We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 441: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We had our wedding breakfast and reception last Saturday the best day ever!! We had family and friends from all over so we needed a nice hotel. Everyone enjoyed their stay and commented how lovely the food was. The staff are excellent, friendly and can not do enough for you. If your having an event the event co coordinator is... More 

Helpful?
Thank jojoatkinson3103
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I attended the Waterside on a Saturday evening for a 60th birthday party. The event was booked for up to 150 people and yet the management saw fit to have only 2 members of staff serving at the bar. At times there were no staff whatsoever as they frequently disappeared into the back. People had to wait over half an... More 

Helpful?
Thank NotSeamusFinn
Chris H, Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear NotSeamusFinn, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I have investigated your comments with the teams and manager who was working the particular night. In review I can confirm that the bar downstairs does convert to a residents bar at 22:30 each night, and at this point the bar does convert to a... More 

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Located in Didsbury, is a nice place where you can swim and enjoy the spa facilities (which right now are a bit poor and old). They will soon start refurbishing the spa and for sure it'll be worthy to try. Lots of parking spaces. Staff is nice. Try it

Helpful?
Thank TeTeX
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear TeTeX, Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. As you quite rightly mentioned we will be refurbishing the spa area very soon and we are all looking forward to the results. We hope you do return to see what we have created. Regards Chris More 

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I needed an overnight stay on a business trip and booked this on a whim. It's really lovely and I wish I'd brought my swimming costume! The room was compact but beautiful decorated and well thought out. Great TV, free wifi, lovely shower room and a comfortable bed. The bar food was excellent (smoked haddock) and the Czech Pilsner wondrous.... More 

Helpful?
Thank simongK7499QX
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear simongK7499QX, Thank you for your kind words on this review. I will certainly pass your comments onto all the staff involved. We will look forward in welcoming you back to the Waterside in the near future. Regards Chris More 

Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel for 2 Weekends as i had some courses going on and it was just easier for me to stay there. On my first weekend on arrival i got checked in and all seemed absolutely fine. Got to my room which was very clean but the size considering the prize was tiny. Anyway in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank j8a9i98
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rom is perfectly acceptable but its location certainly isn't. It's next to the room where discos are held and there is a wedding party on. The night porter (there is no night manager) tells me it will finish at 1am - it's now nearly midnight, only one hour to go. No one warned me about this when I arrived.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edith P
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Edith P, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am sorry your stay wasn't as you expected but we are a wedding venue and as such may have weddings on. I am sorry that your nights sleep wasn't as peaceful as you probably would have liked. If you wish to contact me... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Small rooms but brilliant stay. Food was top notch customer service was great. Nice and quiet. train station 5min walk for access to manchester city centre. Again a 5min walk and youv got a range of food places cinema, bowling, or casino. Would recommend and stay again

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan R
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Siobhan R Thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Chris More 

Uckfield, East Sussex
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

We spent 3 night here on a visit to family nearby. The room was very nice with everything you could want, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing board and iron, very thick, large and fluffy towels in the bathroom and the pressure on the shower was very good so absolutely no complaints there. Breakfast was excellent, very good choice, one of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank gillymadam
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear gillymadam Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor, I was really pleased to read your comments. We are really pleased with our newly refurbished bedrooms and am glad that you were pleased too. I will look forward in welcoming you back to us in the future. Regards Chris More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

Booked night away with wife and thought I had hit jackpot when booked this hotel for only £60. How wrong was I. No complaints about staff as they all very helpful and friendly. Given room 317 clean but very small, as my wife said it will be like sleeping in a caravan. Bed only queen size I'm about 6 foot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip G
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Philip G, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you though the rooms were small, unfortunately this is the design of the building, I noticed you have booked with one of our online travel agents. The descriptions of the travel agents are clear in what you receive with the rooms and we... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

When i finally found it (grrrr sat navs) boy was i suprised... Beautiuil gardens , ample parking space, though busy with the leisure centre patrons still lots of parking. I arrived on a Sunday afternoon to a smiling face and a warm welcome.....Hotel desk shares with the leisure facilities which I was informed are at my disposal while I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank JonnietheCap
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear JonnietheCap, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it was such a pleasure to read your comments, I will certainly pass your comments on to the teams involved. Once again thank you for the positive review and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Chris More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

156 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (146)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
Chancellors Hotel
#71 of 118 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#19 of 118 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Didsbury House
#10 of 118 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in 8 acres of landscaped gardens on the banks of the River Mersey, The Waterside Hotel is just 10 minutes from Manchester Airport. There is a restaurant, leisure centre and free Wi-Fi.The comfortable rooms at Waterside each have a private bathroom, tea and coffee facilities and a flat-screen TV with Freeview. There is also free parking and a 24-hour front desk.Guests have use of the newly refurbished Leisure Club, which features a 25-metre swimming pool, hot tubs, saunas, steam rooms and a gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Wilmslow Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 5WZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $80 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel And Galleon Leisure Club
The Galleon Hotel Leisure
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay