We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 211: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed one night for my friends birthday. This is a lovely hotel and our room was spotless. Breakfast was really good. I would without a doubt stay here again. If you stay at this hotel you are better parking your car first then walk to the hotel as it is in the cemtre, and has no car park.

Helpful?
Thank carol k
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very approachable staff, polite, friendly always making sure you were attended to. The room was small, boutique as they say. However the carpet needed some hoovering as some long, blonde hairs and fluff could easily be seen which some might find offensive. Bathroom was clean. All in all I slept well and would definitely return.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank rosemL3541OA
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tried to attend a Wedding today ,my husband is in a wheelchair could not access actual Wedding or reception afterwards due to the lift to room being so small could not access it ! Not happy we had to go home! The Danum is NOT accessible if you are wheelchair bound. Many years ago it had a decent sized lift,... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrsmanagerUk
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Quality area to eat lots space. Great service. Very relaxing. Superb menu choices and very good quality good. Had breakfast lunch brunch on 3 different day's. Quiet and we'll worth supporting. Highly recommended and will be back.

Helpful?
Thank William H
Pickering, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed for one night , reception staff friendly and efficient . as we had requested a quiet room we were told it would be a lot smaller than the other rooms , not a problem. room was small but clean ish ! the bed was pushed right up against the wall which had fingerprints on , i wonder how hygenic... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy S, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel. Our main kitchen is located on the ground floor next to Anthony's Restaurant, this was a brand new install 18 months ago when we were preparing the building to be relaunched as a Mercure Hotel. The 'old' kitchen on the first... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff on arrival were very friendly, but the room (102) was a disappointment. The carpet was threadbare and the TV was faulty. I was a bit worried about parking but found the civic car park is only a stone's throw away. Breakfast was fine, but no staff to be seen. A queue started to build so I ended up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil C
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil C, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel. My apologies if there was an issue with your TV upon arrival, I trust the team resolved this quickly for you once you had made them aware of the issue. The flooring in your room is actually a carpet tile not... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good sized room, central location about 10 minute walk from Doncaster train station. Breakfast included in the room rate. Room very clean, plenty of soap, shampoo etc in bathroom. We were there on a Saturday night and although there are plenty of pubs and bars the town centre was not too noisy. There are quite a few places to eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill A
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gill A, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had a relaxing and peaceful stay with us, our location is ideal for those wanting to hit the shops, Doncasters award winning Markets or the local nightlife. Thank you again for sharing your experience,... More 

Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for a work commitment, its a very clean modern hotel, free WiFi throughout, the staff were friendly and welcoming. The rooms are of a good quality, the bathroom facilities were good. It's centrally located only 5 mins from the station. The bar has a happy hour between 5-7 which offered a good choice of wine, beer and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex_19751
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alex_19751, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of... More 

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The good bits - the hotel is central and did have a happy hour (5-7) which was great prices! The room was very nice, clean and modern bathroom. Parking was assisted by hotel and the breakfast was lovely! I didn't have any heat issues with shower as I note other reviewers had. Bad bits - car park is close but... More 

Helpful?
Thank RV_MS_12
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RV_MS_12, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel. We are currently looking into the best solution for the damaged marble step, it is an original feature of the hotel, dating back to 1909. Due to the positioning of the damage it is extremely difficult to have it restored, so other... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Faulty Towers avoid in my opinion. Romantic stay after a trip to the races. I will try and be positive about our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful however, the room was dreadful. I expect warmth and running hot water as a basic in an any hotel.....add to boot a fully functioning toilet. The room was also freezing. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane T
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane T, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel. Thank you for your kind comments relating the the team. Please accept my apologies for the issues during your stay, other than the second room you were offered the hotel was at full capacity that night so we had little options... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
0.6 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#11 of 19 in Doncaster
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster (Lakeside) Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#13 of 19 in Doncaster
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel is a mere five minute stroll from Doncaster Train Station and no more than a stone's throw from the Frenchgate Shopping centre, with over 120 stores and Doncasters award-winning markets. Following an extensive refurbishment the hotel offers a modern and contemporary feel. All 62 guest rooms all feature flat-screen TVs with complimentary WIFI and luxurious Hypnos beds. In our Privilege rooms you can enjoy air-conditioning, a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper and mineral water. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel

Address: High Street, Doncaster DN1 1DN, England (Formerly Danum Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Price Range: $55 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danum Hotel Doncaster
Danum Doncaster Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Hotel in centre of town, if you need a quiet room request one on the far side away from the town centre”
 of 5 bubbles 421gilla, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“We had a room on the third floor which was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Carole246810, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“top floor rooms have air con”
 of 5 bubbles matthacks1978, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 263shirleyd, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
“Had a view over Doncaster town square”
 of 5 bubbles stephena487, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay