We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
33 Cross End, Milton Keynes MK17 8AQ England
Booking.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (98)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (3)

About

#1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Keynes
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Value
4.9
If ever accommodation had the ‘Wow!’ factor, this is it. Stunning contemporary design and decor plus fanatical attention to every luxurious detail combine to promise an unforgettable experience. Comfort and practicality are not overlooked either; all the beds have a memory mattress and are king size or larger, Smart TVs, walk-in showers - some have large deep baths too . The two bedroom annex has a full working kitchen, dining and sitting area. The two person studio has a kitchenette. Both are ground floor with level access and own patio dining. All rooms are light, airy and spacious. wi-fi, private parking and electric vehicle charging are all included,. For business people there are work desks - for everyone there is space to relax. Flexible check in available. Longer stay and no breakfast deals also - ask us. Dogs welcome.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Free internet
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
392Reviews0Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 384
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
EmBW1 wrote a review Jul 2022
Calne, United Kingdom76 contributions37 helpful votes
The accommodation is superb and is better than described on the internet. All appliances are top quality, with a full size fridge freezer, washing machine, oven and dishwasher. The beds are the most comfortable I have slept in. Showers are large and powerful, and it is environmentally focussed luxury. There is loads of parking and electric car charging points. The garden and patio area are well kept and peaceful. We loved it! Julia is the perfect host - the ideal neighbour in fact. I knew I could message her if I needed anything, but I didn’t as Julia has an excellent idea of what her guests require. The breakfast pack was delicious. The home made bread and shortbread deserve a mention as my grown up children still talk about these. In the local area there is so much to do. Many places are dog friendly. We came for a specific event so didn’t explore very much, however there is a brilliant place to walk your dog adjacent to South Lodge, and the woods/public footpaths around Woburn golf club (also dog friendly) are lovely. Often if things look too good to be true, they are, but Julia and South Lodge are the exception.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Cox, Owner at South Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
My goodness, thank you so much for the lovely comments! Nothing much for me to say really, except I hope we see you again sometime! Julia
Read more
John N wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We were lucky to come across South Lodge when we were looking for accommodation prior to leaving the UK for Hong Kong. We have been staying in Air BandBs since February and this has been a great choice. The accommodation is really spacious with many double height rooms making the place feel wonderfully bright and airy. South Lodge is immaculately clean and beautifully well appointed, filled with super high quality finishes and some unexpected quirky additions. It comes together to create a really superb place to stay. The owners are friendly and accommodating and have a fantastic eye for detail which will help make any stay a pleasure. The gardens are a delight, ample parking and good reliable Wi-Fi complete the package. Location is great for exploring the countryside (great walks on the doorstep), fantastic local gastro pub is a 5 minute stroll and shopping and other amenities close at hand too. We only wish we could have stayed a little longer. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 3. Huge for 2. Really spacious for 4
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Cox, Owner at South Lodge
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Thank you John, for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I hope your move abroad is working out for you both. Best wishes Julia
Read more
lv wrote a review Jan 2022
London, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
A wonderful place to stay, we are a family of 4. Julia has simply thought of everything and is very accommodating to all our needs. Breakfast hamper was perfect, products in bathroom, towels, dressing gown.. We also appreciated the great design and thought that has gone into this project. I highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sagatourist wrote a review Oct 2021
Crowborough, United Kingdom529 contributions294 helpful votes
We usually stay in hotels, even for short breaks, but there weren't any we fancied in the area for our mini-break so I chose what looked like the best B & B for miles. It was great! We had a very nice room - smart, modern & comfortable. The bed, although large, was smaller than at home but the memory foam mattress (a first for us) worked completely, giving us good sleeps. The duvet, too, was perfectly judged for temperature. You must have the breakfast - the best scrambled eggs we've ever had - served in the room at times to suit you. The breakfast fruit dish was also delightful as were the other items we tried (full english, scramble with salmon, croissants). The owner, Julia, was very welcoming and helpful to complement everything good about our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Cox, Owner at South Lodge
Responded Oct 22, 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review; we very much enjoyed having you stay. The funny thing is that we had planned to upgrade the bed in your room from king size to super king - to make the room even more luxurious - and the much waited for bed arrived the afternoon after your departure! Anyway, I’m glad the old one was ‘fit for purpose’! So glad you had a good holiday, Julia
Read more
Dave M wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Fantastic boutique B&B, amazing room, spotlessly clean, great facilities and the cooked breakfast was fabulous. The owner Julia couldn't have been more helpful. Little touches like real milk in the fridge, luxury toiletries, and the option to have extras in the room like flowers really make a difference. Super convenient location for local attractions including Woburn Abbey and safari park, Bletchley Park, golf courses etc. Plenty of good local pubs and restaurants. Really close to Milton Keynes as well for retail therapy, cinema and theatre. Perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
davown9 wrote a review Aug 2021
Gloucester, United Kingdom8 contributions9 helpful votes
Lovely couple of days at South Lodge. Everything about the stay was excellent. The welcome from the hosts was warm and friendly. The rooms was well equipped and clean. The breakfast, that we were able to take in the garden, was super - the bacon was particularly good. Would definitely stay here again if in the area and will recommend to our friends.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Cox, Owner at South Lodge
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Thanks so much for your lovely comments - we’re big fans of the local bacon too! It’s such a pleasure fro us to see guests getting full use of the garden for breakfast too. Hope to see you again. Julia
Read more
Brian W wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
Location Cleanliness Facilities Service / Staff were Excellent We would definitly recommend this B&B if you are staying in MK. It provides a very comfortable and convenient location for MK and the surrounding area.. Julia runs a very efficient B&B, all is well thought out and the breakfasts were very good. We have stayed in the past, though some years ago, and were impresed by the environmental aspects of the building e.g. rainwater harvesting and high levels of insulation. All the fittings were of high quality and everthing worked. We will stay again Should you decide to stay, consider visiting Bletchly Park and the Museum of Computing. The Milton Keynes Museum and the Tree Cathedral are well worth a visit.. Also "The Stable" (John Dankworth & Cleo Laine theatre) are near, we have attended concerts there in the past. If you are looking for somewher to eat we found both "The Wavendon Arms" (very near) and "The Plough" at Simpson are both good places to eat. Brian & Pam
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: There are 4 rooms, 3 share a patio and garden, ample parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Cox, Owner at South Lodge
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Thank you both, it was lovely to see you again, and thanks for the comments about what to see in the area. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
LH wrote a review Jun 2021
England, United Kingdom3 contributions
We really enjoyed our stay. We booked the room as a stop over after a few day trips to break up the drive home, and will definitely be coming back to stay. The room was gorgeous and spacious, but what really sets it apart are the amazing hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Julia was always available to address any questions we had. Julia and her husband made sure we had a wonderful stay and really went out of their way to ensure we had all the comforts we needed. I’d definitely recommend a stay at South Lodge, and would happily return!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Cox, Owner at South Lodge
Responded Jun 17, 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure meeting you all and we hope to see you again.
Read more
Maria T wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
This wasn’t our first visit, and certainly won’t be our last as we have family in the Milton Keynes area. Every room is beautifully furnished with every need catered for. We stay with our dog who is always welcome to visit with us. We have had breakfast in the main dining room - pre covid and also on the terrace outside, or in our room. Julia has done a wonderful job adapting to opening up again under Covid restrictions, and we have been able to visit and feel safe and catered for. It is always a real pleasure to stay at South Lodge. Thank you Julia.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Every room is different but all are lovely.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Cox, Owner at South Lodge
Responded Jun 2, 2021
Thank you for your lovely comments, there’s nothing quite as marvellous as returning visitors over the years we’ve been doing this. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Julia
Read more
Caroline T wrote a review May 2021
3 contributions5 helpful votes
Unbelievable the night before we arrive I get a cluster of emails demanding payment. I said I was at dinner and then I get a load of sarcastic ones back saying that they want to cancel to booking and that we haven’t paid. So rude and horrible when we are on a road trip bank holiday weekend and planed a trip and the women wants to cancel on us and mess up our holiday!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Cox, Owner at South Lodge
Responded Jun 1, 2021
At South Lodge we pride ourselves on being competitive and so have only a 48 hour cancellation policy, which many people find very reasonable, being much shorter than the norm for the industry. That means we only request full payment two days before a stay. This booker did not respond to the 48 hour request so a reminder was sent 24 hours before. From that point we were sent several angry emails. They insisted they had already paid, and I pointed out that actually no payment had been taken. Rather than check their booking to find out that this was correct, they became abusive towards every polite attempt to explain, and claimed that this would now spoil their stay. This very upsetting and unnecessary exchange led to the conclusion they would be better off staying somewhere else. It is also important to us that the customer experience is a good one. Finally the booker requested a cancellation via booking.com to which I readily agreed. I think our other reviews show a true picture of our actual commitment to customer service, and I would like to say that any breakdown in communications, irrespective of cause, is always saddening to us.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$200 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
south hotel milton keynes
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBuckinghamshireMilton Keynes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about South Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to South Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Blackout Escape Rooms (4.0 miles), Simply Race (4.0 miles), and Big Rock Bond (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at South Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, free internet access, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at South Lodge?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at South Lodge?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at South Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to South Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro Live MK, Marhabar By Olive Tree, and A Pizza This.
Are pets allowed at South Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at South Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to South Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bletchley Park (3.8 miles), Bletchley Park (3.7 miles), and Victorian Brick Kilns (3.3 miles).
Is South Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.