We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion Hotel

Traveler (68)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (2)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#9 of 21 hotels in Doncaster
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
J D Wetherspoon is proud to open the doors of this stunning new hotel. Here at The Red Lion, our 14 rooms boast Freeview television, unlimited free Wi-Fi and tea- and coffee-making facilities. A warm and inviting pub steeped in history makes The Red Lion a perfect stay for business or leisure. Breakfast is available for an additional cost, from 7am, in the adjacent pub. Doncaster is an historic market town with a rich horseracing and railway culture. It was founded by the Romans in 71AD, because of its strategic position on the River Don. Doncaster has now become the heart of a vast metropolitan area, comprising green open spaces, nature reserves, ancient villages and Norman castles. There is something for everyone here, whether a day at the races, a trip to the famous market or a night on the town.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Centrally Located

Location

Full view
92Great for walkers
Grade: 92 out of 100
127Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
33Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
292Reviews
4Q+A
20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 162
  • 84
  • 21
  • 11
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Upon arrival we were greeted by the bar manager who was fantastic at welcoming us and took us up to our room which was a great touch. He explained everything to us and made it clear we could go to him for anything at all. The room itself was lovely and the bathroom was great with a lovely rain shower. All very modern and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the drinks and food at the pub were fantastic, especially the prices! The hotel is ideally located for cheap car parks close by and for all that you need in the Centre of Doncaster. I would highly recommend this hotel. Fab stay! We will return 😃
Read more
Went with my niece for lunch quite busy but service quick. We had vegetable pizza and butter chicken. Pizza could have been hotter.had drinks chardanay and lager was very nice. Have been before would go again.
Read more
Response from G5123LSandyh, Manager at The Red Lion Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your visit with us, I am glad to hear you were pleased overall. Thanks once again for taking the time to review us, we value feedback as it helps us improve for future, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Red Lion soon. Kind Regards The Red Lion Team
Read more
I would not describe this as a hotel. It's very much a pub with some rooms upstairs. The whole set up is focused on the pub, and not the hotel. Unlike other Wetherspoons hotels I have stayed at, this you have to check in at bar. I waited with people at bar to get checked in, and was then told I had to go to end of bar to check in. After 5 minutes somebody turned up, and said didn't have my booking. After he dissapeared for five minutes, he had found my reservation and said I needed to pay, which I was surprised at as it was a non refundable rate booked online. The rooms are upstairs and there is no lift, so glad I didn't have any heavy luggage. I didn't have much confidence that I had only been charged once, and once I got WiFi access, checked my bank account, and indeed I had been charged twice Normally when something goes wrong due to incompetence of staff and lack of training, I would expect a gesture of goodwill, but nothing was offered. Again I had to wait for 5 minutes for somebody trained on hotel issues to get a refund. Unlikely to stay at a Wetherspoons again if I have to deal with poorly trained staff.
Read more
Very good.Great staff couldn’t do enough for you.Lovely room.Very comfortable Excellent food.Although located over the lively pub room was quiet.Easy location to find right in the heart of Doncaster.Highly recommended
Read more
Response from G5123LSandyh, Manager at The Red Lion Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your visit with us, I am glad to hear you found everything to your liking. Thanks once again for taking the time to review us, we value feedback as it helps us improve for future, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Red Lion soon. Kind Regards The Red Lion Team
Read more
Visited Doncaster last Friday with friends and booked into the Red Lion as we were going to the Clam and Cork for lunch on Saturday. The market is just yards from the pub. We were pleasantly surprised, the rooms were clean nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was good the following morning and the pub was getting busy with people eating. There is a nice beer garden in the back but unfortunately the weather did not allow us to sit out. If we were in Doncaster overnight again would definitely stay at the hotel again.
Read more
Response from G5123LSandyh, Manager at The Red Lion Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your visit with us, I am glad to hear you were pleased overall. Hopefully when you stop by next time the weather will be improved enough for you to take advantage of our beer garden. Thanks once again for taking the time to review us, we value feedback as it helps us improve for future, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Red Lion soon. Kind Regards The Red Lion Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$62 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireDoncaster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing