We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
16 rue de Berri, 75008 Paris France
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (269)
Room & Suite (347)
Dining (72)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Updated 08/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#710 of 1,884 hotels in Paris
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
3.8
Built in 1925, this Haussmanian style building has been the favourite luxury hotel of the American press and Hollywood Stars. More than just a hotel, this is an authentic art gallery for all art lovers with its private collection of over 3000 oils and lithographs. With its fine sense of luxury, this 4 star hotel has been turned into a fine family mansion just a step away from the Champs Elysees and belongs to Les Hotels du Roy group.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Salon
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
iPod docking station
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 1 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
399Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
70Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1029Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 372
  • 436
  • 140
  • 42
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Suemas2014 wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom84 contributions80 helpful votes
Stayed several times for work and this place is okay but nothing special. Rooms good size but showers tiny, beds comfy but the whole place could do with a revamp. Room service not great and water is often not refilled. I stayed simply because it has a gym and these are very hard to find in this location, the gym very average but enough to get by. Location is pretty good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CThiry, Directeur général at Hôtel California
Responded Feb 14, 2020
Dear guest Let us thank you for your recent visit to our charming hotel and ofr taking time to leave us your kind review. We deeply regret that you had an average experience with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in a very nice room, the most appropriated to your expectations. Concerning our gym, let us inform you that our gym will be refreshed in the next few days and your impressions would be most welcomed. Thnak you again for your trust , our greatest regards Clarisse THIRY Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tempscreenname wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York478 contributions117 helpful votes
+1
Off the Champs-Elysees and a 1/2 a block away from “Whispers,” a “Gentlemen’s Club,” this was certainly the most touristy and seedy location that I have stayed at in Paris since my first trip in 1996 (very pre-Internet travel and before I knew better and stayed too near a train station having not planned in advance for a room). Eh, win some, lose some. In this “non-smoking” hotel, my room(s) and sheets smelled smoky, just enough to annoy me. My first room was spacious and had a tiny shower in addition to a full-sized bathtub, but had a lumpy king-sized bed with two giant indentations in the mattress, into which I would inadvertently fall (enticing me to settle awkwardly and uncomfortably into the thin raised center part of the mattress). When I told the staff about the smokey room after my first night, they came up, smelled the room, agreed with me, and immediately moved me to another room. However, I apparently traded one smoky-scented room for another one of half the size, which also had a bathroom half the size - but at least I was able to open the window in the new room, and keep it open all night for some fresh air, which helped some. All in all: The front desk staff was very helpful. Unfortunately, all the lovely help in the world would not fix the past smokers in the rooms. My first night: the shower gel and body lotion were not replaced. The second night: I had no clean wash cloths. The rest of the nights: it was a combination of the above. I called, and they would bring me what I needed, but when I am tired, this is always just an annoyance. The cleaning staff could be better trained. Provided: shampoo, body wash, body lotion, cotton rounds, q-tips, single-use bath slippers, robes. The washcloths (for a European hotel) were a nice touch. Bring your own hair conditioner. My colleagues had their rooms replaced with a small water, but I was left with one small water for the entire stay: very inconsistent. In my second room, the mattress was better, but with the noise from the open window, I did not sleep that well. My room included a free, buffet breakfast, which I did try the first day: meat, cheese, bread, etc. However, with the number of kids present, and with the number of guests using their hands to help themselves during flu season, after the first day, I decided to just grab a coffee at the nearby Paul on the Champs-Elysees. Also: I skipped paying the exorbitant price for water in the room and bought some water and tea for my stay at the nearby Monop’.m for a fraction of the cost. Hotel California is located conveniently on the yellow/1 Paris metro line, which easily connects to just about every other line in the city. It’s also easily walkable to several sites (if you are an avid walker). I think if you are a smoker, or if you do not have not a sensitive nose or sinus issues or allergies (and aren’t that fussy about the area in which you are staying, and perhaps are not traveling alone as a woman) that this hotel could be okay. However, I would probably not stay again. My company got a decent rate, which made the stay kind of worth it, but when I looked into staying one night on my own, I quickly decided that for the inflated price for that one night, it was certainly not worth it (I have stayed in Four Seasons with its impeccable housekeeping for less!). It’s doable, but unfortunately was not my cup of tea. My pics show the larger room.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CThiry, Directeur général at Hôtel California
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Dear guest Let us first thank you for having chosen the Hotel California for your recent business trip in Paris and for taking time to leave your all kind feedback. Be assured that we deeply regret the inconvenience to remove you to another room because of the smoky-scented room you had been accomodated initially and took with our highest attention your constructive remarks. Be also assured that our daily mission is to provide the warmest hospitality and necessary support to our guests and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in order to restore your trust. Our guests satisfaction is our priority. With our best regards Clarisse THIRY Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny J wrote a review Jan 2020
Stockholm, Sweden2 contributions1 helpful vote
The room was nice and spacious. I couldn't adjust the showerhead which annoyed me a bit. The staff was nice and helpful. The toiletries wasn't great. But the location was excellent. I could stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CThiry, Directeur général at Hôtel California
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Dear Jenny Thank you for your recent visit to the Hotel Calfiornia and for taking time to share your impressions on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had a great experience with us overall and would be more than delighted to welcome you back in a very nice room with convenient equiped bathroom. Remaining at your entire disposal next time you plan to visit our beautiful Paris. Yours kindly Clarisse THIRY Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angelos T wrote a review Jan 2020
Korfos, Greece3 contributions1 helpful vote
It was another business trip to Paris and I had to use a hotel close to my company office. This hotel has ideal location since close to my company and in the heart of the city and business center. Service and facilities in the hotel are excellent. My main complaint is about the toilette which was very small and hard to get in and out having to do maneuvers in order to close and open the door.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CThiry, Directeur général at Hôtel California
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Dear guest Thank you for your recent stay to our charming Hotel and for taking time to share such a great experience with us. We are more than delighted that you had a great experience with us overall and enjoyed the convenient and amazing location we are fortunate to have. Thank you again for your generous review and looking forward to welcoming you back in a very nice and appropriate room. With our best regards Clarisse THIRY Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ktxp1 wrote a review Jan 2020
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom29 contributions50 helpful votes
Visited here for 3 days. Great location and not a far walk from where you want to be. Good value for money. We had bed & breakfast and the breakfast was lovely. Different options available. Did take a long time to check in and they were 1 hour past check in time which caused some frustration. However, there was about 30 of us so it’s understandable they were busy. Overall an ok stay. Not sure if if stay here again... but it wasn’t bad at all!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CThiry, Directeur général at Hôtel California
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear guest Thank you for your recent stay to our charming hotel and for taking time to leave us your kind impressions. We are glad that you enjoyed the great location we are fortunate to have and breakfast service. We nevertheless apologize for the delay in providing you a room and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in order to strenghten you in your choice: Hotel California is the place to stop by. With our best regards Clarisse THIRY Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ahmedfr1 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
It is a very good hotel , I recommend it for families , very good service , location , rooms . Hospitality , restaurant. Employees are very cooperative. Location is beside Champs-Elysées , coffee shops , and restaurants.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from CThiry, Directeur général at Hôtel California
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Dear Ahmed Thank you for your recent visit to our charming hotel and for taking time to share such a wonderful experience on Tripadvisor. We sincerely appreciate it but overall are more than delighted that our accomodations and friendly staff have been able to meet your entire expectations. Thank you very much for such generous compliments and remaining at your entire disposal next time you plan to visit our beautiful Paris. With our best wishes for an Happy New Year filled with happiness, health and prosperity. Yours kindly Clarisse THIRY Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris1967d wrote a review Dec 2019
Great Bircham, United Kingdom203 contributions240 helpful votes
For the heart of Paris you can’t fault it for friendly staff again exemplary. Clean and functional. Special call out to Joseph and Patrick front of house staff brilliant and helpful. Maybe there are more posh places but for the money great value
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CThiry, Directeur général at Hôtel California
Responded Dec 30, 2019
Dear Chris let us thank you very much for your recent visit to our charming hotel and for taking time to leave us such a generous review. Be assured that our friendly staff is more than delighted that you had a great experience with us, in the heart of our beautiful Paris and proudly shared such warm compliments, especially to Patrick and Joseph. We thank you again for your trust and look forward to welcoming you back in order thrill you again and again. With our best wishes for an Happy Holiday Season ! Best regards Clarisse THIRY Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
globaltraveller200 wrote a review Dec 2019
Dublin, Ireland351 contributions408 helpful votes
We enjoyed another return visit for three nights to the California, accompanied by a teenager. The hotel is well located between the NE end of the Champs Elysées and the Faubourg St Honoré and it’s thus an excellent base for those focussed on the city's hi-end restaurants and retail therapy. It’s also close to Métro Lines 1 and 2, which connect the area to many of the major museums and art galleries. The inconsistent decor is generally traditional and there’s an interesting art collection of variable quality. Our ‘family’ room was spacious and comfortable and its bathroom had a separate bath and shower, Vertical storage was more than adequate but horizontal storage was poor, WiFi was free, easy to use but slow. Breakfast - included in the room rate for those who book directly with the hotel - is an adequate but rather ‘average’ buffet. Dinner is similar in quality and rather expensive (but there are many options in the area) All the staff we met were professional and friendly (although one of the concierge staff seemed curiously unaware of the fixed fare system for taxis to the airport) Overall, while it’s not ‘luxury’, we think the California is a well-managed and straightforward four-star property and a good choice for those who desire the location but prefer not to pay Parisian five star prices. But there’s lots of competition in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CThiry, Directeur général at Hôtel California
Responded Dec 30, 2019
Dear guest Thank you very much for your recent stay to our charming hotel and for taking time to share such a good experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad that our accomodations and different services have been able to meet your expectations and thank you for your kind compliments and constructive remarks. Be assured they have been taken with our utmost attention. Wishing you an Happy Holiday Season and looking forward to welcoming you back in a near future ! Yours warmly Clarisse THIRY Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NER1808 wrote a review Dec 2019
London, United Kingdom115 contributions66 helpful votes
When I arrived at the hotel, there was a strong smell of sewage in the foyer. Assuming this would be very temporary I ignored it and went to my room. However, the smell was still there four days later and there seemed to be no sign that it was being taken seriously. It pervaded down the first floor corridor and all the way to the restaurant, which didn't help my breakfast appetite!! Only when we asked what was going on and that it was disgusting, were we told it had something to do with some work being done on the elevator!!? No apology, no discount! Not really acceptable considering the price of the rooms. The room, however, was a good size and well appointed. However, this was let down by a shower that was one of those cheap plastic corner showers, way too small and leaked. As the location was particularly useful for our business trip, and despite the smell, my colleague and I booked again a couple of weeks later for two nights on a discount deal. Within an hour we realised that the strikes and office conditions were likely to disrupt our visit, so called to change the dates. The hotel absolutely refused to entertain any change to the booking at all. As our team are likely to be travelling frequently to Paris for the next two years, the ultimate loss is theirs. We will not be coming back here! We booked at a much cheaper and better smelling hotel for our next visits.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CThiry, Directeur général at Hôtel California
Responded Dec 30, 2019
Dear guest Thank you for your recent stay to our beautiful Paris and for taking time to leave us your impressions. We deeply regret that your experience has not been quite enjoyable, especially concerning your comfort and the smelling. Be assured that it was an unexpected situation that our Maintenance staff efficently faced in a short delay. We sincerely apologize again for this unfortunate situation independant of our good will and invite you to contact Mr Denis Billard, our Réservations Manager regarding your case. Please feel free to contact him on the following adress: denis.billard@hotel-california-paris.com. Looking forward to meeting this opportunity to welcome you back in order to restore your trust. With our best regards Clarisse THIRY Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Minayounan wrote a review Nov 2019
Cairo, Egypt149 contributions85 helpful votes
The hotel is super good located One minute walking from Champs-Élysées Three minutes from metro station George V Rooms are clean and cozy Their Hotel taxi is overpriced Gym is very poor only one treadmill and one bicycle are available for running Breakfast is good Staff are friendly Meeting rooms are very warm and poor air conditioning
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CThiry, Directeur général at Hôtel California
Responded Nov 7, 2019
Dear guest thank you for having chosen the Hotel California for your business trip in Paris and for taking time to leave us such a kind review. We are more than delighted that our accomodations and different services have been able to meet your expectations overall and thank you for your constructive remarks concerning our gym and air conditioning that was not working properly in our meeting room. Be assured that our main concern is our guests satisfaction and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in order to strenghten you in your choice: Hotel California is the palce to stop by in our beautiful Paris ! With our best regards Clarisse THIRY Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$41 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel california paris
LOCATION
FranceIle-de-FranceParisFaubourg-du-Roule / Champs-Élysées / 8th Arr. - Élysée
NUMBER OF ROOMS
172
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hôtel California
Which popular attractions are close to Hôtel California?
Nearby attractions include Champs-Elysees (0.3 miles), Lido 2 Paris (0.2 miles), and L'Atelier Renault (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hôtel California?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hôtel California?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hôtel California?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hôtel California?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hôtel California?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bus Toqué, Le Confidentiel, and L'Arôme.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hôtel California?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hôtel California have airport transportation?
Yes, Hôtel California offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hôtel California?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hôtel California offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hôtel California?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Arabic.