We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC Oxford Road

Save
Share
2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (310)
Room & Suite (76)
Dining (12)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC Oxford Road
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#68 of 130 hotels in Manchester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Telephone
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
182Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
56Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1405Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 406
  • 553
  • 278
  • 89
  • 79
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Catherine F wrote a review Jun 6
High Wycombe, United Kingdom213 contributions27 helpful votes
I booked two rooms for two nights here for a family visit at the beginning of June. I was aware of the Covid restrictions etc but I do not think this hotel is very well set up for operating in the current climate. I will say it is in a good position in Manchester. I had asked for two rooms on the same floor if possible: this was apparently not possible since we were floors apart (which, given we both had interconnecting doors in our rooms, seemed a bit ridiculous). Check in was slow even though I was the only person waiting to be checked in. The receptionist seemed disinterested and bored. We went to our rooms, mine was configured to have a spare bed for my son. This was right in front of the (very dirty!) window and had a fine view of the railway line... the trains weren’t as noisy as I feared but we could still hear them. The room was clean and the bathroom had a great shower. Unfortunately when I got out the shower before we went out to dinner I realised there was no hairdryer in the room! I had to go to my daughters’ room on another floor to dry my hair, then go back to my room to finish getting ready. I tried to call reception to ask for a hairdryer but no one answered. When we were going out I went to reception to explain the lack of a hairdryer and was told that one would be put in the room while we were out. When we returned just before midnight there was still no hairdryer. I went to reception to ask for one (again). There was a suggestion we were going to have to change rooms (at midnight!!!!) when I said I wasn’t willing to try and get one in the morning as we had an early start. A hairdryer eventually appeared at 12.30am. In the morning I realised we only had 2 tea bags. This isn’t really an issue if rooms are being made up as it gets replenished, but rooms aren’t made up at the moment so we had basically been given 2 tea bags for 2 nights! They were available from the reception but that to me increases unnecessary contacts: just put plenty in to start with! Breakfast was a “grab and go” affair and was very basic indeed. On Friday there was no cereal, no muffins and only a few croissants. On Saturday the croissants had run out although there was cereal. I don’t think it was being replenished sufficiently. There was a lot of noise from other rooms (which I realise isn’t the hotel’s fault) but I do think some extra soundproofing would be good. We could hear the tv of the room that interconnected to ours. There are only 2 lifts which you can’t use if you are more than one family - taking the stairs became a quicker option but would be difficult for someone with less mobility and was a pain with luggage. Car parking is available nearby and is meant to be at a reduced rate. The machines didn’t work and on the app the Holiday Inn rate wasn’t available. It’s also in a less salubrious area if you return late in the evening (as we did on Friday night). It ended up costing me £30 to park for 2 days; add that to just under £300 for 2 rooms, with the issues we had, and it genuinely isn’t good value for money. We stay in Manchester often as I have family in the area but we definitely won’t use this hotel again, I was very disappointed for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Check for a hairdryer before you get in the shower!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Gary L wrote a review Jun 4
Le Blanc-Mesnil, France6 contributions5 helpful votes
Immediately when entering our room we noticed the smell. A stuffy, damp and dirty odour that seemed to stick to everything. So much so that I had to shower when I got home to wash off the smell. They treat you like children - the air con systems are centrally managed so every time you need a change you have to speak to them. After the air con was switched on it didn’t help the smell. When we checked out a man in front of us was seeking to change his room due to the same issue. I can only assume all of the rooms smell damp due to poor ventilation. We stayed one night and don’t get me wrong it was cheap, But I expect a hotel to be habitable whatever the price and this hotel wasn’t. One positive is that the staff were friendly and listened.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
langelinie wrote a review May 2021
Copenhagen, Denmark15 contributions39 helpful votes
First impressions. Located in an edgy part of the city, front entrance strewn with cigarette ends. Once inside, after waiting for the intercom to be answered), hotel looks worn out and sad. First room air conditioning did not work so had to change rooms. Hotel corridors smell of weed. Second room air-conditioning working but room did not smell clean or fresh, not reassuring despite the IHG Covid clean promise. Kettle had odd stain on handle (yuk) and worst of all the tiles in the bathroom were missing grouting. I found this out when exiting shower and a tile tipped up, thank god I did not break a leg! Hotel room looking generally worn out and tired. Reported issues to hotel staff but when I returned to hotel later the next day, the room had not been cleaned, the kettle still had disgusting stain and bathroom flooring still dangerous. The hotel had an opportunity to recover the situation but did not. I was supposed to be staying for 4 nights but I checked out after two. A very shabby property that needs it's standards improving. As an IHG Spire member, I would have expected a little more concern from the hotel and some effort to resolve the problems.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC Oxford Road
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi langelinie, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write us a review. I'm sorry to read about the issues encountered during your stay particularly with the unusual smell in the common areas, upkeep of the rooms received, the air conditioning unit, and the service provided by our staff. We always aim to meet your expectations, if not exceed them. We appreciate you letting us know about your experience. Rest assured that I have shared your comments with the hotel management, and I am certain that appropriate steps will be taken so this doesn't happen again. I also sent you a private message to further reach out to you and obtain more details. We value your business as an IHG® Rewards Spire Elite member. We hope you give us another try and to serve you better when you travel back to the area! Many thanks, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
JNicholson wrote a review Apr 2021
Motherwell, United Kingdom12 contributions10 helpful votes
First impressions was not sure as there is no visible main entrance. You enter via door off Main Street. Next to the smokers and discarded cig ends. Gain access by buzzing reception and heading downstairs. Immediately when you enter there is a sense of cleanliness and calm. Friendly reception staff make process easy and Covid paperwork completed. You must register your vehicle on machine at desk to receive discounted price if you use linked car park. Handy hint NCP car parks have special cheaper 24 hour price if you download their app. Use AutoPay once parked and you must register MANCSAVER in app before travelling. Chester Street 2 minute walk is so close. With saver £6.95. Bargain. Lift and corridors fresh and clean. My OCD cleanliness was calm LOL Rooms clean, shower good. towels perfect. Good bed 4 pillows provided. Tea and coffee provided. Due to Covid breakfast is picnic style brown bag provided to take away. Also hot and cold drinks to go. Latte coffee take away my favourite. Selection reasonable and no complaints. Check out all good. Great value hotel that appears to have an efficient team running it. Stayed twice in the last few months and no hesitation in booking again for next business trip in two weeks. Credit to all the staff. Only request would be for alcohol gel in lifts for use after pressing buttons. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mia wrote a review Feb 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom7 contributions8 helpful votes
I booked online to stay in the hotel ( hotel is a compliment) I went there around 10 pm to check in. There was an Indian or Pakistani man in the reception he asked my details and he told that I didn’t book there no booking on my name. I told I want to book directly in the reception and suddenly he stared to shout at me with no reason. I told why are being rude he said no I’m not. But he was so rude and unfriendly. I left the place and I went to book in another place. The day after they charge me for my stay so eventually there was a booking on me stay. Never come back
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC Oxford Road
Responded Feb 16, 2021
Hi mia2453, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. We welcome feedback from our valued guests. We would like you to consider our hotel a home away from home. It seems we missed the mark on this day because of the level of service you received at check-in. We make sure that every guest feels cared for and valued, and I am sorry for the encounter. I sent you a private message to ask for your reservation details. Again, thank you for making us aware of your hotel experience. I look forward to your response. Warmest regards, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$79 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express manchester cc-oxford road hotel manchester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGreater ManchesterManchesterChorlton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
147
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC Oxford Road
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC Oxford Road?
Nearby attractions include The Bridgewater Hall (0.3 miles), Home (0.2 miles), and Peveril Of The Peak (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC Oxford Road?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC Oxford Road?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC Oxford Road?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC Oxford Road?
Conveniently located restaurants include One Plus Restaurant, Etci Mehmet Steakhouse, and Sangam Manchester City Centre.
Is Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC Oxford Road located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Manchester.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC Oxford Road?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC Oxford Road?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Clayton Hall Museum (2.6 miles), Ordsall Hall (1.6 miles), and Victoria Baths (1.3 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC Oxford Road accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.