We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Royal Kings Arms

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Kings Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 251: English reviews
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

A lovely clean cosy and welcoming place. Visited by Dickens it is full of character and very close to the castle. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They were very kind to little Dotty who had the time of her life.

Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
barrow in furness
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked this hotel well in advance. Requested quite room back of hotel,(UNDERSTAND NOT ALL REQUESTS CAN BE MET AT BUSY PERIODS- HOWEVER?)Room allocated on 3rd floor- and extremely noisy from Robert Gillows (pub opposite),Even with secondary glazing. Room also roasting hot! Requested room change ,from smug- helpful not- young, receptionist. To no avail,checked out. On handing key back into reception... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank gudun1

Travelers are raving about these Lancaster hotels

Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is bang in the centre of Lancaster, opposite a great little bar ("The Robert Gillow") You just step out of the door and you are in Lancaster's high streets. The building has seen better days but don't be put off. The rooms are clean, the bedding in our room seemed new. The grand breakfast room (with its Minstrels'... More 

Helpful?
Thank boattraveller2016
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel could have lots of potential. Such a lovely building however it was let down by the cleanliness of the place. I can forgive that it is outdated but what does it take to wash the black mildew from the windows, dust from the skirting boards and clean the corners of the floors. If the bedrooms/bathrooms can be left... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank djwelbourn
Manager S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review

Dear djwelbourn, Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay with us. I was naturally most upset to learn that you had an unsatisfactory stay and certain aspects of the hotel failed to meet with your expectations and I would like to begin by saying that we do take complaints such as these very... More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a beautiful old building with some lovely spacious public rooms - especially the delightful, elegant and lofty breakfast room in which my nephew (a Cumbria University student) and I enjoyed a delicious Full Lancashire Breakfast. As the decor is not up-to-the-minute the hotel retains a timeless air and is thus very reasonably priced. The staff are refreshingly informal,... More 

Helpful?
Thank NatW53
Manager S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review

Dear NatW53, I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to hear you had such an enjoyable time during your stay. We will inform all the team of the lovely comments and feedback you have given. With the hotel under new management and a planned refurbishment we are positive that... More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is beyond "tired"!!!! It is AWFUL..... It's dirty and absolutely EVERYTHING needs attention. Thread bear carpets, wallpaper falling off, beds - well it's best not to look because they are rank. Please Please Please Royal Kings Arms give this lovely old building the refurbishment it deserves.

Helpful?
2 Thank 137BB357
Manager S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review

Dear 137BB357, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay with us. I was naturally most upset to learn that you had an unsatisfactory stay and certain aspects of the hotel failed to meet with your expectations. I would like to begin by saying that we do take complaints such... More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sadly I have too endorse the views of others who have stayed at this awful hotel. The room I stayed in was disgusting in so many ways, dirty, shabby and uncomfortable beyond belief. I can't imagine how the head house keeper was unaware how bad our room was The food is cheap and poor quality. It's only saving grace are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John986S
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have used this hotel a few times over the last 2 years but each time I wonder why I have booked there again.....maybe its because each time I think I will get a nicer room!!! The staff were friendly and helpful and the food is good, especially the breakfast, but the bedrooms are in a desperate poor state, also... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 771carole
Manager S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and the teams service. As our hotels are traditional character buildings our bedrooms often vary from room to room both in terms of layout and décor. Had we been made aware that you were unhappy with... More 

Ayrshire, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Booking in was swift and trouble free and the hotel although tired and dated has the basic principles right,. Hotel quality bed linen,lovely white towels and the shower was one of the best we have ever had but the torn curtains stained carpets and peeling wallpaper really let it down but the location more than made up for our disappointment.... More 

Helpful?
Thank waddy_12
Manager S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review

Dear Waddy_12, Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed specific elements of your stay and found value for money with us. As our hotels are traditional character buildings our bedrooms often vary from room to room both in terms of layout and décor. Had we... More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

This has to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. On first impressions it is obviously dated and in good need of modernisation. On further inspection the mattress and bed linen are truly disgusting and should not be slept on. The mattress was so stained, as was the duvet and pillow cases. There is no excuse for a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wilde1626
Manager S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review

Dear Wilde1626, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay with us. I was naturally most upset to learn that you had an unsatisfactory stay and certain aspects of the hotel failed to meet with your expectations. I would like to begin by saying that we do take complaints such... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.3 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
3.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#4 of 23 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We always offer the best prices to our guests direct through hotel reception so be sure to call us first. Fantastic all round venue in a central location, ideal for weddings and functions, everything under one roof. In the heart of the historic city of Lancaster, with views of its famous castle, stands the Royal Kings Arms Hotel. Originally built in 1625 and later rebuilt in 1879, the hotel was immortalized by Charles Dickens in his tale of "The Lazy Tour of Two Idle Apprentices". This Grade II listed hotel has 55 comfortable en-suite bedrooms, including the luxury Castle Suite, with its four poster bed and views of the castle, the entrance to which is just 50 yards away. With origins dating back almost 1,000 years Lancaster Castle, a Grade 1 listed building, occupies a city-centre hilltop location on the site of three successive Roman forts and has been described by English Heritage as "not only the North-West's most important historic and archaeological monument but also of international importance". Other historic buildings in Lancaster include the Judge's Lodgings and the Doll Museum. The sea plays a big part in Lancaster's history and the Maritime Museum is a fascinating place to visit. Beyond the city, the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales are within easy reach, while the seaside resorts of Morecambe and Blackpool are a short drive away. Breakfast is available when checking in at reception, we do have car parking facilities at £5 per car per stay at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Kings Arms

Address: 75 Market Street, Lancaster LA1 1HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Price Range: $59 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lancaster
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay