We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The South Marston Hotel & Leisure

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The South Marston Hotel & Leisure
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

721 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 708: English reviews
cwmbran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived 8 30 at night for a 2 night break, bought voucher from buyagift a while ago and booked our break for anniversary and birthday weekend around 3 weeks ago . Disbelief as we finally found it due to road closure, that it was all boarded up, and a security guard told us it was up for auction. Even a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sianwill4
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It closed can't hold of any 1 any one we book for bank hoilday Mercure rubbishy company didn't ring us let us know or email and they have 100 hotels in uk not happy at all not good at all not good :( my girlfriend Xmas present as well

Helpful?
1 Thank John123port
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The place stinks! Just simple the carpets smell throughout, even whilst in bed! Staff were great, pool fab, breakfast good, carpets just rank. Simple review! Just read it's closed, can see why, shame as such potential! Even location is good!

Helpful?
Thank fifimeme
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is closing its doors on Sunday 31 July and is in administration. We booked a weekend here a few months ago only to discover it closes on the day we check out. Staff are trying their best but it can't be easy for them.

Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Currently staying, but thought best to write review while here, as the staff are all saying about the hotel closing on Sunday - they say they were told yesterday (Wednesday). Yes, it is a bit run down in places but the staff are friendly, helpful, food tasty and location is lovely and quiet. Hopefully anyone who has booked gets a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A_good_family
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I booked this hotel and Leisure - prices are competitive - I wished a pool and a gym. It has both. Used both and pleased too. However, the whole place does not get 5 stars because it is a running down hotel because it closes down at the end of October for good. Therefore, there are things that look... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robbo220364
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Stayed here for one night and although I thought I'd made a mistake staying at a 3 star I was pleasantly surprised. Even though the hotel is in need of a spruce up and maybe get the carpets cleaned on the stairways, Staff at reception were very nice and friendly which sets you off on the right foot..... Got to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kryponut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Couldn't ask for better service. Room clean and well kept. Everything required in room. Ordered food in evening which was excellent and good breakfast. Shame it's closing down in October.

Helpful?
Thank Julie D
Emily R, General Manager at The South Marston Hotel & Leisure, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your contribution to this site, it is always a pleasure to receive such positive comments More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

Just returned from a weekend at this hotel, booked all inclusive weekend through 'Great Little Breaks'. Although the decor in the hotel looks a little tired, we had a very good weekend with excellent food served in a very nice restaurant. A great full board deal with drinks included. The leisure centre had good facilities. All the staff were very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen C
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. the carpet in the public corridor areas is minging. i have never seen such a dirty carpet in a hotel. The bath shower screen leaked water all over the floor. The room standard was reasonable for the price. One staff member said the hotel was for sale and possibly ripe... More 

Helpful?
Thank John C
Emily R, General Manager at The South Marston Hotel & Leisure, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I am sorry that the shower screen leaked, we have recently replaced the seals on all of the rooms, so maybe this one has slipped out of place. Last year we did upgrade all public areas including new flooring and the plan this year was to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (92)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
5.8 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
3.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 27 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 27 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#5 of 27 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#3 of 27 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The South Marston Hotel & Leisure is ideally located, surrounded by beautiful countryside set in a unique area whilst only a short drive from Swindon, the M4 and The Cotswolds, Swindon Designer Outlet & Swindon Town Centre. With our state of the art gym & 23 metre indoor swimming pool, as well as our health & beauty spa, we have some of the best facilities in the Swindon area. Free parking & free WiFi for all guests. We also provide great food and service whether in our dining area or leisure cafe. A hidden gem on the outskirts of Swindon, a hotel you will want to return to again and again. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The South Marston Hotel & Leisure

Address: Old Vicarage Lane, Swindon SN3 4SH, England (Formerly Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Price Range: $71 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The South Marston Hotel & Leisure 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The South Marston Hotel & Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel And Spa
Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel Swindon
Nightingale Hotel Swindon
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Swindon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay