We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Citizen Hotel

Traveler (231)
Room & Suite (267)
Dining (17)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#144 of 1,827 hotels in Paris
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water...
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room service
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Mid-range

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
232Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
38Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Canal Saint-Martin
The tree-lined Canal Saint-Martin is the focal point of one of the most romantic and hip areas of Paris. Watch boats travel along the canal while lovers and friends take in the atmosphere from the banks or the bridges. Evenings see hoards fill the embankments to drink wine and enjoy good company. The colder days lead people to hipster bars, cozy restaurants, and concert spaces. Those who are more adventurous may explore hidden gems down nearby streets, from local bars to futuristic architecture. With its enriching mix of people of all ages and backgrounds, this neighborhood has a dynamic, inspiring vibe.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
855Reviews
9Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 669
  • 145
  • 29
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Amazing location, small but comfortable and clean rooms, sweet little lobby and cafe, super friendly staff and owner...and of course tons of great places to eat, drink or shop around the corner....perfect for short trip!
Read more
Response from sophieberdah, Owner at Le Citizen Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Reinier, Thank you very much for your kind comment, we loved having you and hope you will get to come to Paris next time for a holiday instead of work, because as you said there is so much more to see in this neighborhood! Do not hesitate to contact us directly in the future :) Best, Sophie
Read more
My wife and I spent four nights at this wonderful, small, boutique hotel in Canal Saint Martin. We wanted to discover a new part of Paris and this was the perfect choice. The hotel itself is fairly small, which we love. It really gives you the opportunity to meet the people that work there and get to know them. When we arrived, our room was not ready yet, but Gizem at the desk/counter was incredibly nice and accommodating. We left our bags there, got a wonderful coffee just a few steps away at Ten Belles Cafe and then strolled through the neighborhood. There are so many nice small shops and restaurants. The canal is quite an interesting visit itself, especially with the locks system. Back to the hotel, we asked for a higher floor and a quiet room. We got just that. We loved the room and all the great little touches. We were on the top floor and had a wonderful view of the canal. Breakfast was included each morning and you also had the choice of eggs, along with great bread, yogurt, granola, fresh squeezed juice, etc. Thanks again, Emilie for a wonderful stay in your hotel!
Read more
Response from sophieberdah, Propriétaire at Le Citizen Hotel
Responded Apr 28, 2019
Dear Peter, Thank you so much for your lovely comments! It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the stay in this neighborhood and that your overall experience at the hotel was positive! I know I speak for the whole team when I say that it was a pleasure to have little conversations with you. Have a lovely time back in Boston and hopefully you'll think of us for your next stay! Best, Emilie
Read more
We had a wonderful, however small, nice clean room with a view on top of the building. Scandinavian style. The staff was welcoming and nice. Speaking more languages. Coolest neighbourhood with both shopping, restaurants and bars.
Read more
Response from sophieberdah, Gérant at Le Citizen Hotel
Responded Apr 11, 2019
Dear Line, thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Le Citizen and the nice neighbourhood. We hope to see you again!
Read more
Chose this hotel because of its location and good reviews. My experience was mixed. The Good Stuff: Small, boutique hotel located smack in the middle of the up-and-coming 10th arr. Every room faces the bustling Canal St Martin with its footbridges, hip bars and cafes. Close to all major sites, cool shops, food markets and bistros. In-room coffee/tea station and mini bar. Delicious breakfast. Free and reliable WIFI. Very friendly and warm hospitality, including an early breakfast served on day of departure. Street-facing salon and bar area are cosy spots to enjoy a coffee and people watch. The Not So Good Stuff: Comfortable bed but very lumpy comforter, light switch cover by the bed was loose and falling off, plastic seal on shower door kept falling off too, bedroom curtains in need of cleaning as well as the stained upholstery on the settee by the window. Upon arrival on a Sunday, had to squeeze around the cleaning cart to get on the elevator to my room because, for some reason, it stayed parked there all day. On this same Sunday, the bar area had foodstuff and dirty cutlery on the floor and the tables weren't wiped down between customers. By early Monday morning, the overall cleanliness in the public areas had dramatically improved - maybe because the boss or general manager were back in the hotel after the weekend? Loved the location and the vibe of Le Citizen, but the rooms need a spruce up and the weekend staff need to up their game.
Read more
Response from Sophie B, Owner at Le Citizen Hotel
Responded Apr 3, 2019
Dear Louise, Thank you very much for your review, we always need to have our client’s feedback to improve our service. We are sorry to read that your stay with us didn’t give you full satisfaction. We took good note of your comments about the room and will make the necessary changes. About the service on this specific Saturday and Sunday, we indeed had some members of the staff missing and we had to find very last minute some volunteers!! not used to work during those busy days. I am sorry that you had to experience that, but it does not reflect at all the usual week end vibe ! We are though happy that you liked the neighborhood and the general mood and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again anytime soon ! Kind regards.
Read more
My partner and I had Sunday brunch and each ordered the Vegetarian option. For €21 each we had a freshly squeezed juice, a hot drink, yoghurt topped with homemade granola, apples and honey which was followed by egg and soldiers and then a mushroom, onion and cheese croque with salad. The croque végétarien was full of flavour, a unique twist on a French classic, and for something that sounds rather simple, the dish was so colourful. It sounds like a lot of food but each dish is small and altogether it takes you to a "satisfied full" rather than a "I'm-going-to-pop-a-button full". The decor is a fun combination of country-living styled crockery whilst the walls are adored with quirky paintings of iconic figured from Janet Jackson to Martin Luther King. The entire front of the bar/restaurant overlooks the canal so you can people watch from the comfort of your seat whilst you sip your coffee from adorable tin mugs. It's definitely a great place to meet friends or enjoy breakfast with a loved one.
Read more
Response from sophieberdah, Responsable réception at Le Citizen Hotel
Responded Dec 17, 2018
Dear Gabriella, thank you so much for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your brunch at our restaurant. It truly is a great spot for people watching and enjoying the view onto the Canal, it makes our days so interesting to see the bustling life. We hope to see you back again!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$160 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceIle-de-FranceParisCanal Saint-MartinPorte-Saint-Martin10th Arr. - Entrepôt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing