on a higher floor), I was „upgraded“ to a suite with no windows at all. The suite allocated had just three ship portholes. 

- The breakfast was totally careless. No salt/pepper served for an egg dish. While spending about 30 minutes in the breakfast restaurant, none of the dozen staff members would stop by at the table to ask if I would like an other coffee, juice, etc. Never experienced such an apathetic attitude during breakfast service, especially in a 5* hotel. 

 - One of the restaurant employees during breakfast service would constantly cough into his fist and touch guests’ plates etc. after, without washing/disinfecting his hands before. 

- There was only one elevator (of two) working and it was constantly occupied by staff. 

 - The bathroom floor of the suite covered in water after taking shower in bathtub. 

- The terrace restaurant floor was covered in bird poop. It has not been cleaned for days. Extremely yuck. What a shame! 

- After facing all these issues, I asked to speak with the General Manager, who met me in the lobby and asked me to follow her into her tiny office. She sat on her „executive chair“ at her desk, placing me in front of her, making me feel like I’m on a job interview. Her feedback to all the failures mentioned was simple: „We usually get good reviews“. I asked her why the Forbes Travel Guide would classify the guest experience at The Saint James with only four stars. An other simple answer: „Forbes Travel Guide is not important in France“. 

The Forbes star awards report came out only a few days ago. 

 The worst about all of this: The conversation was not on eye-level. Perhaps the lobby or the restaurant would be a more suitable atmosphere for a guest conversation. The office of the General Manager is NOT the appropriate place to review issues that a paying guest was having with the hotel. 

 Thanks to Simon (Restaurant Manager) and Jeremy (Bar Manager) for their kindness trying their utmost to turn my horrible stay into a better one. 

 Rome wasn’t build in one day and it might take The Saint James years to turn into a 5* hotel, given the fact that it’s been classified as a 4* for decades until recently. 
However, stuck mentality is hard to change. Posh interior is a nice add-on, but what makes a 5* hotel a real 5* hotel is still spotless service and attention to details. 
 
At the Saint James Paris the guest is secondary.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laure Pertusier, General Manager at Saint James Paris
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Sir, I am very sorry that you did not appreciate the welcome of our team. Our maitres mots are however kindness, benevolence, and a sense of service we are praised for. We all regret we did not manage to meet your expectations. You and I have discussed your experience at length already, I will therefore not go over all the points you chose to present below. I would simply like to bring some precisions for our readers. The “freight lift” you mention is in reality the lift for our guests in wheelchairs. When you expressed your dissatisfaction, the only option we had - and that you did accept - was a top-floor suite to which we upgraded you complimentary. While our top floor rooms do not have a wide outside view, they offer a lot of skylight as the property is covered by a glass roof; each of these suites has a winter garden and is bathed in light. We are one of the few hotels in Paris to be located in a closed garden, surrounded by trees. The end of the terrace you mentioned is under the big chestnut trees and indeed there are a lot of birds in this season. The terrace is very wide and can be enjoyed in many places without any inconvenience. I prefer to meet our guests in a quiet place instead of the lobby that is a place of passage. I did listen to you and tried to exchange, I am sorry you were not open to a constructive discussion. The Saint James Paris has been recently rated and was awarded five stars by an official, independent organization. Forbes have not updated their review that dates back several years, it is outdated as can be seen from their description and pictures that are not accurate. The Saint James Paris underwent a 2-year, full renovation, it offers many more services among which a Guerlain spa and swimming pool. It has just been included among the Conde Nast Hot List, voted by travelers among the Travel + Leisure 500 Best properties in the world and 10 best properties in Paris. We also received the highest note after being recently being inspected by several travel publications. Our guests' experience is our priority. Attention to detail and pleasing our guests are our daily goals, and this is not always easy. I deeply regret that we did not manage to give you that emotion, know that the whole team and myself put all our heart into it. Yours sincerely, Laure Pertusier
Read more
umhend14 wrote a review May 11
Winnipeg, Canada7 contributions
This hotel should be on everyone's list of places to stay in Paris. The hotel has been recently renovated and is amazing. The staff always went out of their way to ensure that our needs were met and exceeded. The library bar is a must for a visit and cocktail/champagne! We are already planning on our return visit. My only hesitation in giving this review is that more people will find out about the hotel and this will make it difficult for us to get a reservation in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Laure Pertusier, General Manager at Saint James Paris
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Merci beaucoup for such a praising review! It is the best reward for our team, we are all thrilled you will keep happy memories of your time with us. We hope that next time you will also try Bellefeuille, our Michelin-star restaurant, and our Guerlain spa treatments. Simply make sure to contact us ahead of time when booking and we will for sure have a room for you! Yours sincerely, Laure Pertusier
Read more
Morrison1115 wrote a review May 8
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States7 contributions4 helpful votes
One of my fav hotels in the entire world. The design, layout, stairs, mirrors, marbles, garden, room, customer services and spa! Love the bar, makes really creative cocktail! A must try in pairs! Definitely recommending this hotel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Laure Pertusier, General Manager at Saint James Paris
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for recommending us so kindly, we are delighted to be among your favourite hotels in the entire world! The Saint James Paris is a unique place, where everyone is welcome with the same caring attention and it will be a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you back to your home in Paris. Yours sincerely, Laure Pertusier
Read more
Brenda O wrote a review May 7
Shenandoah, Texas11 contributions2 helpful votes
From the moment we drive up to St James we were impressed. It is a lively property and we hope to be back again! Our room was beautiful with our own private terrace where we had breakfast one morning. Remi and Arnold were so helpful in arranging tours and a driver to pick us up at the airport. The whole staff was amazing! We used the bicycles all around Paris and enjoyed the park just beyond the St James property. Great location. We loved it!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laure Pertusier, General Manager at Saint James Paris
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guests, Thank you very much for choosing the Saint James Paris! The property is indeed impressive per se, a chateau in a private garden in Paris, but more than that, it is a place to celebrate life and enjoy moments of happiness with a significant other or friends. We are all delighted you loved your time with us and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Yours sincerely, Laure Pertusier
Read more
OhioJoyce wrote a review Apr 2022
Cincinnati, Ohio42 contributions32 helpful votes
My daughter brought me to this lovely hotel on my covid delayed birthday trip to Paris. The beautifully landscaped expansive grounds are nestled behind a wall in the midst of a beautiful residential neighborhood. The staff was incredible and Pascale, the concierge, was attentive to our every need. We enjoyed breakfast and other meals in their Michelin starred dining room complete with a resident cat. We opted for a suite and enjoyed the extra space. You won’t go wrong if you treat yourself to this exceptional Parisian property.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Laure Pertusier, Propriétaire at Saint James Paris
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Madam, We thank you for this lovely review on our Relais & Chateaux property and we are delighted that our 1 Michelin star restaurant Bellefeuille headed by our Chef Julien Dumas enchanted you ! Our concierge clefs d'Or- like Pascal- is at the entire disposal of our guests to provide a customized service and best recommendations about Paris and so is Pilou, our mascot cat ! We thank you again for recommending our establishment and we hope we will have another opportunity in serving you again, Sincerely yours, Laure Pertusier
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$609 - $864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
saint james paris hotel paris, saint james hotel paris
LOCATION
FranceIle-de-FranceParisPorte-Dauphine / 16th Arr. - Passy
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Saint James Paris
Which popular attractions are close to Saint James Paris?
Nearby attractions include Porte Dauphine (0.2 miles), Library Bar Saint James Paris (0.00 miles), and Musée d'Ennery (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Saint James Paris?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Saint James Paris?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Saint James Paris?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Saint James Paris?
Yes, free parking, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Saint James Paris?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nomicos (ex- Les Tablettes), Le Petit Rétro, and Baez.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Saint James Paris?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Saint James Paris have airport transportation?
Yes, Saint James Paris offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Saint James Paris?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Saint James Paris?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Saint James Paris offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.