We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Townhouse Hotel Manchester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,566: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2015

Spent a night in Manchester on business - arrived late - Great Western is an anagram for "diverted me to Swansea" - Macdonald Townhouse staff were polite, attraactive, efficient and the room was confortable, neat, clean - a welcome relax after the travel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver C
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear Oliver C I'm glad you were able to enjoy your time in Manchester (once you manged to get here) and that we contributed in such a positive manner to your stay. It's always good to hear positive comments regarding our staff as the team here really do work hard in order to look after guests. Ryan Crout Operations Manager

Halifax UK
Reviewed August 20, 2015

The hotel is very nice, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was spot on. Overall I would recommend this hotel although it can be a little noisy from the goings on outside during the night. We stayed in a top floor room which was lovely but I don't think it was double glazed so we heard every siren, bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeTHalifax
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear MikeTHalifax Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Manchester and we do as ever appreciate your feedback. The only trade off we have with our excellent location is that we will always be exposed to a certain element of ambient city noise and it is unfortunate this disrupted your stay. On a more positive...

Dublin
Reviewed August 20, 2015

Location is ideal for exploring Manchester city centre and close walking distance to spinningfields and the coronoation street tour. Room was comfortable but the shower was terrible. It would go from freezing cold to boiling hot and then the water pressure would go so low that there was no water at all. We were a bit disappointed that the issues...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynchp5
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear lynchp5 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Macdonald Townhouse Hotel. It is unfortunate we were unable to rectify the issues you raised during your initial stay with us, however our maintenance team have since been able to rectify the issues within your room. On a more positive note I...

London
Reviewed August 18, 2015

Stayed here on a business trip. Second time here- very comfortable rooms, good choice at breakfast, and for evening meal. Liked the Scottish Lavender shower gels and soaps. Only thing missing is a pool!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear Helen G Thank you for choosing to stay with us again while in Manchester. I'm glad that you enjoyed the food offering within the hotel - we all take great pride in the offering and i will make sure chef is made aware of the positive comments. Sadly you are correct - we have no pool, being a listed...

Middlesbrough
Reviewed August 18, 2015

This hotel centred in the city centre lacked life, personality and at the beginning a very unwelcoming receptionist. Room was tired, shower was adequate but door needed replacing. Carpets in room were very stained and wallpaper scuffed and scratched. Poor

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenam185
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear helenam185 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I've been able to look into your booking further and identify the two rooms you occupied during your time with us and as such we have already been able to rectify any maintenance issues within them. I'll also be sure to look into the staff interaction not being...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 17, 2015

Very pleasant stay for my birthday weekend. The staff were brilliant and the rooms were very clean, smart and the bed was extremely comfortable which is a rarity with my bad back. Will certainly recommend to friends & family.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmapB7454HR
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear emmapB7454HR It goes without saying that we are grateful for the brilliant review. The best barometer of a successful stay is whether guests would feel confident in recommending us as a hotel of use for other friends and family so i'm really pleased we passed with flying colours. The other great highlight is that of the impact of the...

York
Reviewed August 17, 2015

Lovely hotel in good location, with very friendly and helpful staff. We did stay on a Saturday night so it was noisy outside but this is not the hotels fault and did not really affect our sleep. We would return as enjoyed our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 232gavins
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear 232gavins Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, Manchester on a Saturday night can be very vibrant! As such having such a central location can mean that there will be an element of ambient noise attached to the eclectic night life. We would always advise guests to contact reception (we are manned 24hrs) in order...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 17, 2015

Great value for money. Ideal location. Lovely hotel. Reception staff very welcoming. Brilliant room, excellent size. Bed very comfortable. Lovely breakfast with great variety. Not far from train & metro links

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank laura p
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear laura p Thank you for the great review - needless to say i couldn't agree more with all you've addressed. As ever the most pleasing aspect to your review is the contribution the staff within the hotel made as part of your stay. Ryan Crout Operations Manager

Birmingham
Reviewed August 17, 2015

Good location for going out at night but rubbish room given (disabled room) with a shower drain that kept overflowing. Room was on second floor and overlooking the street which could be quite noisy. Pleasant staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank frank794
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear Mr Mertens Thank you for the review though it is unfortunate we were unable to deliver on the service level expected. Having looked into your booking it seems as though you booked one of our accessible rooms and as such we simply honoured the booking request. We have also been able to rectify the blocked drain issue within the...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

Trying to think of reasons why I can't rate this hotel higher than 'average' - and it's hard to be specific. There's just nothing amazing about this hotel. And given the price we paid (over £150 for a one night stay), I think I'd expected something with a bit more 'wow'. It's a converted older building - which they seem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ste_Jay2012
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear Ste_Jay2012 Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us. It is unfortunate you were unable to experience the same levels of enjoyment the vast majority of our other guests so regularly do. In fairness we don't use the age of the building as an excuse for the layout of the rooms - we embrace it! Having rooms...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

593 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (217)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (91)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (348)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (48)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (59)
Viewed
Feature Double Room (55)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Suite (70)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
2,397 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $97 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Townhouse Hotel Manchester staff and other travelers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Chester, United Kingdom

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Townhouse Hotel Manchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Pay for an upgraded room”
missymlincolnshire, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“4th Floor, overlooking Princess St, Room 403”
robertwM5424IE, Mar 17, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a top level room”
alwynpreston, Jan 16, 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors, at the rear of the hotel for maximum quiet.”
Warhead, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“As far from the main road as possible”
gwernymynydd2, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question