We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 435: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Small rooms but brilliant stay. Food was top notch customer service was great. Nice and quiet. train station 5min walk for access to manchester city centre. Again a 5min walk and youv got a range of food places cinema, bowling, or casino. Would recommend and stay again

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan R
Uckfield, East Sussex
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 3 night here on a visit to family nearby. The room was very nice with everything you could want, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing board and iron, very thick, large and fluffy towels in the bathroom and the pressure on the shower was very good so absolutely no complaints there. Breakfast was excellent, very good choice, one of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank gillymadam
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear gillymadam Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor, I was really pleased to read your comments. We are really pleased with our newly refurbished bedrooms and am glad that you were pleased too. I will look forward in welcoming you back to us in the future. Regards Chris More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked night away with wife and thought I had hit jackpot when booked this hotel for only £60. How wrong was I. No complaints about staff as they all very helpful and friendly. Given room 317 clean but very small, as my wife said it will be like sleeping in a caravan. Bed only queen size I'm about 6 foot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip G
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Philip G, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you though the rooms were small, unfortunately this is the design of the building, I noticed you have booked with one of our online travel agents. The descriptions of the travel agents are clear in what you receive with the rooms and we... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When i finally found it (grrrr sat navs) boy was i suprised... Beautiuil gardens , ample parking space, though busy with the leisure centre patrons still lots of parking. I arrived on a Sunday afternoon to a smiling face and a warm welcome.....Hotel desk shares with the leisure facilities which I was informed are at my disposal while I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank JonnietheCap
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear JonnietheCap, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it was such a pleasure to read your comments, I will certainly pass your comments on to the teams involved. Once again thank you for the positive review and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Chris More 

Ohain, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is set in pleasant grounds. The use of the swimming pool is great as the pool and spa area are very good. However, the bedrooms are too small and cramped. We booked a king size bed and got a dpuble bed which they call king. The rooms are suitable for one person, but uncomfortable for two people. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank KathyW99999
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear KathyW99999, Thank you for writing a response on Trip Advisor. Firstly thank you for the comments regarding the grounds and the pool area. I am sorry to hear you thought our rooms were too small, unfortunately this is something that is beyond our control due to the design of the building. I really do hope you will choose to... More 

Attenborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here 27th June late- staff were efficient and friendly- in our room within four minutes! Refurbished King Room- lovely and modern. Plenty of room - we are only sleeping there after all! The swimming pool and gym are excellent and make the reasonably priced room a bargain. Missed breakfast as spent too long in the pool. Impressed by this... More 

Helpful?
Thank MikenSmudge
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear MikenSmudge, Thank you for your kind and positive words on Trip Advisor. I am really pleased your enjoyed your stay with us. I will look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the future. Regards Chris More 

Daventry
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed there as a family, my husband was working, my brother in law, my daughter and me were accompanying him. Positive points:The hotel looks very nice,the pool is fantastic, the manager is agreeable, good location for people working near Stockport. Negative points: Only 2 staff to attend around 10 guests and food took around 45 minutes in the morning... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandra D
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Alejandra D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Firstly let me apologies for any inconvenience during your stay with us. I have read and investigated your review above. I am sorry that some of your party got sick but there have been no other reports of sickness from any other guests who... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for work purposes, visited the 'spa' although you can noticeably tell this is under reconstruction, there is mould on the walls and floor with broken tiles and pipes exposed. We stayed there for around 10 minutes before leaving very quickly and going back to our hotel room. The hotel rooms are very small, but have recently been refurbished... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex T
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Alex T Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, firstly let me apologies for any inconvenience during your stay. As you quite rightly said the spa area is due for a refurbishment very soon and will be completed towards the end of this year. As a note we do have rooms available with a bath - these are... More 

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

Tried to book a family room for my husband and his two sons (16 and 24). But were told we would have to book two separate rooms. This would defeat the purpose of the trip which is a rare chance to be together for a golfing trip. A silly, unnecessary rule which makes no sense and means we will go... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 148MandC
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear 148MandC, Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I have reviewed your comments and investigated this with my reception team. The family rooms have a sofa bed so the bed configuration is a king double bed and sofa bed which meant your two sons sharing a bed. The family rooms are great for accommodating 2 adults and 2... More 

Doncaster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Travelled from 80 miles away to stay to attend wedding, booking made months before on booking .com. Arrived to be told booking cancelled and hotel full by rude staff. Booking .com did arrange us another hotel. Reception area roof was leaking all over reception with wet floor tiles.

Helpful?
2 Thank pcwsjm
Chris H, General Manager at Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear pcwsjm Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am really sorry you experienced issues with your booking but sometimes the booking agents do send us booking through when we are full. I am currently working with booking.com to see why this happened and taking steps to ensure it doesn't happen again. I am happy that alternative accommodation... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (143)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.5 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
2.8 mi away
Chancellors Hotel
Chancellors Hotel
#71 of 118 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hallmark Hotel Manchester Willowbank
0.6 mi away
Didsbury House
Didsbury House
#13 of 118 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in 8 acres of landscaped gardens on the banks of the River Mersey, The Waterside Hotel is just 10 minutes from Manchester Airport. There is a restaurant, leisure centre and free Wi-Fi.The comfortable rooms at Waterside each have a private bathroom, tea and coffee facilities and a flat-screen TV with Freeview. There is also free parking and a 24-hour front desk.Guests have use of the newly refurbished Leisure Club, which features a 25-metre swimming pool, hot tubs, saunas, steam rooms and a gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Wilmslow Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 5WZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $80 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel And Galleon Leisure Club
The Galleon Hotel Leisure
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay