We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel des Bains

Traveler (69)
360
Panoramas (9)
Dining (18)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
307Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
65Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Montparnasse
The namesake tower of Montparnasse dominates over the landscape but the fun part is the throbbing life that goes on below it. Bright lights, busy cinemas, brasseries and diners encompass hidden museums and parks to entertain the masses. Long avenues lead away from the tower to take you to unsuspecting places and historical monuments and treasures. In between lie adorable ivy-covered houses with beams and small gardens to match. Just a short metro ride away from the center of Paris this neighborhood has something for every hour of the day.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
173Reviews
377Photos
4Q+A
21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 48
  • 78
  • 27
  • 13
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had a great room, two twin beds over looking an interior courtyard. The room was quiet and clean and amusingly decorated. The bathroom was awesome.This is not the Hilton, it means that sheets are a bit thin, towels are not huge, no room service, etc. but the room was clean
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Henri Philippe R, Directeur général at Hotel des Bains
Responded Oct 28, 2018
Dear customer, We appreciate in a general way the comments of our American customers. These are justified and rarely directed with the aim of systematically distroying a reputation, even when these does not correspond to expectations. Thank you thus to have spoken aptly about the hotel and have correctly exposed its services. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay and send you our best greetings. HdB
Read more
I'll start with the positive things because it's really short: 1. Great renovated shower. 2. Convenient location near several options of public transportation. Unfortunately it's surely not enough and from years of traveling and especially in Paris I know for certain that for
Read more
Response from Henri Philippe R, Directeur général at Hotel des Bains
Responded Oct 10, 2018
Madam, I read with attention your observations. That of wiekedness and disinformation Let us see it ELEVATOR OUT OF ORDER This can arrive and does not justify your comment. The next day this elevator was in service and worked correctly all the duration of your stay. Why to say "when it works" suggesting that it constandly breaks down. This is called disinformation and shows will to damage. STRUCTURE OF THE HOTEL The hotel is exploited in a building of old Paris, built in a time when we did not speak about the same confort and some more of an elevator. Each can understand that to settle the modern confort in a former structure can raise problem. In any case, we where happy to be able to install an elevator. Now, I did not think that a people in the prime of life could represent a Herculean work to have to go up some steps to reach a room. For your next visit in Paris,I recommend you a hotel to the periphery. It is rectilinear, it smells well the concrete and everything is squared. THE ROOM WHICH WAS ASSIGNED TO YOU You did like the room. Why to add it and invent that nothing worked? Our desk clerck made correctly his work to satisfy you and proposed you another room of which you speak well. In these conditions I do not understand your grievances and even less your advice to the other travellers. The room that you did not like is ofen appreciated on the contrary by other travelers because we kept a former shower-room testimony of a past which is not without charm. YOUR TAXI Know that the hotel is not interested in the prosperity of the compagnies of taxi. The person of the reception gave you an average price for this race, and each can understand that the price can be impacted by the importance of the traffic or the hour of use.For example,in night rate this race is ofen superior to 70 euros. In my opinion, it is sad to see everything by the money All the same, thank you for your clientele
Read more
We booked 2 months in advance. when we get to the hotel the elevator was broken. after climbing the stairs with the luggage we found out that we got an old room: the safe wasn't working, the closet was tiny and the door didn't lock up. after complaining at the desk they gave us
Read more
Response from Henri Philippe R, Directeur général at Hotel des Bains
Responded Oct 10, 2018
Dear Sir, See the answer to your wife (Rachel Z.) Best regards. HdB
Read more
Clean, quiet, accommodating, friendly and helpful is how we’d describe Hotel des Bains. Close to so many attractions and walking distance to beautiful French cafes. Reasonably priced and offers air conditioning!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Henri Philippe R, Directeur général at Hotel des Bains
Responded Aug 1, 2018
This nice description of the hotel and its surrondings should serve other travellers. May I offer you my very best wishes for a next trip to PARIS;
Read more
We chose this hotel because we’d be able to walk to and from Gare Montparnasse - Bienvenue easily and because it had good reviews and a reasonable price. We were quite happy with our choice. The hotel is very old world - beautiful wooden-paneled lounge with red leather
Read more
Response from Henri Philippe R, Directeur général at Hotel des Bains
Responded Aug 1, 2018
Well, you are going to arouse envy and jalousy. In any case we are delighted that you had a plesant stay and we thank you for having preferred us as a hotel for your stay in Paris. Assuring you of our best attention at all times and looking forward to a new vivit. Best regards. HdB
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel des Bains
The Standard Room at the Hotel des Bains
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel des Bains
The Single Room at the Hotel des Bains
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel des Bains
The Suite at the Hotel des Bains
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel des Bains
The Suite at the Hotel des Bains
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel des Bains
The Standard Room on Courtyard at the Hotel des Bains
PreviousNext
12345650
Dear Sir, Madam, If by accessible room, you mean accessible with a wheelchair, we regret not to be able to accomodate you because the building is not adaptive. If not, we can put at your disposal a suite with a large bathroom and shower with only one step to walk up. We hope we answered to your question and wish you a good day, Kind regards HOTEL DES BAINS
1 vote
Dear Customer, The hotel is equipped with a fire alarm system that does not allow smoking. We look forward to your booking in the near future. Yours sincerly, Philippe
0 votes
Show all answers
To my knowledge, all hôtels (and public buildings) are smoke free in France.
0 votes
Show all answers
Quelle sont les stations de metro les + proches? Merci!
bonjour vous en avez 2 proches Vavin et Edgar Quinet sachant qu Edgard Quinet est vraiment celle à côté a même pas 2mn
0 votes
Show all answers
"My best advise is to avoid this hotel altogether, if you must demand a renovated room!"
"ask to see the room first"
"Choose a room facing the main road so in case of fire you can get out using fire staircase and you can easily ask for help."
"Get a room up high - the street can be noisy"
"I've never had a bad room here."
PreviousNext
12345
PRICE RANGE
$104 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
des bains hotel
LOCATION
FranceIle-de-FranceParisMontparnasse Quartier14th Arr. - ObservatoireMontparnasse
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing