We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

702 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 696: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I went here with my wife who had brought a Groupon deal,I have to say i was very disappointed by the offering.The setting is fantastic,the food not so.The staff appeared to be new and very inexperienced.I would like to think that they will get it right, because the place is stunning and would be a great place to dine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

I am disappointed your lunch wasn't what you expected. Do remember that you get a 3 course lunch for £10. I would really like to know more about the issued you had as I find the review not very constructive. Please give me a call to discuss. My staff are experienced, contrary to what you think, so not sure what...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Let me start by saying that it is a beautiful hotel and the staff were awesome. They were so helpful and polite. The food was very nice and the service was a relatively good speed. The hotel was let down by the lack of maintenance. We arrived and I almost tripped over one of the large capping stones from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We once visited the hotel regularly and were disappointed to see how the bar area had deteriorated. It had no atmosphere and with the main lights on you could see how worn and scruffy it's now become. A great location but definitely needs some TLC.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

Jessica, Thank you for your review and you are quit right. After 8 years since our opening, the bar area would benefit from a refurbishment, which is being planned as we speak. New flooring, furniture etc. Please watch this space in the next few months

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I should have written this review last year as it was the Cathedral Quarter Hotel that we chose as the venue for our wedding reception last January. Even though, by current standards, it was a small wedding we felt we were given the same level of attention that larger more expensive weddings would get. We booked the small room next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

First of all, many congratulations on your first wedding anniversary. I am delighted to hear that the wedding day was a great success. It has been a quit start to the year, but this is only for the first couple of days. Maybe you could give me a call to arrange something special for your anniversary. We have a beautiful...

uk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was really looking forward to taking my young daughter to this hotel as i had spoken highly of it. Was greeted by a gentleman that appeared more interested in seeing if we was having dinner that evening so he could send the chef home as their was only 3 guests that night. This immediately rang bells as this is an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank danny066
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

As it was me who dealt with you on both occasions, please allow me to respond. Your booking confirmation from booking.com, which I showed you, stated room only. It also showed that the booking was made for 1 adult and 0 children. I can only go by what I have in front of me, and I did apologies at the...

East Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and i had booked a christmas brunch at the cathedrel quarter hotel on Monday 26th December which was between 11.30 -15.30. On arriving we entered into the reception area and at that point we knew we were in for a noisy brunch, there was a gentlemen aged about 70years of age with about six very noisy children and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EastMidlandsCoral
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your brunch wasn't as relaxed as you had expected. Having spoken to my staff on duty, most of the "running around" was done downstairs, but i would have expected this to be toned down once inside the restaurant by the parents. My staff did judge the situation but did not find it enough to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Three families had a wonderful time on Christmas day. We had a superb Christmas dinner. The service was brilliant and the food was very nicely prepared and presented. It tasted great. Well worth the money. The setting is quite something in an old wood panelled room which sits at the top of a beautiful grand marbled entrance and stair well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary275
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and hope to se you again for Christmas day in 2017

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you to all for a lovely time. Sandwiches lovely they happily gave us some extra. Cakes were lovely and plenty of them. Really enjoyed the choir was good value for money. £20 head. Slightly marred by the noisy group of ladies who were rudely talking through the singing. Small suggestion pots of tea /coffee on each table would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elmertheelephant_10
Aqaba, Jordan
Reviewed December 14, 2016

Apparently the hotel used to be an old court building and there are plenty of reminders, including parquet flooring, impressive staircases and wonderful stained glass; also the dining room is rather spectacular. The bedroom was comfortable, with a modern, well-designed en suite. . . Although the hotel was quiet on the Sunday evening I was there, the reception staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TudorInjordan
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your kind comments, hope to welcome you back in the near future

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 12, 2016

I booked an afternoon tea for my family to celebrate the 75th birthday of my Mum on December 10th. The afternoon tea was beautiful, the service was shockingly poor and on that basis we would be unlikely to return. My children arrived before us and were asked if they wanted Prosecco and said no, we arrived and waited quarter of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 63JacquieS
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for the wait on drinks and teastrainers. All I know is that it was a particularly busy service but shouldn't have made that much of an impact on the later tables. It will be discussed with the Restaurant team. With regards to the baby changing facilities, it will be added to the list of improvements to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (140)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derby
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 30 in Derby
1,546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#8 of 8 in Castle Donington
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
1.1 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 30 in Derby
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Opulence Restaurant
Opulence Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with Clink Beauty Rooms, conference rooms, Bar 16 cocktail bar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Address: 16 St. Marys Gate, Derby DE1 3JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range: $91 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cathedral Quarter Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cathedral Quarter Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“n/a i did not stay there”
 of 5 bubbles gregl397, 6 days ago | Read review
“there are a few parking spaces at the hotel, otherwise there's a big secure car-park nearby, with a 30% reduction for hotel guests”
 of 5 bubbles TudorInjordan, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
“Sorry we did not stay here only ate”
 of 5 bubbles Derbyborn, Nov 11, 2016 | Read review
“Do not book suite”
 of 5 bubbles JeanN826, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
“Go for a suite ( Room 23 was great ).”
 of 5 bubbles broami, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay