We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA Manchester

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Manchester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 282: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice staff. Generally good bedrooms. Kitchen could do with a makeover- cookers tried and worn, general lack of pots etc. Despite this summer's wi-fi upgrade of YHA properties to "the cloud", still couldn't get decent wi-fi in my room (108). Bedrooms overheated - in January! Friday and Saturday nights tend to be very noisy with thoughtless loud guests - nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevan S
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed my stay in Manchester. It is the first time that stayed at the YHA. I was stranded in Manchest er due to some unforeseen circumstance. i could not find a hotel to stay in everything was book and anyway the prices for December were sky high. I was so grateful for the YHA but very apprehensive. To my...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank interjen2000
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is one of the most comfortable cheap hostels I have been to in England. However they charge you for some offers that in others hostels are included, such as breakfast and cloakroom. The place was very clean and well design as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thiago C
Brigg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although the hostel was nice and the staff were polite, and the food was good, our room (6 bed room with toilet) was awful. There was an extremely strong smell of weed in our room even with the window open. The floor had a stick and wet patch on the floor and the toilet was dirty, there was urine stain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amanda2470
Parbold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. I stayed at YhA before flying out the next day and then again on my return. The staff were so friendly and went above and beyond on both visits. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Manchester.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nonstoptraveling1989
Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous place to stay. Really lovely staff and the hostel was nice and clean. Lovely atmosphere the only issue we had we didn't like the bathroom but you get what you pay for but overall would highly recommend if you're just wanting a nice cheap place to say. Thankyou

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daniellecarterx
North Wales
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel for New Year's Eve. We couldn't leave the hotel fast enough What can I say about this hotel?? The room was dirty Dirty sanitary towel under the bed There was horrible muck smeared on the window and the smell from the toilet was actually making us feel a little sick The noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djmarcelbeattie
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The cost of accommodation is what has always prevented us from seeing more of the UK as a family. My husband has an annual guys holiday in youth hostels and suggested we give it a go - great call hubby! Really impressed by this youth hostel. Clean and modern; family room was basic but a perfect base to sleep; staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoelfranklin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

1. YHA membership card didn't gave me discount: Last night i staying YHA manchester, made me Disappointed. because Saturday night will be double price 35£, i got YHA membership card, that reception see my card at first time i arrived for check in , i ask her to extra one more night ,so i paid 35£ on Saturday night ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mi Chi R
Oliver W, General Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

I've noted the comments you've made and am currently in the process of sending a separate response to the same complaint you emailed us. We're still investigating parts of your complain however I can give you a response on a couple of your points at this stage. 1. Apologies we didn't add your membership discount onto the extra night you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 10, 2016

Easily the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in, couldn't fault the bedroom at all. Beds are maybe a little firm but they were very comfortable and exceptionally clean. For the price paid, they were amazing! Room was also far bigger than anticipated, I assumed this was for accessibility as another guest in the dorm used a wheelchair. Big lockers in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeanPhoenix
Oliver W, General Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Wow what a fantastic review, thank you. I've shared your feedback with my team and our housekeepers had the biggest smiles. Shame a snorer let us down a bit. Think we've had one or two recently. Hope to see you again soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#11 of 118 in Manchester
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about YHA Manchester

Address: Potato Wharf | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $23 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Manchester Hotel Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from YHA Manchester staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Manchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for one overlooking the canal”
 of 5 bubbles billyburp, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Ensure you've a group going or don't stay here if you don't like people invading your space.”
 of 5 bubbles laurenswordsx, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“choose en suite if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles teessidecouple, Sep 5, 2016 | Read review
“Corridor doors bang loudly and only one thin pillow per bed”
 of 5 bubbles 382garryd, Apr 9, 2016 | Read review
“Room on canal side.”
 of 5 bubbles 58Grannie, Oct 19, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay