We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

638 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 622: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
 Click to rate
Baulagirl
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here last night, 2 of us with our two dogs. Staff were nice, hotels nice & clean & breakfast was good with lots to choose from including croissants, bread/ toast, cereals, a cooked breakfast (you can order vegey sausages). There are free drinks in the lobby & the hot chocolate's lovely (could have drank loads). The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baulagirl
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked this hotel for one night but decided early the next morning to ask to stay another night as we were tired and wanted to rest, this was no problem and the staff were made aware we didn't want house keeping unless we rang before hand as we wanted to catch up on our sleep. We went back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carina L
TeamGloucester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear Carina, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. I am so sorry to read about the disturbance you experienced both mornings, unfortunately the fire alarm going off is sometimes out of our control but I would like to thank you for your cooperation in this matter as we have...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As above the hotel and our room was immaculate. The staff where very friendly and helpful. We had a disruptive nights sleep and I was forced to ring reception at 2:30am as next door was playing loud music and running up and down the corridor. The management sorted the issue straight away. The walls are VERY thin and there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
TeamGloucester, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear Henry, Thank you taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you had a great experience in regards to the hotel itself, but I am sorry to hear you experienced a problem at such an unreasonable hour with the noise form another guests room. This is uncontrollable at...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room we had was immaculate and very comfy. Everything you could need was there so no faults whatsoever. The only downside was the breakfast as this was a bit manic and could do with re organising. The quality was OK bit could be better. The room rate we had was a bargain so in light of this it's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lonrah
TeamGloucester, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear Lonrah, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you had a great experience with us apart form the breakfast flow, I will be sharing this with the relevant departments to have this looked into and resolved. We are currently introducing all new breakfast items...

Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night on our way to Cornwall with 2 kids and 2 dogs. We arrived late but check in was really good and the rooms we had were great. Very clean and well presented. Comfy beds and we all had a good nights sleep. Decent shower too in the morning. Breakfast was great and we could even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
TeamGloucester, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear Dave, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us I am pleased to hear you had a great experience with us and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kindest Regards Emily Baker Guest Service Assistant

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pretty standard holiday Inn experience... I wouldn't say it's the most romantic place to be, but it certainly is great value for money. There's not too much to do around the area if you're not driving but then again, you probably wouldn't stay here if you weren't. The food here is incredibly overpriced (they sell disguised Chicago Town pizzas worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
TeamGloucester, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear Aaron, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you had a good experience with the hotel apart form the pizzas I will be sharing your feedback with the relevant departments so we can have this reviewed. Kindest Regards Emily Baker Guest Service Assistant

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here last night on our way home from Cornwall. We booked with two and a half hours notice. We felt that it was good value for money - friendly staff, well presented room, high standards in cleanliness, quiet and a breakfast that was included in the price. It's our first time staying in a holiday inn and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie4758
TeamGloucester, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear Natalie, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on you most recent stay with us I am pleased to read you had a fantastic experience. I hope you had a lovely time in Cornwall and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kindest Regards Emily Baker Guest Service Assistant

Norwich, England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited friends nearby and choose this hotel because it was considerably cheaper than the Premier Inn that we would normaly use. Check in was quick and friendly,the rooms were fine and quiet and our only gripe was the breakfast which was somewhat chaotic with only some of the hot dishes being available at any one time.Parking was easy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davybabyests
TeamGloucester, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear davybabyests, Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us here at HIE Gloucester instead of your usual Premier Inn stopover! I'm glad to see that you found your check in quick and efficient, with the rooms quiet enough to get a good nights sleep. In regards to your comments about breakfast, your feedback is...

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second stay at this hotel and we were not disappointed. We were greeted by very friendly staff. The room was large and airy and spotlessly clean. All areas of the hotel were well maintained and very clean. There was a great choice for breakfast. The only negative was the lack of staff clearing tables and replenishing the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SUE B
Bedfordshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I had a room on the ground floor during Cheltenham Gold Cup week. Given that we paid over £500 for two nights we did come away feeling that our experience could have been better. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but our room had a couple of issues, but worst of all was the standard of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
TeamGloucester, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear Danielle H, I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us, despite the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff it concerns me that you experienced such a dreadful time. Your feedback is definitely appreciated as it helps us to improve, I will be speaking to the Housekeeping Team and Maintenance Department to ensure that this does not...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,075 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,507 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
767 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Price Range: $61 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms seem as good at Holiday Inn Express hotels.”
sunny_the_red, Feb 19, 2017 | Read review
“haven't had any problems with rooms/suggest you enquire when booking as I'm sure the staff thre will be more than happy to guide you”
jimboSaundersfoot, Jan 29, 2017 | Read review
“haven't found one room better than another”
Mem1952, Jan 13, 2017 | Read review
“High Floor Every Time.”
RichardB303, Jan 9, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room and you will get one.”
amandus1864, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question