We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland

Traveler (300)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (198)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#18 of 28 hotels in Derby
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland is located in the heart of Derby City Centre, next to the railway station. The hotel has 102 great bedrooms including family bedrooms, all equipped with free WiFi. Why not enjoy our delicious food in our brasserie or sit back and relax in our lounge and bar. The hotel has lots of great facilities including nine meeting rooms with capacity for up to 200 delegates, a stylish wedding venue for up to 200 guests and plenty of car parking(£8 per day). BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. The oldest railway hotel in the world welcoming guests since 1839.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range

Location

Full view
85Good for walkers
Grade: 85 out of 100
37Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
7Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,553Reviews
15Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 549
  • 541
  • 261
  • 128
  • 74
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hotel is excellent.The rooms are very big with large bed and bathroom with bath and shower cubicle.The food was very good and the staff were extremely helpful especially Walter as manager.Location good for travelling.Could not fault it at all.We were there on a coach trip
Read more
Response from HallmarkOPS, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your lovely comments and for praising Walters efforts during your stay with us. It was real pleasure to look after you and your fellow travellers. I was delighted to learn that you could not fault your stay with us especially when you were with us for 5 days and that the facilities we had to offer exceeded your expectations. I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again when visiting Derby and the East Midlands.
Read more
Stayed at this wonderful Hotel for 4 nights and 5 days May 2019 - what can I say ! I think I have to say the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff were so friendly and helpful from the time I stepped into the lobby until I left. The food was delicious and so beautiful
Read more
Response from HallmarkOPS, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your lovely comments and for praising Walters and the staff team members efforts during your stay with us. It was real pleasure to look after you and your fellow travellers.I am so pleased to learn that your 5 day stay with us was sometrhing to remember for all the right reasons and I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again soon.
Read more
We called in for a coffee on the 10th May 2019. The first cup I was given had a large, very obvious lipstick stain on it so I took it back to the bar. No apology was offered at this stage, just an offer of a fresh one which I accepted. When I got back to sit down with my
Read more
Response from HallmarkOPS, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Responded 1 week ago
Cynthia Y nobody should be served a beverage in a crockery cup with lipstick on it and clearly whatever brand this was, our chemicals in our dish washer were having difficulty that day removing the offending stain. Unfortunately salt paste, baking soda, rubbing alcohol and toothpaste, all well known lipstick removing products are not at the servers disposal and I will remind our servers to be a little more dilligent in inspecting our coffee cups before serving our guests to avoid this embarrassing situation. You spoke at lenght about your past life to the manager on duty and I am pleased to note that the staff you encountered, despite your misgivings about their attitude, responded positively by acknowledging your grievance with a refund, I am sorry you found this experience unpleasant and I will coach my team to be more observant in hygiene matters and diplomacy in handling our guests expectations.Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Read more
I have been in the Travel Industry for over 20 years and never seen a mouse run between tables in a hotel restaurant. We informed the waiter whose name was Walter and he said he would call pest control. After 10 minutes I asked the girl on reception if this had been done and she
Read more
Response from HallmarkOPS, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Responded 1 week ago
Good news the wee beastie was caught scampering towards the garden doors, where he had probably arrived from the garden unexpectedly. This was swiftly followed by three visits from a pest controller to ensure the family were not taking up residence and our local Environmental Health Officer to ensure there were no breaches of heath and safety in our kitchen or evidence of pest activity. I am pleased to report Walter also survived an attack with an inebriated guest not staying at the hotel, who was eventually escorted away by the local constabulary, that was the guest not Walter who would wish his apologies be known to you and recognises he was rude to you and another guest. This attack happened moments before you encountered him at the reception desk and he was clearly shaken by what had just happened. We do realise he should of been a little more professional in dealing with your anxiety and since your visit I have recruited an outside trainer to deliver training on guest complaint handling to all our duty managers to ensure we deliver a more consistent approach when dealing with negative situations that are brought to our attention. Just like the travel industry never a dull day in hospitality and always learning how we can improve guest satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Read more
We visited this hotel Saturday 27th April. For one night. The receptionist was very friendly and confident in her role. We had requested prosecco and two glasses to be in our room on arrival but it was not. Although a call down to reception it was quickly rectified. The room
Read more
Response from HallmarkOPS, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. Martyna will be delighted to see she has had a mention and I am grateful to you for leaving a positive review on our facilities and staff team members. Delighted to learn you have had an excellent stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Derby soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$59 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western derbyderby best western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing