We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Elizabeth

Expedia.com$112*
View Deal
06/05/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Elizabeth
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 141: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Elizabeth
 Click to rate
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been staying in this hotel for 10 years plus, it's a good place to stay The location inside the walls is easy to find. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, Though we haven't needed to they appear to be available 24/7 unlike some others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank john d
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 19, 2017

Staff friendly and efficient The room was fine if a little small Good location in St Malo near Restaurants and shops and good for the ferry Have a small car if you wish to have garaged private parking

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank victor M
Reviewed October 4, 2016

We booked this hotel for our trip to St Malo on the 1st October 2016. St Malo was wonderful and we had a great trip; however, we were left feeling a little disappointed with the hotel. We booked the hotel because of its central location within the city walls and because of it being housed in the oldest building in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JakeMclellan
Reviewed September 18, 2016

It is listed as a 3 star hotel, but it probably doesn't make it that far up. It located in one of the oldest buildings in town, but it's "old" not necessarily in a good way... narrow corridors, small rooms and a general feeling of a place that'gs been untouched for a veeeeery long time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luca P
jean_triumph, Responsable réception at Hotel Elizabeth, responded to this review

Sir, You probably misunderstood the type of hotel you booked. Our establishment is an independent boutique hotel, located in a house made in 1600, like you said, the oldest building in Saint Malo "untouched". We are definitely not a standardize chain hotel with a modern decoration that would have probably better fit to your expectations. Even if we want to...

bristol
Reviewed August 11, 2016

nice building from outside but small bedrooms. Garage even smaller enterance. Breakfast disappointing choice, worst on trip around Brittany. Don't loose your key they charge, seems bit small minded given it's apiece of plastic

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keefkeef
jean_triumph, Responsable réception at Hotel Elizabeth, responded to this review

Madam, Sir, We strongly believe that your comment is a response to the payment of the fee for your lost key. You said when you left that your key was in the room, after a long search we were not able to find it. We have sent several mails asking you to send it back to us if you kept...

Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a two night stay and on arrival found we were in a separate building. Although clean and tidy, the room was rather dated and felt old fashioned. Quite noisy in the evenings. On a positive note, the man on reception spoke excellent English and was very helpful and welcoming . Breakfast is served in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsJ26
Rochdale, England
Reviewed August 2, 2016

We were met by a young man who couldn't do enough for us. He was a superb mine of information. We stayed in the annex, Skippers, just behind the hotel itself. The room was quirky but clean and more roomy than expected. The breakfast, served in the basement of the hotel, was lovely and a wide selection was on offer....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twiggywhite
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Hôtel Elizabeth is a quaint, well maintained hotel inside the walls of Saint Malo. It was built in the 16th century and it has an antiquated allure that we all loved. After being crammed in a tiny room in London previous to our stay in Saint Malo, the large rooms and high ceilings were a welcomed surprise. But most impressive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri L
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

So lucky! After the photos and reading up on the history of this hotel, my wife and I were convinced we found a diamond in the rough. Even after a set of unavoidable events led us to nearly missing our reservations and a simple phone call to possibly the nicest Concierge possible, we still believe so. The hotel is spacious,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William D
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 10, 2016

The Elizabeth is a typical old style French hotel. The staff were very helpful upon arrival and at departure. They explained local sights to see and helped with our requests regarding extra towels etc. Our room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was clean and everything worked. The decor goes with the property. Don't expect chrome and glass, this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MilkoHastings_UK
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
06/05/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
#13 of 81 in Saint-Malo
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De La Porte Saint-Pierre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cartier
Hotel Cartier
#32 of 81 in Saint-Malo
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Saint-Malo Centre Historique
0.1 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Elizabeth, situated inside the old walls of Saint-Malo's fortress, offers 17 rooms in 2 buildings. In the house, "Les Armateurs", built in the early XVIIth century, and one of the oldest preserved buildings in the Walled-City, you will find the 10 superior en-suite bedrooms, the reception lounge and the breakfast room down in the stone-walled cellar. In the house "Les Skippers", 50 metres further, you will find the 7 regular bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Elizabeth

Address: 2 rue des Cordiers, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Price Range: $97 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Saint Malo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Elizabeth staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Elizabeth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Suggest you speak to Jahn if he is still there as you will get a good honest answer”
KNAPPICE, Jul 8, 2016 | Read review
“Lovely hotel, but St Malo at night is noisy with young drunk people singing and shouting”
joannadale123, Jun 26, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the main building.”
Sheerim, May 25, 2016 | Read review
“Don't go for the triple unless you enjoy small cramped spaces with your family! Maybe the main hotel was nicer?”
ImogenKit, Aug 17, 2015 | Read review
“Avoid the front facing rooms unless you sleep well through noise. It is seriously very bad and these inconsiderate cafe owners could ruin your night.”
131stephend, Sep 8, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$112* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Travelocity$112
TripAdvisor$112
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates