We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Continental by HappyCulture

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

738 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 325: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a very well located hotel within the pedestrianised area of Bordeaux, as such it is within walking distance to all the major attractions; even the Cite du Vin is about 40 minutes away. The rooms are of a reasonable size, as were the bathrooms; everything was neat and clean. The staff members are genuinely helpful and friendly. Every... More 

Helpful?
Thank sus67
Claygate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Just returned from three amazing days in Bordeaux. So glad we stayed in this very comfortable hotel. Perfectly located in the heart of this beautiful City. Up graded to a suite, which was a plus! Staff friendly, loved the wine and cheese between 6 and 8 pm, easy to find and park car. Breakfast was a bit basic, but all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanna J
Valérie B, Responsable réception at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Joanna, We thank you for your commentary about our hotel. We are happy to read that you've enjoyed your stay, it is a real pleasure for us when our guests having a good time in Bordeaux. We hope to have the great pleasure to welcoming again in our city. Corinne More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The best aspect of this hotel is the location: it is on a side street off of Cours de l' Intendance which is the B tram line. Central Bordeaux is virtually car free, so street noise is not too much of an issue; some rooms face the street which might have cafe noise in the evening. My room, #107, faced... More 

Helpful?
Thank sallyforth60
Valérie B, Responsable réception at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. First of all, we would like to express our sincere apologies for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience you had and... More 

Bracknell
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Small, friendly, basic hotel located just 5-10 minutes walk from most of the highlights of Bordeaux. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but there are dozens of nice restaurants on Rue St Remi which is an easy ten minute walk from the hotel. ( we had a wonderful meal at Le Bistrot, 40 Rue St Remi ).

Helpful?
Thank David O
conti33, Responsable réception at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in Bordeaux. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you here again for your next stay. Thank you for your kind words. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Corinne More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was tiny, but made only slightly smaller than the bathroom which was in need of paint and a clean. Breakfast was simple, European style but more of a canteen. Wine and cheese were served in the evening which was a good touch. The staff were helpful and certainly made up for a very average hotel.

Helpful?
Thank stephenaitchison
conti33, Responsable réception at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, Many thanks for your comments. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay in Bordeaux and appreciate all the services we propose especially our daily Happytime Cheese & Wine. Your very kind compliments will be shared with the staff who will appreciate. Looking forward to welcoming again for another stay in Bordeaux in our hotel. Corinne More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent location, lovely staff, clean, tidy and some lovely extras - like free cheese and wine every night between 18:00 and 20:00! Downside is that the rooms are quite small, however they are more than adequate for a few days city break. Great little restaurant right next door (5th Ave Bistro) and one of Bordeaux finest 'gastronomic' restaurants 50 metres... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
conti33, Responsable réception at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Alan, Thank you for the kind commentary of the hotel. We are happy that you were satisfied with our Happytime wine & cheese tasting, with our breakfast and the very central location of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Continental the next time you visit Bordeaux. Corinne More 

London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel Continental is located near the Grandes Hommes area of Bordeaux, which is a rather smart shopping district. The staff are completely helpful and give excellent hospitality and are obviously well trained. Our double room was bijou and well equipped with a very comfortable bed. We didn't need the air conditioning but it worked well. The bathroom was shower-only... More 

Helpful?
Thank MustBe
conti33, Responsable réception at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this review

We thank you wholeheartedly for your kind review of our hotel and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Bordeaux in the future. Corinne More 

Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. Easy to walk everywhere. Close to supermarket. Ancient lift which got us up and down avoiding sweeping stairs. Very well air conditioned room. Bathroom worked but was a bit tired. Wine and cheese served every evening between 6.00 and 8.00 pm. A very comfortable, pleasant stay.

Helpful?
Thank Di A
conti33, Responsable réception at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this review

We thank you for the trust you have shown us in choosing our hotel for your stay in Bordeaux, and we are happy that you have enjoyed location and services especially our Happytime Cheeses & Wines. Thank you also for your warm commentary, we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in Bordeaux . Corinne More 

Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You couldn't get more central than this hotel and for the price I'm not complaining, however its a bit tired and run down. Breakfast was OK but there was always a queue for the coffee machine. Our bathroom was a bit of a cramped relic but it did have a decent shower. We stayed two nights before going on to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Towcestersaint
conti33, Responsable réception at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your feed back about our hotel and his services. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you again for the trust you have shown to us choosing our hotel. We hope to have the great pleasure to welcoming you again a next time in Bordeaux. Corinne More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As you, the first thing I made before travelling in Bordeaux is come to read the your advices of this very well located hotel. But this hotel don't deserved 1, 2 or 3... We stayed in real 5/5. From the arrival we were welcomed by a smiling man, who makes our checkin in 3 movements and with a communicative smile... More 

Helpful?
Thank Guillaume D
conti33, Responsable réception at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in Bordeaux. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you here again for your next stay. Thank you for your very kind words ! Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Corinne More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

339 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (188)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Triple Room (43)
Viewed
Twin Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.2 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 172 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#2 of 172 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#11 of 172 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Golden Triangle, cultural and historical center of Bordeaux, the Continental is a legendary hotel in the Gironde. A few steps from the major brands, discover this sublime boutique hotel for your stay in Bordeaux. Every day, discover our HappyTime "Regional Aperitif" from 6pm to 8pm, you are our guests ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Continental by HappyCulture

Address: 10 rue Montesquieu, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Price Range: $98 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Continental by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Bordeaux
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay