We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

A38 Woodlands Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
A38 Woodlands Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
Rome
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

3 of us on a work stopover stayed the one night and shared a comfortable room with our own beds. The Management we great and easy to deal with. Free parking for our Van, Wifi and a Sportsmans Bar just a few doors away. Would go back next time we're in Derby at this price.

Helpful?
2 Thank Al680
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

I booked a room for tonight and they text me at 01:10am telling me I no longer had a room. This place is an absolute disgrace! Do not stay here!! I have previously stated here before which was a disaster as well I only booked again as I was desperate! Last time I was awoken at 03:00am by the ceiling... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack M
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but I am not quite sure who or what is shocking. Let me explain. You have not stayed in January as you state in your review. You last stayed in July, for several weeks. Strange that it took you six months to compose your review. You were advised by text that we did not have... More 

Travelers are raving about these Derby hotels

Killin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

The owner welcomed me and all seemed pleasant. Yes it is budget accommodation, but you do expect it to be clean. Ground floor room, no ventilation, filthy microwave - had to clean the turntable before I could use it, it was also located at floor level which made it difficult to use. coffee provided was all in one with milk... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Liz S
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, but in reply a number of your points need clarifying, correcting. The ground floor room you stayed in has ventilation, an opening window and a fan in the en suite, and meets all relevant building regulations. The microwave is checked daily, was clean and the turntable in my opinion did not require cleaning. Normal to... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Stayed here on a recent visit to Download festival. The proprietors were very welcoming and nothing was to much trouble. Lovely breakfast and they cleaned the room for the second night which we wasn't expecting.

Helpful?
Thank Monzeratte C
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We do try to make our guests feel at home and provide a service second to none. Nice to be appreciated on occasion. Hope to see you again at next years festival if not earlier. Emanuel and Krys More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Stayed a week wish i just turned round and walked out. The little fella wanted paying up front for the week so I was trapped. To tired after travel and work the next morning it was the worst place you could ever imaging waking up in. The owner should feel ashamed keeping such a dirt laden, pubic hair infested place... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank J J
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

Our logo is - where the countryside meets the city. Victorian splendour in a woodland setting just 10 minute walk away from the city centre. The lady of the house saw you on a number of occasions, you did not mention any issues. She is shocked at your review. Many times she has had gifts of flowers and cards from... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Wanted a small reasonably priced place to stay for 1 night to take kids to Alton Towers. When we arrived kept waiting 25 minutes before even being acknowledged. No apology or even friendly welcome. Rooms disgusting and reminded me of a grubby bedsit. The smell was horrendous. But the final insult was when he demanded the remainder of the cost.... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank njb-lewis
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

Kept waiting. You were asked on booking to phone about half an hour before arrival to ensure some-one would meet you. You did not. Secondly, on the door there are clear instructions, ring xxxxxx if no reply. You did not. I respectfully suggest that if you followed instructions there would have been no arrival issues. Rooms are in excellent condition,... More 

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

It was actually the evening when we checked in and at 1am I returned from a night with friends and discovered the pubic hair in the bed! I contacted you immediately and you said you weren't going to do anything about it! I was in the area for a reason and came to you as soon as my business was... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Scrawny180
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My partner and I wanted a place to stay for 2 nights at last minute and this establishment was the fisrt one which had rooms available after several others told us they were fully booked. I thought the owner was a bit abrupt when he asked for my I.d and £80 but I had no issue about paying for somewhere... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank Scrawny180
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

He checked in in the afternoon, and then phoned my mobile at about Two am saying he would not be staying demanding an instant full refund. Advised that I did not deal with refunds at this ungodly hour and asked him to see me in the morning. He did not contact me till the evening, so I was not able... More 

Ober-Ramstadt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I arrived in the B&B and wanted to stay 2 Nights in August. My company made a reservation before at a internet portal and arrived there, as i followed the postcode. First i was wondering if i am right, because it looked some different as i was told. So i asked the owner, if he got any reservation from me,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Michae D
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

One would have never guessed that he stopped in the same room that got a Five Star, just days before. Difficult to deal with a person so confused that he did not know where he booked in. He could have checked out within 10 minutes without any cost, or within half an hour at a cost of £5 (five) as... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I travel all round the country for work and this is by far the worst one I have been to. The so called breakfast may as well still been running round the field it was that undercooked! When I walked into the room I thought I had booked a youth hostel!

Helpful?
5 Thank Joemathews1
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You had stopped with us before, so I am surprised with your views, that you had got yourself booked in, in our establishment again. We have asked your company not to book you in here again. You upset a lot of people on arrival, with your unpleasant approach, which seems to have now extended to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel
International Hotel
#29 of 31 in Derby
3.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Derby West
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.0 mi away
Victoria Park Hotel
Victoria Park Hotel
#27 of 31 in Derby
3.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about A38 Woodlands Guest House

Address: 300 Burton Road, Derby DE23 6AD, England (Formerly Woodlands Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range: $60 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A38 Woodlands Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A38 Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay