We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malmaison Manchester

Save
Share
1-3 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ England
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (953)
Room & Suite (373)
Dining (78)

About

#42 of 130 hotels in Manchester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Transformed from an elegant 19th century warehouse, Malmaison Manchester is one of the most stylish hotels in Manchester's city centre. Consisting of 167 luxury rooms and 13 suites, our Manchester hotel has everything you need for a fantastic city break or business trip, including comfy beds, super-fast Wi-Fi and en-suite bathrooms with baths and power showers. We're just a stone's throw from King Street and St Ann's Square, not to mention two fairly famous football clubs… Our Chez Mal Brasserie is at the heart of the action, where you can order locally sourced and inspired dishes including smoked steaks and delicate, flavoursome fresh fish. Sit back and soak up the atmosphere with a glass of wine or ice cold beer in this red leather-and-neon styled brasserie. Whether it's business, pleasure or sport that brings you to Manchester, you'll be drawn back time and again to the incredibly comfy beds and cool, relaxed atmosphere of our Manchester hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
City View
Languages Spoken
English
3253Reviews47Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,382
  • 1,028
  • 487
  • 216
  • 140
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
rugia wrote a review Jun 7
Luton, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Disappointed in my stay here. Went back for the second time with our newborn this time, as we had loved the first time. Someone's hair extension found on the floor was disgusting, a clean room is the bare minimum expected in a hotel ! Will not be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
MrsB0303 wrote a review Jun 1
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom43 contributions38 helpful votes
Staff were all lovely and very helpful throughout our 2 night stay. The room was an average size and reasonably clean however it did give the impression that it had not been updated for some time. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. We didn't eat in the restaurant. We were told that due to Covid the room would not be refreshed during our visit so we were a little surprised to find that someone had been in to the room and made the beds whilst we were out during the day. Whilst we had no issues and had a comfortable nights sleep I have to be honest and say that there was little difference in quality between the Malmaison and a Premier Inn, I guess our expectation was that it would be a little nicer.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
carodalone wrote a review May 2021
Sheffield, United Kingdom57 contributions52 helpful votes
Chose Malmaison because of previous good experiences in their hotels but was disappointed for 2 reasons. Both were resolved but having to complain always marrs an experience. Booked a Club room but the room we were given was very disappointing. It was cell like with a small window and the bed cramped between 2 walls. Also had requested walkin shower but it was over the bath. On asking to be moved was told room was an upgrade to a Deluxe Club room which was surprising. I'm glad I hadn't paid extra for it. We were moved to what appeared to be either a club or standard room as it it was just a bedroom but was bigger. On looking on the site again Club rooms are in the old part and Deluxe in the new. Wouldn't recommend a room in the new part. The 2nd disappointment was breakfast. Even taking into account they were short staffed the service was non existent & we ended up not having breakfast. Apart from bringing coffee for over half an hour no one came to take our order. We asked a waitress who said she didn't take orders but asked what we wanted and brought us more coffee. Then, along with an apology, we were asked for our order but after waiting another 20 mins there was still no sign of any food even though people who had come in later were getting served so we left. We complained at reception and were given a refund. And a minor point what have Malmaison got against butter? Flora doesn't cut it!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Asked for a room at the front in the old building.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
KKG wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel cleanliness and the customer service at this hotel was absolutely shocking, especially for a hotel of this standard. The first room we were given had fresh wet stains on the bed, dusty surfaces and the carpet was dirty and pulled up in the corners. I informed reception to which they apologised and gave us another room which took about 20 mins for them to “check whether the new room was clean”. When moving to our new we weren’t escorted by Donna (hotel manager) to make sure we were comfortable in the new room. As we entered the new room, again the state of the room was not what is to be expected and if not worse than the first room. It was definitely dated despite it being a ‘deluxe’ room. The bed sheets had visible stains again of what could’ve been make up and the bathroom tiles by the toilet had fresh stains all over it. When we tried to call reception again but the phone in the room was dead so we had to go back down to reception to inform them of the unclean environment and how we would not feel comfortable staying in it for two nights. Donna then made us feel uncomfortable by claiming we were knit-picking (despite us being absolutely shattered after a 4 hour drive and having a dinner reservation booked that needed to be moved back due to the hotel incompetence). Donna mocked and said she would “get on her hands and knees to scrub the stains off the tiles” and suggested to give us a refund as there “would be no room up to our standard” and we should look elsewhere basically implying that no rooms in the hotel were clean enough (and didn’t have bed linen stains) and we should go somewhere that was clean. This left us no choice but to take the refund and go to the Doubletree Hotel across the road for our stay. I do not recommend this hotel and I will not be staying at a Malmaison hotel again. The Doubletree customer service was exceptional and made sure we were comfortable from the offset. The rooms were also spotless to which you would expect during a pandemic!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Philip Newmarch, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your second review, I have responded via Booking.com also, I’m so sorry I could not see you myself, as I explained it was Emily Deputy General Manager, who visited you. The wet stains are due to our misting machine which is used to clean and sanitize your bedroom. I assure you their was no mocking at all, she was just trying to assist. I’m aware you decided to leave and stay at the near by Hilton and I’m please you had a good evening. I only wish you had contact me directly before the 2 rather scathing reviews my team is working so hard in difficult times and we value the guest support that we have received. I hope you return and give the Mal we love another chance.
Read more
FellowTraveler558776 wrote a review May 2021
Venice, Italy2 contributions2 helpful votes
Well what an amazing weekend thanks to the staff who went above and beyond so friendly clean amazing atmosphere and want to say a huge thankyou to Emily who worked Saturday night credit to the team at mal Manchester 😀my third time staying and will be back soon
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Philip Newmarch, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your amazing kind review.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$94 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
malmaison manchester hotel manchester, malmaison hotel manchester, manchester malmaison hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGreater ManchesterManchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
167
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Malmaison Manchester
Which popular attractions are close to Malmaison Manchester?
Nearby attractions include Virtual Hideout Manchester (0.3 miles), Lockin Real Escape (0.3 miles), and Greater Manchester Police Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Malmaison Manchester?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Malmaison Manchester?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Malmaison Manchester?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Malmaison Manchester?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Malmaison Manchester?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dakota Bar & Grill, Teppanyaki Chinatown, and Turtle Bay - Manchester Northern Quarter.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Malmaison Manchester?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Malmaison Manchester located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Manchester.
Are any cleaning services offered at Malmaison Manchester?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Malmaison Manchester offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Malmaison Manchester?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Clayton Hall Museum (2.2 miles), Ordsall Hall (1.9 miles), and Victoria Baths (1.5 miles).