We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Chateau de Pourtales

Traveler (212)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (4)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#12 of 135 hotels in Strasbourg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Château de Pourtalès is located in the north area of Strasbourg. It has witnessed over 250 years of European history welcoming some of the most important musicians, philosophers and poets. Today, the Château continues to offer its hospitality to guests from all over the world. Opened in 2009, the hotel offers 28 hotel rooms equipped with modern facilities. The rooms are located in the château or the annex. The hotel also provides a spa area with Finnish sauna and relaxing facilities as well as direct access to the garden. The Château de Pourtàles is surrounded by gardens and parks: the ideal location to relax and enjoy the natural environment.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Charming
447Reviews
8Q+A
15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 232
  • 151
  • 45
  • 13
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
If you prefer gorgeous settings, quiet evenings, walks in a park and forest, and away from the city noise you will enjoy staying here. No complaints. This is not easy to access so you’ll need a car, taxi driver, or a 15 minute walk from the closest bus stop.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Charlotte W, Receptionist at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this simple and nice presentation of the Hotel Château de Pourtalès. We are delighted that you enjoyed the setting and the calm just a few minutes from downtown. By walk or by bicycles, many walks are possible from the park of Pourtalès to discover the hidden works of art to the Wantzenau forest and its natural reserve, passing by riverbanks of the Rhine. That true there is not yet a bus station less than 10 minutes by walk but the walk is quite pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back, Charlotte Wild
Read more
The Hotel is old and has an abundance of character. We were visiting from USA in Aug of 2018 and it was extremely hot. There was no air-conditioning and the upper romm we were in was very uncomfortable even with a fan in the room. Overall neat and clean with modern bathroom.
Read more
Response from Charlotte W, Receptionist at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded Mar 19, 2019
Dear Jim, Thank you for taking the time to share a comment. We are enjoyed to read that you appreciated the character and history of the Château de Pourtalès and also the modernity of the facilities such as our bathrooms. We regret so much that the only negative point of your stay was the air conditioning. But we have a good new; the hotel is expanding from the autumn 2019. We will offer 20 additional rooms in a brand new building built next to the Castle with the air conditioning and a lift! We look forward to welcoming you again at the inauguration, Charlotte Wild and Chateau de Pourtalès Team
Read more
We had booked in the nearby chalet of the hotel, but my grandson was so disappointed not to sleep in a haunted castle room that the friendly people at the reception upgraded us for a night in the castle itself. Nice large room with old furniture and a grandioos view of the park.
Read more
Response from Charlotte W, Receptionist at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded Nov 26, 2018
Dear Leon, thank you so much for taking the time to share a comment! We are delighted that your grandson and you have had a nice stay at Château de Pourtalès and we are enjoyed to read your kind words to our team, we are happy to have been up to your expectations. Thank you for not revealed if you have really see ghosts :) We hope that we will welcome you again during a next trip in Alsace!
Read more
It really is a chateau, folks. It really is set in a beautiful park and it really is an easy fifteen minutes from a near-by park-and-ride into Strasbourg by tram. A spa is included in the price. It is a bargain. As experienced but budget-conscious world travelers, we
Read more
Response from Charlotte W, Receptionist at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded Nov 9, 2018
Dear Elizabeth, thank you so much for taking the time to recommend our propety. The satisfaction of our guests is very important to us and we are very happy to read your comment. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our wellness area and that you have fully enjoyed from Strasbourg and its historic center using the park & ride. We hope to welcome you again at Château de Pourtalès.
Read more
Room comfortable, but hotel is not well staffed and spa facility effectively unavailable. Remote location and no restaurant at hotel. Self service bar/lounge area. Reception closed on arrival and departure and had to wait for staff to arrive. Overpriced.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Charlotte W, Receptionist at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded Oct 30, 2018
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing the Château de Pourtalès for your stay in Strasbourg and for taking the time to share a comment. We are so committed to the satisfaction and the wellness of our guests that's why we regret to read that your stay did not give you complete satisfaction and that our location in the beautiful Park of Pourtalès at just 5 kilometers from the historic center of Strasbourg has not been to your liking. It would seem that you have arrived after the closing of the reception. Our reception is open from 7am to 10pm on weekdays and from 7.30am to 10 pm on weekends, our opening hours are available on all our websites and booking confirmations. In case of late arrival we always contact our guests to provide them the necessary information and respond their possible questions. In case of problems, we have an emergency number and our team is ready to help you. With the build of our new building and its 20 rooms which will end in autumn 2019, we plan to open the reception 24/24 in order to be able to respond at any time to the wishes of our guests. Our SPA is open every day from 3pm to 9pm. And on request we do our best for open the SPA at other times. Regarding your departure we regret that you had to wait a moment at the reception before the arrival of our receptionist, we are convinced that she was simply already busy meeting the needs of one of our guests. We hope you will give us a second chance to welcome you and hope that you will have the time to fully enjoy the Château de Pourtalès and its park!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$106 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceGrand EstBas-RhinStrasbourg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing