We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Le Lion

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Le Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 2, 2016

Great hotel which is right in the centre but still quiet. The room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the square and was spacious and furnished in a loft style. Lovely big shower room with a large walk in shower. Good bar and food and excellent breakfast with proper hot chocolate made with melted chocolate and steamed milk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
Thomas J, Gérant at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear customer, We thank you warmly for having communicated with us your satisfaction further to your stay to the hotel the Lion. Your notices come to reward the daily work of All the team of the Lion Faithfully

Reviewed November 1, 2016

very nice hotel in the heart of Clermont, on the Place du Jeud. close to shops and cafes. bus and tram right in front. there are 2 malls close by and the really cool black cathedral. Parking is tricky but there is an under ground carpark nearby and the hotel will give you a voucher for a set day rate....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michellesX7959EM
Thomas J, Gérant at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Goodmorning, we are delighted that you are seduced by our establishment. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you during your next stay on Clermont-Ferrand Faithfully

New York City, New York
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is placed in the center of the town, very convenient. The rooms was clean and modern. Unfortunately, it has an attached restaurant on the ground floor. This resulted in a lot of noise to the hotel room. Worse, the cafe started packing up a bit before midnight. i had to put up with the scraping of chairs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffbloom
Thomas J, Directeur général at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear guest, We present our apologies for any inconvenience. We sincerely hope that this does not taint the image you have of our establishment. We are truly sorry and hopefully still have the chance to receive you again. All the Lion team

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

This place has been given a makeover and is well positioned in the city square. It has a bar and restaurant attached which was nice (nice pizzas) and good menu and staff. The rooms were nice but the air conditioning doesn't work and the shower in the morning took 10 minutes to warm up. There is a fair amount of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
Thomas J, Directeur général at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear customer we thank you for your comment. We are glad you apreciated the position of our institution. We inform you that the air conditioning works perfectly, please call the reception in case of problems. Indeed receptionists manages the operation of the air conditioning in the room. Finally there are also buses to the station and those are very regular....

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed September 17, 2016

This hotel has been renovated to a high standard. We had a big room with lots of space, a good sized bathroom, plenty of storage space, hangers and hooks. There is a coffee machine in the room and an electric jug if it is just hot water for a tea that you are after. We were cordially received by a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WingerJack
Thomas J, Directeur général at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear Customer, It is with great pleasure that we receive your comment, and rest assured that we will certainly share your comments with all our teams. We are very pleased to receive these compliments about our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back with us very soon. Best regards.

Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

We loved this hotel, quite quirky, beautiful room with a beautiful view. bedrooms are only a few short steps from the lift. Warm welcoming staff. Perfect location, everything is closw by including the magnificent Catheral and theatre ...wish we didnt have to leave!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olive o
Thomas J, Directeur général at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We sincerely thank you for providing us your satisfaction with your stay at the Lion Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Clermont Ferrand. Best regards

Mechelen, Belgium
Reviewed September 4, 2016

The hotel is well located in Clermont Ferrand on a lively square. With the windows closed you can block all the noise from the square. But then it gets very very hot inside. At checkin they forgot to tell us that the A/C is controlled at the reception and we couldn't get it too work ( wasn't anybody at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robfets
Thomas J, Directeur général at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your comment. We present our apologies for this inconvenience. Indeed, the air conditioning can be adjusted by the receptionists only the system is a bit complicated. We assure you of our full understanding for your discontent. We are truly sorry and hopefully still have the chance to receive you again. All the Lion team

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed July 19, 2016

The room was lovely, with a view onto the Place Jaude. Any noise from the square was avoidable due to the double-glazing. Staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. Beautiful breakfast, and the restaurant downstairs was very convenient at the end of a long day. A tram stop was literally just outside the door. No hesitation in recommending this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jankees v
Thomas J, Directeur général at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We sincerely thank you for providing us your satisfaction with your stay at the Lion Hotel. We are glad you had a pleasant stay among us and that you enjoyed our hospitality and breakfast. We hope to see you again very soon, Best regards.

Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

T'he room was ok but definitely t'he access to at least some of t'he rooms should be improved. T'he elevator is not located At same level of the rooms, so you always have to carry the luggage along some stairs. But for some rooms is much worst because when the corridor finishes, to access the room you have to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carme T
Thomas J, Directeur général at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment on the site. It is true that access to the room can be complicated because the building is old so we have not been able to get the lift to the bedroom floors but only between floors. We hope to see you soon in our establishment, and don't hesitate to ask to the staff to...

Vaux-en-Beaujolais, France
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

You couldn't be more central but with a car park nearby. By the way the hotel proposed a special deal for the car park, but in the end I just used the machines and it worked out cheaper. Room was fine with unsecured wi fi. Everything was clean and the breakfast was good . I'll certainly use it again when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
Thomas J, Directeur général at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We sincerely thank you for providing us your satisfaction with your stay at the Lion Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Clermont Ferrand. Cordially

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clermont-Ferrand hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Clermont Ferrand Centre Jaude
Mercure Clermont Ferrand Centre ...
#1 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oceania
Hotel Oceania
#3 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Privilodges Carre de Jaude
Privilodges Carre de Jaude
#14 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Campanile Clermont Ferrand Centre
Campanile Clermont Ferrand Centr...
#2 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
223 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Princesse Flore
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Litteraire Alexandre Vialatte
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Litterai...
#12 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel Le Lion

Address: 16 Place de Jaude, 63000, Clermont-Ferrand, France (Formerly Hotel De Lyon)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Clermont-Ferrand
Price Range: $97 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Le Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clermont-Ferrand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Le Lion staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Le Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for a balcony room”
 of 5 bubbles michellesX7959EM, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with a working A/C”
 of 5 bubbles robfets, Sep 4, 2016 | Read review
“Views of Placee de la Jaude are great - from the fourth floor rooms there's less noise from the cafes below.”
 of 5 bubbles mallorcafan, Mar 2, 2016 | Read review
“Accessibility and great value. Great location”
 of 5 bubbles eilishlant, Jan 6, 2016 | Read review
“Do you want quiet or a view? Front for view, back for quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles GGGGGGGGGGGGGGX, Oct 19, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay