We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Detling Coachhouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Detling Coachhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 187: English reviews
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked the Detling Coachhouse due to attending my companies Christmas party at the Kent showground. The B&B is literally right outside, so perfectly located. The rooms are great and comfy beds. The rooms a very well priced as well, so good value for money, especially with its location. The staff are also very friendly and make you feel extremely welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee E
Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fantastic accommodation fantastic staff. Very accompanying with help to and from venue our Christmas party at Detling show ground they arranged for the back gate to open for it to be easier for us to get there and back. The accommodation was clean and fresh. Breakfast was nice. Meeting the other residents was a nice touch. Was easy to find.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank humphr3
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a fabulous find, right on our doorstep too. Enjoyed our stay so much, we booked an extra night. Breakfast was tasty too :-) Recommend, recommend, recommend!! A summer visit looks like it could be interesting... Lots of rambling to be done. All amenities were available including WiFi. Hosts were lovely and very accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andi K
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

Tucked away off the main roads so extremely quiet. Made to feel very welcome and breakfast was lovely. There was a variety of cereals, juice followed by a cooked breakfast. Will be returning regularly as very close to spires Alexandra. Prefer this to the big hotels

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
Dursley, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 17, 2016

My wife and I needed somewhere to stay near Maidstone for a night before visiting friends and the usual chain hotels that we normally use were all full or described as noisey, which we did not want having just had a stressful day at a funeral. Searching Trip Advisor I came across this place which was highly recommended. I am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We shall take on board your suggestions. Unfortunately as the nights are drawing in, it is harder to see, but we do have a sign which is lit up facing the main road as the majority of people come in from that direction but if you drive past us we do not have a...

Skelton-in-Cleveland, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Lovely peaceful b&b, tucked away, but just off a main road. Clean comfortable rooms. Decent breakfast. Pleasant gardens. Ideal for maidstone & surrounding areas. Dont follow your sat nav, its not reliable for this location !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.

Lisieux, France
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Good location , but Rooms very small and was exceptionally hot when we were there. Only had a fan and windows didn't open very wide. Ensuite very small, but shower was ok. Rooms cooler downstairs . Breakfast was average/poor. Not a lot of choice of cereals, and the cooked breakfast wasn't very nice . The owner I believe was away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are very sorry that you was disappointed. We were away on our annual holiday,however we do have a very good manager to look after the business whilst we are on our annual holiday. Unfortunately we were experiencing an unusual heat wave so it was extra hot! Windows Do open wider depending on which...

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 25, 2016

Wonderful welcome to a beautiful building. We had an upstairs room and therefore had wonderful beams from the building. Room was comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast was very good especially the sausages. We will use this again if we are down that way again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David M
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review.

S W London
Reviewed September 20, 2016

'This is a lovely house in a quiet place a little off \'the beaten track\' in the Kent countryside.. The room was very comfortable, the host welcoming and despite the heavy rain I slept very well.' I had a very good dinner in a nearby pub restaurant as they recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suevinales
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

Welcomed with hot drinks and friendly smile. Room lovely with high ceilings and beans and even old fireplace. Nice garden with seats round pond. Breakfast excellent. A very welcoming friendly place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcolm c
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.8 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
500 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#9 of 15 in Maidstone
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,340 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
5.0 mi away
Larkfield Priory Hotel
Larkfield Priory Hotel
#15 of 15 in Maidstone
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautifully beamed Coachhouse set in stunning North Downs Way, Kent, convenient to M20 & M2 between London & Dover. 35 mins from Gatwick Airport. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Excellent traditional pubs and restaurants nearby. 10 mins from Leeds Castle, directly opposite Kent County Showground. Free Parking & WIFI ... more   less 

Additional Information about Detling Coachhouse

Address: Scragged Oak Road | Detling, Maidstone ME14 3HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Price Range: $79 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Detling Coachhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Detling Coachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detling Coachhouse Maidstone, Kent
Detling Coachhouse Hotel Maidstone
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Maidstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Detling Coachhouse staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Doncaster, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Detling Coachhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Bring a bottle of wine and enjoy it sitting in the garden next to the pond.”
 of 5 bubbles J4022WTdavidm, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“room 4 and room 1 both nice and big”
 of 5 bubbles johnybob1, Jun 6, 2016 | Read review
“If you need a good nights would recommend .As just off main road with no noise . Well worth a visit”
 of 5 bubbles KenH302, Aug 13, 2015 | Read review
“We had the ground floor room which was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Minicooperdogs, Oct 8, 2014 | Read review
“all rooms are of similar size, ground floor rooms and 1st floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles WilliamW460, Oct 2, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay