We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 161: English reviews
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I'm sorry to rate this Average but I was struggling to say it was Very Good and no option in between. We went as a group for lunch mid week. We pre-ordered before arriving. Service was very good with attentive staff who were efficient and friendly. The food though was just okay. However definitely worth mentioning the 33% off the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen W
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Comfy and clean But facilities/beverages for 2 when 3 of us were staying in room. Shower powerful but like a wet room the bathroom gets soaked as water goes everywhere. No space to hang or put toiletries. Lovely full length mirror but tucked in corner with very poor lighting. Lastly it was roasting hot!!!!! All the doors bang so you'll... More 

Helpful?
Thank Youngfamilyholidays
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Youngfamilyholidays, Thank you for sharing your feedback, as a hotel we do not offer triple rooms. Our bedrooms are all designed for double occupancy, with 5 having sofa beds for children. I am unable to investigate fully due to not having your booking details. Please accept my apologies for the area's of your stay you were not entirely satisfied... More 

Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

First time in Doncaster and staying in a Mercure for some time. I had booked a small double room but upon checking in, it was not up to Mercure's usual standard in terms of cleanliness. There was some rubbish in the bathroom left over from the previous guest and damage to the light fitting. However in reporting this to reception... More 

Helpful?
Thank tom5640
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tom5640, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay, I am delighted we would be your hotel of choice should you return to the area. Although the team reacted swiftly to the issues you raised when you first got to your room, our goal is to prevent any such issues arising in the first instance, we will continue to strive... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently refinished. Good size room and bathroom. Some design of layout could be improved but well equipped. Fantastic staff. Good breakfast, kippers cooked to perfect. Cocktail bar has great drinks and fantastic staff. Had evening meal, good choice on menu although it seemed a bit rustic what we had was delicious. A speciality is the Yorkshire burger. Good wines. Again... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adrian L, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay, I was delighted with your comments and pleased to read you made good use of our Anthony's Restaurant and Merchant Cocktail Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Regards Stephen Marriott General Manager More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a week and there were a few hitches with the facilities at first ie TV interference but these were swiftly resolved. I must commend the staff at this hotel. Don't know if it's a Donny thing, but they all went the extra mile in making my stay so comfortable and enjoyable. I must take my hat off... More 

Helpful?
Thank Weightmans
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Weightmans, Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I was absolutely delighted with your comments and I know the team members you mentioned will be equally as pleased. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Regards Stephen Marriott General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thankfully we only stayed one night and were out most of the day which made it more bearable but it wasn't the standard I expected for £80/night. On arrival the duvet covers were dirty, the staff kindly changed this for us but this was disappointing. The lift is extremely small so be prepared to take it in turns with your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline123445
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline123445, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I was obviously disappointed to learn there were a couple of issues during your stay, but happy the team rectified these promptly when you made them aware. The building dates back to 1909, so unfortunately the space available for a lift is limited, the lift... More 

Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location if looking for hotel from city center. Hotel must have been renovated quite recently, as it was in good condition. Lobby Restaurant serves decent food for dinner or breakfast. Try Yorkshire budding burger...

Helpful?
Thank Sami L
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sami L, Many thanks for taking a moment to review your recent experience with us. If you are looking to stay in a town centre hotel then the Mercure Doncaster Danum ticks all the right boxes, I am pleased the location was ideal for your needs. Our Yorkshire Burger is very popular, a 7oz burger sandwiched in-between two homemade... More 

Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me, my husband and family friends stayed here for 2 nights back in may for my brother in laws birthday/family reunion, we had quiet a few rooms booked (6 i think it was) check in was easy, we was upgraded and the rooms was really nicely decorated and modern. we loved the strip lights on the headboard :) Some of... More 

Helpful?
Thank andreadavies2016
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andreadavies, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel. We're thrilled you and your group had such a good stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my friend visit here (very) often (cocktail addiction oops) - our last trip was on the night of the new menu launch. We were really looking forward to trying a couple of new cocktails, we were completely spoilt for choice as the menu has literally tripled in size! So many new cocktails and great offers including 2 for... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShelbyLaughton
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ShelbyLaughton, Thanks for your lovely review, absolutely delighted you guys enjoy the Merchant and have become regulars. The team are great and full of innovative ideas to keep the bar as one of the best known for quality in the town and surrounding areas. The team look forward to seeing you again this weekend. Regards Stephen Marriott General Manager More 

Cumbria
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff make this hotel. There are too many great staff to name but Olly is particularly funny and Rachel is a great manager. They know all of my team by name and make every single person feel welcome all the time. I can't recommend the Danum enough. I also think the food is great quality and excellent value for... More 

Helpful?
Thank LakesMB
DoncasterDanum, General Manager at Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LakesMB, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#12 of 19 in Doncaster
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster (Lakeside) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#13 of 19 in Doncaster
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#9 of 19 in Doncaster
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel is a mere five minute stroll from Doncaster Train Station and no more than a stone's throw from the Frenchgate Shopping centre, with over 120 stores and Doncasters award-winning markets. Following an extensive refurbishment the hotel offers a modern and contemporary feel. All 62 guest rooms all feature flat-screen TVs with complimentary WIFI and luxurious Hypnos beds. In our Privilege rooms you can enjoy air-conditioning, a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper and mineral water. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel

Address: High Street, Doncaster DN1 1DN, England (Formerly Danum Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Price Range: $71 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danum Hotel Doncaster
Danum Doncaster Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay