We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Camping La Grande Tortue

Traveler (42)
Pool & Beach (6)
Room & Suite (4)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#1 of 16 Specialty lodging in Blois
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Indoor pool
Paid Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
327Reviews
5Q+A
3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 134
  • 130
  • 41
  • 13
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The advert on internet promisses a spot over 100 square meters but ours was at the minimum legal requirement of 80 with no separation between spots. It was so bad because of the noise that we complained. The camping owner was such so rude he would not come on our spot to prove his advert was not a lie. we left earlier without refund.
Read more
This is a great site, It's a medium size, with a mixture of pitches and chalets. The amenities match the size and although it was very busy it still felt comfortable and relaxing. The pool complex works for all and there was plenty of loungers and shade. The slide was good fun for all ages. The reception spoke good English and helped book trips and advised on visits and deals they had operating. The restaurant was outstanding, quality of food, price and it was always busy, which did create some delay, buy hey your on holiday ! The entertainment was fun and well supported, the shop had all your needs. The location was quiet but access to the Loire and chateau was very good. I would thoroughly recommend this site.
Read more
If possible I would have given this place no stars because the service given by the owners was embarrassing. There was mould under our mattresses, the wooden bed supports where snapped and hair everywhere. When leaving the campsite, after strenuously cleaning it, to the extent that it was significantly cleaner than it was when we had arrived. Then the owners had the audacity to attempt to charge us €60 and proceeded to shout profanity at us when we disagreed with them.
Read more
the First checklist was passed.we inspected only a coursory number of fixturs After departur we was billed 70euro. By the reason is that the use of the cuttingboard is bad and one pot is burnt. To avoid it you have to acsept carefully theck by the staff before you leave. We dont use the cuttingboard and pot is possible to repair by metal scourer easely .and we left tthere when office was not open.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Richard G, Gérant at Camping La Grande Tortue
Responded Jun 28, 2018
You've been charged 70 euros for the cleaning. As explained at your arrival we take a deposit for the cleaning (70 euros for a 3 bed room rental) If you leave the mobile home as clean as you've got it at your arrival we give it back, if you leave it dirty we keep the deposit. In your case the mobile home was very dirty that's why we charged you the cleaning.
Read more
This site is rather like the Curate's egg - good in parts. I was hoping and expecting more from a 5-star site. 1 - The site is easy to find if approaching from the North and the Blois direction but a very difficult journey if towing a caravan from the South through Montrichard on the D764 - very narrow, windy, bumpy and busy. Avoid if possible. 2 - Reception staff are faultless and couldn't be more helpful or pleasant. And on the plus side discount tickets are available from Reception for the numerous and gorgeous Chateaus in this area - a couple of euros off per person - well, every little helps. 3 - Both entrance and exit from the campsite is not easy if towing a caravan. Coded barriers are good but they didn't seem to like our code and we had a few problems getting in and out on a couple of occasions. This was always sorted by Reception personnel but a nuisance never-the-less. 3 - VERY child friendly but not so great if you are a couple. Big play areas for kids with lots of equipment, good heated indoor pool and activity-orientated outdoor pool with slides etc., 4 - Lovely old oak trees full of birds, including Woodpeckers. Large pitches but barking dogs from houses that back onto the camping pitches were a nuisance . 5 - My biggest disappointment was the sanitary facilities which are very dated and simply not up to 5-star status. One morning I went in to use them they were covered in dozens of bugs - cockroaches? I'm not sure as I didn't hang around to ask them - they were over half-an-inch long! That is where the line was drawn and we upped sticks and left the next morning. 6 - Close to cycle tracks which was very useful as we had our bikes and had some lovely cycles alongside the Loire. 7 - The on-site restaurant and bar was open all day. Specials were on offer most this is evenings; Paella, Moules et Frites etc., but the close proximity of the restaurant to the pools and play areas was not ideal. We did eat there one evening and the standard of food was very good. Regrettably this is not a site that I would want to stay at again - it didn't live up to expecations and was too expensive given the poor sanitary facilites.
Read more
Response from Richard G, Manager at Camping La Grande Tortue
Responded May 1, 2018
Bonjour, I thank you for your comments. Our project is to renovate sanitary blocks in the near future. I would just like to make a small note about the bugs you have described as cockroaches .... These are cockchafers/May beetles and are at this time of the season very present. They are attracted by the light of buildings and often die on the spot. The campsite is in the middle of the forest, this has its advantages and its small inconvenients... Best regards, Richard Gonin
Read more
Previous
1234569
PRICE RANGE
$80 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceCentre-Val de LoireLoir-et-CherBlois
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing