We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
29 Place du Guesclin, 22100, Dinan France
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 2 left at
$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Hotels.com
Only 2 left at
$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Agoda.com
Only 2 left at
$75
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Travelocity$79
eDreams$87
Orbitz.com$79
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (102)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (183)

About

#6 of 15 hotels in Dinan
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Charming Hotel in Dinan Le Challonge, located in the heart of the medieval town of Dinan, Cotes d'Armor, Brittany, is welcoming you in this family friendly, comfortable and clean hotel. Enjoy a nice and peaceful atmosphere after a day of visits at our 3 star hotel. Our friendly and bilingual staff will be pleased to advise you in your visits of the area. At Le Challonge, we are doing everything we can to ensure you will have a delightful stay ! Wether you are travelling on your own, with family or friends, for holidays or business purposes, Le Challonge hotel can accomodate you in one of its 18 rooms from single to twin or double room, family room, and one Suite with its own sitting room. Situated in the city center of Dinan, we have a public car park available just in front of the hotel. As a matter of fact, you will be able to visit the town by walking. The city has magnificent cultural treasures : medieval history, architecture from 18th century, and unspoilt nature. The tourism information center is one minute walk from the hotel and we are at the crossroads of famous touristic areas such as St-Malo (30 min), Dinard (20 min), Mont-St-Michel (40 min), Cancale and many golf courses... Moreover, you will be able to enjoy gastronomic specialities of the area in many restaurants offering tasteful food.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Hiking
Mini golf
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
556Reviews3Q+A30Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 238
  • 232
  • 55
  • 16
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
dwaile525221 wrote a review Sep 17
1 contribution
Breakfast was good with a nice selection of fresh items The resturant is better than most in the town The room was big an spacious Good value as a budget hotel for the location. Very clean. Bathroom was big too with a powerful shower. Reception staff very helpful Decoration a little dated but overall pleasure to say here
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierrick SAGET, Propriétaire at Hôtel le Challonge
Responded 3 days ago
Good evening, It was a pleasure to see you at the hotel. About the decoration, we don't want to change because it's typical with our medieval town. But some works are plan, more specially about the carpet. But we have to wait with our painter because it's difficult with the current period (delivery, stocks, workforce,...). Best regards. Direction
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Halaf wrote a review Nov 2021
London35 contributions49 helpful votes
Very good value, great location in centre by public parking area. Short walk to historic area. Friendly and helpful manager, great bathroom, good buffet breakfast. Highly recommend this hotel. Good wifi, too.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alison wrote a review Sep 2021
5 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed here for 1 night on the 10th September . Room was definitely not what we reserved or charged for (Antoine made comparisons to prices of other hotels in Dinan and advised we got the best deal - I would not agree !!!). Booked a family room which should accommodate 4/5 people I.e. double and 2 single beds. We only had a double bed which was 2 single beds pushed together (Antoine at hotel advised that we in fact had a double and single bed and had been upgraded to a suite !) Room is tired and in need of updating. Shower was very tired with mould and brown stains on grout. No light above the shower. Check in desk is unmanned for long periods of time. Kettle in room but no milk and when asked for milk were charged for it . ( Antoine advised not everyone likes milk)! Hotel in a good location but would not stay here again. Raised my concerns with the hotel by email as no one to talk to on checkout . Email received back which shows that the management are not bothered by any complaints. You would like to think that in these desperate times hotel owners should be cheery and want guests to return not provide bad reviews. Would not recommend this hotel. I am so pleased we only had 1 nights stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay in the suite room whether paid for or upgraded
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from christine saget, Propriétaire at Hôtel le Challonge
Responded Sep 12, 2021
I would like to come back to your opinion. Indeed, you have been upgraded to a Suite. You were 2 people and there was a twin double bed in the bedroom and in the living room a single bed which doubles as a sofa. See the photo of the Suite on our website. The shower is all tiled and we will check the joints but we clean them regularly. Light is prohibited in the shower. Milk is on demand and not billed. The reception is open from 7 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. and sometimes closed from 1 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. but not on weekends. We stay above and are present in 1 minute night and day but as you left before 7am in the morning there was no one at reception. With 18 rooms we cannot afford to hire a night porter. When you arrived around 2 p.m. you were greeted and your room key given, although normally arrivals are only from 3 p.m. I regret the fact that Tripadvisor has not become a site where only dissatisfied people let off steam, but on the other hand it is very pleasant to have the opinions of our happy customers with their stay in person at the reception when they leave. Regards. The direction
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marjorie m wrote a review Aug 2021
Dublin, Ireland46 contributions20 helpful votes
The hotel is situated near the Old Town, and good car park across road which is free on a Sunday. Decent size room, restaurant next door, but plenty of restaurants in old town, nut do not be confused with restaurants showing a Michelin plaque outside it is NOT a Mitchelin star rated restaurant. The bed was comfy and room nicely decorated.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Resort736302 wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
Recommended by the tourist office and being in the centre of town, I did not hesitate to reserve a room at Le Hotel Challenge. I paid in cash and was surprised when the owner asked to take my credit card number. When I asked why he wanted to see my card, he replied that an American man had wrecked one of his rooms. In the room there was no kettle and because of Covid no place that served tea, so I asked if there was the possibility of making some tea, he said yes, but I would have to pay a supplement of 3 euros to have a small kettle and two teabags. Usually these little extras are in the room. I accepted that and paid the supplement. What was not acceptable was that the element of the tiny kettle was burnt out and when I asked for another one, I was given another kettle in the same state. When I returned the kettle, the Manager angrily entered my room and plonked down a third one. Those black chips at the bottom, coming off the element are particularly noxious if you swallow them. The owner/manager could not have been ruder or colder. Absolutely no hospitality. A disgrace. And after all that hassle with the kettle, still insisted that I pay the supplement. Also too, the toilet rolls in the bathroom were half full rolls that had been already used, so I had to use old rolls that people had already had in their hands. There were stains on one in the inner cardboard. This is during Covid19. The owner could not have cared less, his only interest being profit. There was a bad smell from the bed linen and I hardly slept that night. I understand in France that it is hard for hotel owners during this Covid19 period, but that does not excuse this kind of behaviour and stingyness. Plastic kettles are cheap, the ones I was offered are the cheapest. The government is also giving these hotel owners huge financial support benefits to see them during the Covid crisis. Horrible owners.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marie Christine Saget, Directeur général at Hôtel le Challonge
Responded Apr 17, 2021
Hello, We remember very well you who came a few months ago because you marked us by the strangeness of your character which was the opinion of everyone. The answers : You had taken a low-cost room without a tray or with a supplement of € 3. The bank card is a guarantee that is requested for each reservation. Our kettles are used daily and are in great condition. The plastic kettle is the one that we put in reserve for additional requests but it works very well !! Toilet paper cannot be thrown away with each pass, but 5 to 5 sheets are removed each time. Let's avoid waste and waste !! My husband is rarely rude except when it is being abused! You exasperated him by going into details of state aid or others which if they help us a lot do not cover everything far from it! So I say STOP! We're not horrible, and luckily we have a lot of very satisfied customers. Cordially. The direction
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise M wrote a review Oct 2019
Austinmer, Australia22 contributions4 helpful votes
This is the second time we have stayed here. It is a lovely family hotel. Nicely appointed very clean with the most helpful, friendly staff you could possibly need. Our French was pretty bad and it was no problem at all which made us feel welcome and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, typically French, and service was great. We were very happy to stay here and will do so again. The location is also brilliant with great restaurants nearby. Recommend this hotel to couples and families who want a comfortable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Valena18 wrote a review Sep 2019
London, United Kingdom376 contributions187 helpful votes
We chose from the Trip Adviser reviews but found that the standards did not meet our expectations especially as close by there were smarter hotels at similar prices. We used the breakfast room once but then used another hotel for our breakfast at only 2 Euros more.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
hannnahf2019 wrote a review Aug 2019
Jersey, United Kingdom3 contributions
We stayed in a standard double room which was great for what we needed for one stay. We saw one of the larger rooms with a balcony which looked lovely although the price for one night I considered to be too expensive. The decor of the hotel is nice and our room was bright and airy. Staff we polite and friendly!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paula M wrote a review Jun 2019
Walmer, United Kingdom123 contributions37 helpful votes
Room is a good size with ensuite shower. We overlooked the road but windows shut out any noise. Fan in wardrobe which was excellent. My only quibble, was that there were no cups in the room, just paper cups and two coffee sachets. Paper cups are not useful and hard to reuse. Room clean and had all amenities. Mattress very hard. Husband said his side (two single beds pushed together) was okay I folded the spare quilt and used that as a topper. Breakfast €9 but we preferred to eat out. Great location, easy walk to centre. Drove to port but can walk there. Free parking about 300m away from hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ron W wrote a review Mar 2019
Fredericksburg, Texas287 contributions93 helpful votes
We stayed here for four nights while enjoying Dinan and the surrounding area. The hotel is right across the street from a large parking lot. Payment required for the privilege. We arrived mid-afternoon and were given the key to our room. Our room was quite large and mostly nicely decorated. The wall coverings were pretty. The bed had firm mattress. The bathroom was clean. The were excellent reading lamps above the bed. The television had 6-7 English-speaking stations. The breakfast was adequate. The staff was very courteous.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
le challonge hotel, le challonge dinan
LOCATION
FranceBrittanyCotes-d'ArmorDinan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hôtel le Challonge
Which popular attractions are close to Hôtel le Challonge?
Nearby attractions include Centre Historique (0.1 miles), Les Remparts de Dinan (0.3 miles), and Porte du Jerzual (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hôtel le Challonge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Hôtel le Challonge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hôtel le Challonge?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hôtel le Challonge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le 19, Le Temps Devant Soi, and Miette.
Is Hôtel le Challonge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Dinan.
Are pets allowed at Hôtel le Challonge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hôtel le Challonge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hôtel le Challonge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Les Remparts de Dinan (0.3 miles), La Grande Vigne (0.8 miles), and Le Bastion Mercoeur (0.6 miles).
Is Hôtel le Challonge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.