We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

New Hotel Candide

Show Prices
#1,635 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
New Hotel Candide
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 185: English reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is what you expect for its price in Paris, near to metro station and to downtown. Not of so high quality, needs renovation, but really cosy, with comfortable bed. I was missing some vegetables from breakfast, but the croissant was delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timea V
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed August 17, 2016

We stayed just two nights, and everything was fine. The room was small but clean, and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price. It was basic but sufficient and tasty. The location was convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OceanRower
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Staff was very welcoming, helpful and kind. The hotel location is good and easy to get around by foot or with metro. The bathroom was nice. Price ok. Down side: The room was very small and could be cleaner, bed not so comfortable and no place to put your bag or clothes. The hotel really needs renovation: painting, new carpet/floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elín I
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review

Dear Elín I, Thank you for your comment. We take note about your remarks. See you soon!

Atlanta GA
Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

I got this hotel via Priceline.com name your price option. Even though I selected 3-star minimum and 4-star review minimum, I somehow got this. Jumping ahead I'm very disappointed in Priceline.com for letting such a hotel participate in this program. And I paid an exorbitant $130 per night. Not sure how many stars they claim but 1-star would be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexRushing
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review

Dear AlexRushing, Thank you for your comment. We take into account your remarks to improve us. We hope to see you soon.

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 6, 2016

We stayed here before, but have the standards dropped. The room for Paris is not bad, but it has had better days. Old furniture, no safe, tattered towels. But it was the service and attitude of some of the reception staff that left a bitter taste. Firstly we ordered a bus transfer to the airport that the hotel recommended to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mary m
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review

Dear mary m, thank you for taking the time to tell us about the problems with the receptionist and will take the necessary steps to ensure this does not happen again. We hope to see you in better conditions, in one of our NEWHOTEL hotels in Marseille, Paris and Brussels.

Timisoara, Romania
Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

It's really bad for the price. Old furniture, dirty, no view outside, just to a wall, smelly room, tough clean sheets. The personal is not good at all, knows only French, nobody knows what the other is doing, breakfast is served into a dark room, have found 10 times better in the same zone. Avoid if you have a choice

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CPopescu
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review

We are deeply sorry about the problem you mention in your review. We take into account your remarks to improve us. Best regards

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed May 22, 2016

So we made the mistake of using Priceline.com "name your own price" and somehow got this hotel. Priceline was ZERO help when we tried get another hotel, so please never use Priceline. This hotel is in no way a three star, at least not compared to what I have stayed in. So after reading reviews and looking at pictures, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dkm101
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review

Dear dkm101, Thank you for your comment. We take into account your remarks to improve us. We hope to see you soon.

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed May 18, 2016

If you are looking for a hotel "just for sleeping" during the trip, then it is a perfect one! It has a perfect balance between the price and location. Our room (as I suppose and the others at this hotel) was small, but it had normal bath, so we could enjoy hot bath every day! Especially it was appreciated after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nataliecam
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review

Dear Nataliecam, Thank you for your comment. We are really happy to read that you appreciated your stay at the Newhotel Candide. We hope to see you next time.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed April 27, 2016

Just back from visiting Granny in Paris, and stayed at the New Hotel Candide as usual. We go at least twice a year, and always look forward to meeting the staff . All the same people are still working there the last 5 years we have been staying, and they really make us feel welcome ! The rooms are pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda w
Kamal_Barouti, Directeur at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review

Dear linda w, Thank you for your loyalty and your comment that is our reward . See you soon !

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 14, 2016

Filthy room, not been cleaned in years, not been decorated this or last century Bathroom old, cracked and some attempt at cleaning Only hand towels Water through ceiling Water through breakfast ceiling running down walls Cheap but not cheap enough for that Try somewhere else, anywhere else

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kay1253
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your stay. We take into account your remarks to improve us. Best regards

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,034 of 1,816 in Paris
277 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Belta Hotel Residence
Belta Hotel Residence
#682 of 1,816 in Paris
277 reviews
Classics Hotel Bastille
#689 of 1,816 in Paris
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
#1,020 of 1,816 in Paris
129 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Paris Voltaire
Hotel Paris Voltaire
#1,164 of 1,816 in Paris
48 reviews
République
Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera
Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera
#1,605 of 1,816 in Paris
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bastille / Oberkampf

Neighborhood Profile
Bastille / Oberkampf
Bastille and Oberkampf are lively parts of town made for entertainment. During the day rows of unassuming bars welcome customers for a bite or a drink, but it’s at night this area really comes to life. Students and young professionals fill the busy bars around Bastille and Oberkampf. At Place de la Bastille, crowds flock to the Opéra Bastille in the evening and groups wait for coveted tickets during the day. Towards Republique, skateboarders practice their tricks while others chill out at the square. If you’re looking for late-night revelry, this is your neighborhood.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Newhotel Candide is closed for extensive renovation. This charming boutique hotel with vintage accents, re-open in 2017. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Hotel Candide

Address: 3 Rue Petion, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Price Range: $102 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Candide 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New Hotel Candide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Paris
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from New Hotel Candide staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from New Hotel Candide staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“make sure its clearn”
 of 5 bubbles 429marym, Jun 6, 2016 | Read review
“Try to choose higher floors if you want to get a view”
 of 5 bubbles Nataliecam, May 18, 2016 | Read review
“Don't think there is one”
 of 5 bubbles Kay1253, Apr 14, 2016 | Read review
“A room at the rear of the hotel would be the better option”
 of 5 bubbles Barwen, Apr 12, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid road side rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles babycamille, Feb 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay