We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Goddard Arms

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Goddard Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 147: English reviews
Port Noarlunga, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What can I say about the Goddard Arms? It's a bit like staying with an eccentric elderly aunt crossed with staying with a teenager! Overall I loved it and would do it again. In fact we did go back to it. It is in a great location in old town close to restaurants, cafes, clubs, night life and nice walks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill123341
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Earlier this month I had organised a charity event which had a last minute venue change to the Goddard Arms. The Goddard Arms team jumped in straight to the rescue, and not only that, but they were the most hospitable and accommodating venue that I have ever worked with in Swindon. Not only did they give us a very reasonable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annauk2010
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff ok. Room very disappointing. Was not vacuumed and shower was very hot or very very hot. Unable to use it. Room was in need of decoration all a bit shabby. NOT expensive but should be addressed. I would not stay there again. There is no excuse for an unswept carpet.

Helpful?
Thank 164bridget
Goddard A, Manager at Goddard Arms, responded to this review

Hi 164bridget, It disappoints me to hear of the issues you experienced on your stay, in the coming months we are thankfully getting an investment in our rooms which aims to improve the quality of our rooms and give them that refreshment need. I hope to welcome you back to the Goddard Arms to stay again... Kind wishes, More 

Travelers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room small no wardrobe or cupboard. Bathroom clean but mould stained sealant. Plenty of tea biscuits. Nets black from road pollution. towels soft and good condition. Evening meal nothing special for the cost. Waitress delivered in silence and disappeared had to find own condiments. Tea and coffee had been ordered. Didnt come had to chase it. Breakfast fruit limited. Asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
Gaerwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

well the hotel on arrival was looking great from the outside but when we walked inside the manager was excellent checking us in straight to us to confirm our booking when we got into our room was a basic room bed was very comfy nice duvet but creaky floor no tv remote in the room someone left a cigarette at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn W
Catterick, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of your staff said the rooms were being updated this year, which mine really does need. I stayed in room 10 which was really noisy due to some sort of extractor system running outside, even with window closed. Bed lumpy and hard. Blackout curtains need to be installed inside window recess otherwise the light just shines around the sides.... More 

Helpful?
Thank d61p
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

a comfortable hotel in a good location near Swindon. Rooms need updating and noise from extractor fans needs addressing. bar area is very smart and offers a varied menu and choice of drinks. Staff excellent and helpful throughout my stay

Helpful?
Thank David M
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The wife and I popped in for a spot of lunch and now is one of our favourite places. Nice atmosphere and surroundings very pleasant. Great choice on the menu and the food did not disappoint. Plenty of beers and wines to choose from as well. Prices are very fair with the size of the portions.

Helpful?
Thank mark h
Goddard A, Manager at Goddard Arms, responded to this review

Hi mark h, Many thanks for your kind review! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best wishes... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Godard Arms for lunch and would recommend it to anyone wanting a reasonably priced lunch. Very good food and service.We went on a Friday lunch time which was quite busy, we had a young child with us. We did not feel rushed in any way and were made to feel very welcome.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsaypasta
Goddard A, Manager at Goddard Arms, responded to this review

Hi Lindsaypasta, Many thanks for your kind review! I will pass your feedback onto the team and I look forward to seeing you again soon! Best wishes... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dirty, shabby carpets Room unclean stained filthy paintwork. No bedside tables.couldnt sleep due to noise from air con engines on roof. Had to go up the fires escaped to get in. Didn't dare eat breakfast couldn't wait to leave. Definitely hadn't been cleaned in a LONG time. Overpriced What were the 3 stars for

Helpful?
1 Thank Cantgetatan
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.1 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#24 of 27 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#3 of 27 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 27 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#23 of 27 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 27 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Goddard Arms
Goddard Arms
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Purchased by The Barracuda Group and re-opened in December in 2009 trading as The Goddard Arms, a traditional yet contemporary pub offering great service, delicous pub food and varied range of drinks and ales.We have 17 guest bedroooms, all ensuite and offering the weary traveller a comfortable bed for the night. A tasty breakfast can be added to your stay for the morning, and we are excellenty located for links to the M4 the West Country.We have a truely unique private hire function bar called 'The Vault' down in the basement, and conference facilities in the previously used magistrates court. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Goddard Arms

Address: 1 High Street | Old Town, Swindon SN1 3EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Price Range: $63 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Goddard Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Goddard Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay