We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (420)
Room & Suite (246)
Dining (46)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#568 of 1,847 hotels in Paris
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Inspired by the crazy years colorful and generous, you will be charmed by our floral decor reminiscent of a modern and revisited version of the cabaret. Come to enjoy a typical stay in an atmosphere Chic & Glamour signed by the artist and decorator Julie Gauthron.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Wine / champagne
Highchairs available
Strollers
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 2 more

Location

67 rue Blanche, 75009 Paris France
Name/address in local language
Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
1023Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 498
  • 341
  • 102
  • 51
  • 31
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kelly F wrote a review Feb 18
9 contributions
This is fabulous hotel in a great location which is made by special by its amazing staff. We were lucky enough to have a balcony room and had breakfast during our stay. The breakfast was lovely which gave us a great start to our days. The hotel has a lovely boutique style and it is decorated in a lovely style. The room was cleaned each and every day and the beds were so comfortable after busy days in Paris. More on the staff - everyone was knowledgeable and was hapPy to give great advice to make our holiday Evan better. We had an absolutely fantastic time and if we are lucky to go back to Paris - we would definitely stay here again. Thank you everyone at Hotel Josephine 🇫🇷
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lisa w wrote a review Jan 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom51 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
Arrived at hotel before check in time and asked to leave our bags. Very helpful and this was no problem. Hôtel reception was nicely decorated. Returned later that evening to check into our rooms. 2 rooms booked for 5 adults. Asked what the breakfast contained and was advised it was an extensive menu and something for everyone so booked and paid for breakfast €12 each. The room for 3 was fine no issues. Camp bed for 3 adult isn’t great however and uncomfortable to sleep on. 2nd room for 2 people smelt of smoke - it was so bad we went to reception to complain. Receptionist was helpful but said no other rooms available. Offered a free bottle of lager and refunded 2 of the breakfasts and said would need to stay in the room or move to another hotel. As we were a party with 2 rooms they didn’t want to go to another hotel. The 2 in our party weren’t happy but with nothing more they could do opened the windows and sprayed around. Returned later that night to sleep and the room that smelt of smoke also had no curtains up one window so wasn’t dark and therefore prevented them from sleeping. Went for breakfast the next morning. Could not find anywhere to sit the 5 of us. Tiny breakfast room, full of dirty tables and used plates and cups. Breakfast choice extremely poor. Couldn’t sit down and nothing particular to eat so went to reception to inform him of this and ask for a refund so we could go elsewhere. The receptionist could not have been more rude or unhelpful if he had tried and point blank refused to consider refunding breakfast or contact the manager. He said if they would help they would contact me the next day after we checked out. He was also very rudely speaking to someone else at reception who was complaining about something else. As this was useless we went back down to breakfast. Had to ask for dirty tables to be cleaned and sat separately. Absolutely no choice at all. Lots of items had not been refilled. No cups or plates we had to ask. Tables not being cleared away. Very poor standard of food and choice available. Only one person serving so impossible for her to clear tables and bring out anything fresh. We had a hot drink each and left and had to pay for breakfast elsewhere. Hôtel never contacted me as promised so we paid for breakfast and never ate it. We also never had the issue over the room smelling of smoke resolved. If breakfast was included in the price we wouldn’t have complained but we actually enquired what was for breakfast and paid extra. It certainly doesn’t meet the description provided by reception staff on check in.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Joséphine, General Manager at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are deeply sorry that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations, and we offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We take all your comments very seriously and will immediately investigate the issues you raise, including the smell of smoke in the room and problems with breakfast. What you have described in no way meets our usual service standards. We understand your frustration and are committed to taking immediate corrective action to improve our services. We thank you for informing us of these issues and hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust during a future visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MD60 wrote a review Oct 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
We’ve just got back from a wonderful stay in Paris. It’s is located 5 min walk from Moulin Rouge and the Blanche Metropolitan… just perfect! We had an issue in our room which was dealt with so quickly by the lovely Claire. We had to move rooms but were out all day, so poor Claire had to move all our belongings.. Thank you Claire. All the staff were friendly and accommodating.. Great stay and we would highly recommend your hotel. I would however pay a bit more next time for a bigger room.. the standard was very small. If your a light sleeper, maybe bring earplugs.. the noise from the Parisian streets are loud!! Overall.. great stay! Great staff! We’ll be back! X
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Worth paying bit more for a bigger room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy M, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
Responded Oct 20, 2023
We are delighted to read your review and to know that you had a wonderful stay in Paris! It's really nice to know that you enjoyed our fabulous location. We would like to express our gratitude to Claire for her speed and dedication in resolving the problem you encountered in your room. It's obvious she did an exceptional job, and we'll be sure to pass on your heartfelt thanks. We are also pleased to hear that you found all our staff friendly and helpful. It is our main aim to make our customers feel welcome and cared for. We also appreciate your suggestion regarding room size. We offer a variety of room types, and would be delighted to help you choose a room that better suits your preferences on your next visit. As for Parisian street noise, this is something we unfortunately can't control, given our central location in Paris, but we understand that it can be a challenge for light sleepers. We do recommend bringing earplugs for a more peaceful sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Paris. Your enthusiasm and kind words are much appreciated, and we'll do everything we can to make your next stay even more enjoyable. Thank you for choosing our hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
HappyTraveller605 wrote a review Oct 2023
Great Harwood, United Kingdom108 contributions28 helpful votes
My recent stay at Hotel Josephine near Moulin Rouge left me with mixed feelings, but let me break it down for you: 📍 Location: Perfectly situated with proximity to Blanche and Pigalle metro stations, this hotel is a dream for those wanting to explore the vibrant Parisian scene. Countless restaurants in the vicinity cater to every craving. 🏨 Check-in: Smooth sailing here! Fallon at the front desk was a breath of fresh air—welcoming and incredibly helpful throughout our stay. A great start to our Parisian adventure. 🧼 Cleanliness: The hotel maintained a high standard of cleanliness. Though the rooms were a tad on the small side, they served our needs adequately. Bonus points for the kettle in the room, and the lobby offering an endless supply of tea and coffee, plus a water dispenser—a thoughtful touch. 🍳 Breakfast: A delightful variety and well-stocked breakfast were on offer. It fueled our days of exploration perfectly. 🌬️ Noise Levels: Now, here's the catch. Saturday night was a bit too lively outside, and the noise level was a challenge. Additionally, morning construction on the side street, starting just before 8 am, disrupted our sleep. Light sleepers, beware. 🛏️ Housekeeping: While generally on point, there was a hiccup on our last day when our room was missed. A minor inconvenience, but worth mentioning. 🌟 Overall, Hotel Josephine provides a solid stay with a few quirks. If you're a heavy sleeper and don't mind a bit of urban chaos, this could be your Parisian haven. Merci beaucoup, Hotel Josephine! 🇫🇷✨ #HotelReview #ParisStay #TravelStories #HotelJosephineExperience
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy M, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
Responded Oct 17, 2023
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at Hotel Josephine. Your detailed feedback is very valuable to us, and we would like to sincerely thank you for your comments. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel's ideal location, close to the Blanche and Pigalle metro stations, as well as the many restaurants to satisfy all your gastronomic desires. What a pleasure to read that your check-in experience was pleasant thanks to Fallon's warm welcome. It's important to us that our guests feel welcome from the moment they arrive. We will pass on your kind words to her. The cleanliness of our establishment is a priority, and we are pleased that you have seen our commitment to maintaining it to a high standard. We are also pleased that you were able to enjoy our breakfast selection, and that it gave you the energy you needed for your days exploring our lovely city. We understand your concerns about noise. Paris is a lively city, and there can be a lively nightlife around the hotel. We're also pleased to see our neighborhood getting a facelift, which will be a real pleasure for the eyes but, unfortunately, not for the ears during this short construction period. We've asked for earlier opening times. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused your sleep. We apologize for forgetting your room during housekeeping. We will do our best to avoid such situations in the future. Thank you for choosing Hotel Josephine. We hope you will have fond memories of your stay in Paris. Thank you very much for your trust and your valuable review. We would be delighted to welcome you again on your next trip to Paris.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bcbob1969 wrote a review Sep 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom232 contributions111 helpful votes
An ok hotel in a great location for the Moulin Rouge and Pigalle area. The hotel rooms are very small and dingy with tired furnishings, I get that this is in keeping with the Parisian style but the rooms do not look like the photos! oh and there is no bar. However the hotel Is in a great location and only a stones throw from the Moulin Rouge and the Metro. Before you book have a look around the area as you may find better location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy M, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
Responded Sep 6, 2023
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us, enabling us to constantly improve. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our ideal location, close to the Moulin Rouge and the Pigalle district, as well as our easy access to the metro. Indeed, we pride ourselves on offering our guests a convenient base from which to explore the charms of Paris. We are sorry to hear that the size of our rooms and the style of furnishings did not meet your expectations. We understand that every traveler has different preferences in comfort and style, and we try to reflect the Parisian authenticity of the Roaring Twenties in our decor. However, we take your comments into account and will strive to communicate better about our rooms to avoid future disappointment. We hope that despite these inconveniences, you had a pleasant stay in Paris and will consider staying with us again in the future. Should you decide to return, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we would be delighted to help you choose a room that better suits your needs. Thank you again for your constructive feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Cindy M. / Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tiago Marega wrote a review Jul 2023
Nivelles, Belgium11 contributions
The hotel is very well located, near the Moulin Rouge and just a few steps away from the subway station. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and cosy. My family and I had an amazing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophie Pouyoune, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
Responded Aug 6, 2023
Dear Timarega, We are privileged to be just 2 minutes from the Moulin Rouge, with good transport access . We are delighted that you took advantage of our location to enjoy a truly Parisian stay. The whole team and I thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you again very soon. With best regards Ines - Management assistant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Liciana C wrote a review Jul 2023
Jundiai, SP27 contributions21 helpful votes
We very much enjoyed our stay at the Josephine hotel. The room was charming and the breakfast was very good! Very well located too, close to the Moulin Rouge, Restaurants, Sacre Coeur...Special thanks to dear Inês and Fellon, always helpful and friendly!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Joséphine, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
Responded Jul 17, 2023
What a pleasure to read your comment! It sounds like you had a truly charming experience at the Hotel Josephine. The location close to iconic landmarks such as the Moulin Rouge, restaurants and the Sacré Coeur certainly added to the quality of your stay. I'm sure the hotel team, especially Inès and Fallon, will be delighted to know that they played a special part in your experience. If you plan to return to this area, please do not hesitate to choose Hotel Josephine again for your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback! If you need anything else, please let us know. We hope to see you soon! Cindy M. / Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sayron S wrote a review May 2023
2 contributions
This was my first time in Paris, and let me tell you, the Hotel Josephine is the perfect hotel for your stay! The location is prime real estate when it comes to public transportation, restaurants & entertainment. Shopping is only a 20 minute walk and the area is like a downtown of Paris. The hotel is so unique, and has a rich history of Josephine Baker throughout. I loved the staff! They were all very nice, welcoming and forgiving of the fact that I only spoke English. They all could speak English really well! Fallon was the amazing young woman who assisted my friend & I when we checked into the hotel. She was super friendly, provided us with great directions around Paris as well as wonderful restaurant recommendations! Fallon even arranged my taxi to the airport and made sure that they would not upcharge me! Truly appreciate her! I personally loved having access to the side terrace to take cute selfies outside of my room! The lounge area was extremely nice! & having free water and tea was amazing in Europe especially when you have to pay all over! Will most definitely be staying at Hotel Josephine on my next stay in Paris! Book them today!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Joséphine, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
Responded May 7, 2023
Many thanks for this message which is greatly appreciated by the whole team of the Hotel Josephine. You have given us an incredible energy by perfectly summarizing the atmosphere and experience we want to create. We work hard daily to meet all our guests' expectations by providing comfort and information. Our location makes it easy to get away from it all in Paris, and the proximity of the shops is an obvious bonus. Taking care of our guests and offering them a safe and pleasant stay is a priority. We are delighted to have contributed to the success of your trip. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again, and very soon 😊
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
J.A. Gomez wrote a review Apr 2023
London, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed at the hotel with my older sister, who came to see Paris for the first time. Our impression of the hotel was most positive. The location is great, near nice restaurants, cafés, supermarkets, and metro stations. The rooms / bathrooms are impeccable. The decor is quaint, lively, colourful, and fun. Breakfasts are varied and delicious coffee and fresh pastries and bread are available on top of eggs and sausage and cereal and cold cuts. But beyond the cleanliness, the decor and the location, I want to emphasize the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Everyone was pleasant, friendly, and just overall lovely. This small hotel is a true gem.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Joséphine, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
Responded May 3, 2023
Thank you very very much for your message, which is very appreciated by the whole team of the Hotel Josephine. You have understood very well that the location is a real asset, with lots of shops around and very practical and quick access to all the districts of Paris. Our care for the breakfast remains in a global dynamic of comfort for all our visitors, and the smile remains our daily atmosphere to welcome you and answer at best your expectations. 😊 I hope to see you soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ruth M wrote a review Apr 2023
St. Augustine, Florida17 contributions11 helpful votes
Love this hotel! We have a room on the 6th Floor, the room has plenty of space for your luggage and other personal items. The room is full of character.The staff are lovely and the location is perfect . Will definitely be back to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Hôtel Joséphine, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
Responded Apr 26, 2023
Great thanks for your lovely message. We are delighted that your stay at the Josephine Hotel has provided you with a most pleasant experience with the expected comfort and services to make you feel at home. It will be my pleasure to welcome you during your next stay in Paris, I hope very soon. 😊
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Paris area.
PRICE RANGE
$98 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
husa grand paris
LOCATION
FranceIle-de-FranceParisOpéra / Bourse / 9th Arr. - Opéra / Saint-Georges
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL JOSEPHINE BY HAPPYCULTURE $145 ($̶2̶0̶6̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Paris, France

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture?
Nearby attractions include Moulin Rouge (0.1 miles), La Grande Comedie (0.2 miles), and La Nouvelle Eve (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Comptoir Boutary, Les Apotres de Pigalle, and Via Emilia.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris (2.2 miles), Arc de Triomphe (1.8 miles), and Sainte-Chapelle (1.9 miles).
Is Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.