We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel le Challonge

Save
Share
29 Place du Guesclin, 22100, Dinan France
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (96)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (182)

About

#6 of 16 hotels in Dinan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Charming Hotel in Dinan Le Challonge, located in the heart of the medieval town of Dinan, Cotes d'Armor, Brittany, is welcoming you in this family friendly, comfortable and clean hotel. Enjoy a nice and peaceful atmosphere after a day of visits at our 3 star hotel. Our friendly and bilingual staff will be pleased to advise you in your visits of the area. At Le Challonge, we are doing everything we can to ensure you will have a delightful stay ! Wether you are travelling on your own, with family or friends, for holidays or business purposes, Le Challonge hotel can accomodate you in one of its 18 rooms from single to twin or double room, family room, and one Suite with its own sitting room. Situated in the city center of Dinan, we have a public car park available just in front of the hotel. As a matter of fact, you will be able to visit the town by walking. The city has magnificent cultural treasures : medieval history, architecture from 18th century, and unspoilt nature. The tourism information center is one minute walk from the hotel and we are at the crossroads of famous touristic areas such as St-Malo (30 min), Dinard (20 min), Mont-St-Michel (40 min), Cancale and many golf courses... Moreover, you will be able to enjoy gastronomic specialities of the area in many restaurants offering tasteful food.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Hiking
Mini golf
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
539Reviews3Q+A30Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 230
  • 227
  • 52
  • 15
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Alison wrote a review Sep 2021
4 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed here for 1 night on the 10th September . Room was definitely not what we reserved or charged for (Antoine made comparisons to prices of other hotels in Dinan and advised we got the best deal - I would not agree !!!). Booked a family room which should accommodate 4/5 people I.e. double and 2 single beds. We only had a double bed which was 2 single beds pushed together (Antoine at hotel advised that we in fact had a double and single bed and had been upgraded to a suite !) Room is tired and in need of updating. Shower was very tired with mould and brown stains on grout. No light above the shower. Check in desk is unmanned for long periods of time. Kettle in room but no milk and when asked for milk were charged for it . ( Antoine advised not everyone likes milk)! Hotel in a good location but would not stay here again. Raised my concerns with the hotel by email as no one to talk to on checkout . Email received back which shows that the management are not bothered by any complaints. You would like to think that in these desperate times hotel owners should be cheery and want guests to return not provide bad reviews. Would not recommend this hotel. I am so pleased we only had 1 nights stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay in the suite room whether paid for or upgraded
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from christine saget, Propriétaire at Hôtel le Challonge
Responded Sep 12, 2021
I would like to come back to your opinion. Indeed, you have been upgraded to a Suite. You were 2 people and there was a twin double bed in the bedroom and in the living room a single bed which doubles as a sofa. See the photo of the Suite on our website. The shower is all tiled and we will check the joints but we clean them regularly. Light is prohibited in the shower. Milk is on demand and not billed. The reception is open from 7 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. and sometimes closed from 1 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. but not on weekends. We stay above and are present in 1 minute night and day but as you left before 7am in the morning there was no one at reception. With 18 rooms we cannot afford to hire a night porter. When you arrived around 2 p.m. you were greeted and your room key given, although normally arrivals are only from 3 p.m. I regret the fact that Tripadvisor has not become a site where only dissatisfied people let off steam, but on the other hand it is very pleasant to have the opinions of our happy customers with their stay in person at the reception when they leave. Regards. The direction
Read more
marjorie m wrote a review Aug 2021
Dublin, Ireland41 contributions20 helpful votes
The hotel is situated near the Old Town, and good car park across road which is free on a Sunday. Decent size room, restaurant next door, but plenty of restaurants in old town, nut do not be confused with restaurants showing a Michelin plaque outside it is NOT a Mitchelin star rated restaurant. The bed was comfy and room nicely decorated.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Resort736302 wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
Recommended by the tourist office and being in the centre of town, I did not hesitate to reserve a room at Le Hotel Challenge. I paid in cash and was surprised when the owner asked to take my credit card number. When I asked why he wanted to see my card, he replied that an American man had wrecked one of his rooms. In the room there was no kettle and because of Covid no place that served tea, so I asked if there was the possibility of making some tea, he said yes, but I would have to pay a supplement of 3 euros to have a small kettle and two teabags. Usually these little extras are in the room. I accepted that and paid the supplement. What was not acceptable was that the element of the tiny kettle was burnt out and when I asked for another one, I was given another kettle in the same state. When I returned the kettle, the Manager angrily entered my room and plonked down a third one. Those black chips at the bottom, coming off the element are particularly noxious if you swallow them. The owner/manager could not have been ruder or colder. Absolutely no hospitality. A disgrace. And after all that hassle with the kettle, still insisted that I pay the supplement. Also too, the toilet rolls in the bathroom were half full rolls that had been already used, so I had to use old rolls that people had already had in their hands. There were stains on one in the inner cardboard. This is during Covid19. The owner could not have cared less, his only interest being profit. There was a bad smell from the bed linen and I hardly slept that night. I understand in France that it is hard for hotel owners during this Covid19 period, but that does not excuse this kind of behaviour and stingyness. Plastic kettles are cheap, the ones I was offered are the cheapest. The government is also giving these hotel owners huge financial support benefits to see them during the Covid crisis. Horrible owners.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Marie Christine Saget, Directeur général at Hôtel le Challonge
Responded Apr 17, 2021
Hello, We remember very well you who came a few months ago because you marked us by the strangeness of your character which was the opinion of everyone. The answers : You had taken a low-cost room without a tray or with a supplement of € 3. The bank card is a guarantee that is requested for each reservation. Our kettles are used daily and are in great condition. The plastic kettle is the one that we put in reserve for additional requests but it works very well !! Toilet paper cannot be thrown away with each pass, but 5 to 5 sheets are removed each time. Let's avoid waste and waste !! My husband is rarely rude except when it is being abused! You exasperated him by going into details of state aid or others which if they help us a lot do not cover everything far from it! So I say STOP! We're not horrible, and luckily we have a lot of very satisfied customers. Cordially. The direction
Read more
Louise M wrote a review Oct 2019
Austinmer, Australia22 contributions4 helpful votes
This is the second time we have stayed here. It is a lovely family hotel. Nicely appointed very clean with the most helpful, friendly staff you could possibly need. Our French was pretty bad and it was no problem at all which made us feel welcome and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, typically French, and service was great. We were very happy to stay here and will do so again. The location is also brilliant with great restaurants nearby. Recommend this hotel to couples and families who want a comfortable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Valena18 wrote a review Sep 2019
London, United Kingdom338 contributions133 helpful votes
We chose from the Trip Adviser reviews but found that the standards did not meet our expectations especially as close by there were smarter hotels at similar prices. We used the breakfast room once but then used another hotel for our breakfast at only 2 Euros more.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$72 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
le challonge hotel, le challonge dinan
LOCATION
FranceBrittanyCotes-d'ArmorDinan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hôtel le Challonge
Which popular attractions are close to Hôtel le Challonge?
Nearby attractions include Centre Historique (0.1 miles), Les Remparts de Dinan (0.3 miles), and Porte du Jerzual (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hôtel le Challonge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Hôtel le Challonge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hôtel le Challonge?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hôtel le Challonge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le 19, Le Temps Devant Soi, and Les 3 Lunes.
Is Hôtel le Challonge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Dinan.
Are pets allowed at Hôtel le Challonge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hôtel le Challonge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hôtel le Challonge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Les Remparts de Dinan (0.3 miles), La Grande Vigne (0.8 miles), and Le Bastion Mercoeur (0.6 miles).
Is Hôtel le Challonge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.