We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Alexa House

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Alexa House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 151: English reviews
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Alexa House for one night, we were attending the Crime Writing Festival at The Old Swan and Alexa House is perfectly placed - just five minutes walk away. We arrived before the official checking in time and was able to park our car in their car-park at the rear of the building. Sandra was warm and welcoming... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annec14
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

I was only here here for one night. The Alexa is within 10 minute walk from the town centre. The place was easy to find, clean and we were warmly welcomed. My room was on the front of the house, overlooking the main road. This was not a problem as the house was away from this. The window opened, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

I am pleased you liked the biscuit. I know how much people like to have a biscuit with their cup of Yorkshire tea. You are right room 3 is small but that is why it is listed as small single on all the booking sites. Glad you enjoyed your stay Sandra More 

Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights (in fact checking out today) with my sister in law. The location of the property to harrogate centre is a short walk. It was lovely to be able to park up the car for the two days and walk everywhere. Our room (number 10) was a family room with a massive king size bed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. As you found all our hot water comes from a big presurised tank so it gives the effect of a power shower, lovely to wake you up in the morning. And yes, the bed is massive its 7ft wide and the singles in the room are 3ft 6in so its enough space for most... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

Hosts were very pleasant and helpful.Breakfast was excellent. The only thing that let us down was the bathroom in our top floor room. The room was smallish having been created from original loft space with sloping ceiling etc but that wasn't the problem. The tiny bathroom had only a bath but no shower, only a spray attached to the taps... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wandermann
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

I have just changed my room listings on all the sites like booking.co. and late rooms to show exactly which room you are booking so it does say King Room with small bath This should give people the choice of which room to have. These rooms on the top floor do have a lovely view to compensate. I am glad... More 

banburyuk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

Just back from staying here for 2 nights. We were in a separate part of the main house next to the car park but this double ensuite was extremely comfortable with a lovely new bed, warm bathroom, decent shower. Breakfast was very good and the host is very welcoming and informative with lots of Yorkshire charm. A nice stroll away... More 

Helpful?
Thank wifeoftommo
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

So pleased you found the new bed comfortable and enjoyed your stay Looking forward to seeing you again soon Sandra More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

First impressions on arrival we were a bit disappointed as our room was in the stable block and it would have been nice to stay in the main house.to be fair the room turned out to be absolutely fine. The room was very cosy with a lovely comfy bed,lovely soft towels and plenty of hot water, TV and tea and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise2765
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you for letting me know the room smelled of smoke, we do not allow smoking in the guesthouse but as you say people do smoke outside the rooms. I have made sure all the Cottage rooms have been checked and aired. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again Kind regards Sandra More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

Rooms downstairs ideal for my dad as he struggles to climb stairs rooms were very clean honestly bar was a bonus.breakfast was very nice and service was excellent. Only 5 minute walk to town centre with plenty of shops and places to eat and drink mum and add really enjoyed the weekend.

Helpful?
1 Thank keith1300gt
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the stay, and the hoesty bar :) Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us as we do try hard to make everyones stay perfect. Kind regards Sandra More 

Wimborne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016 via mobile

This looked OK on the web site but the accommodation was poor. We had a small room with a tiny bathroom in the attic. I could hardly get in the bath. The furnishings were basic. The breakfast was poor with the smallest piece of fried bread I have ever seen. Overpriced for what it was. Would have paid £50 but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jolyon L
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Harrogate is not the cheapest place to stay as I am sure you found when looking at comparable places on line. If you had wanted more fried bread you only had to ask. We just fine it is a bit rich when you have all the other locally sourced... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Stayed overnight on family visit , clean comfortable lovely bedding and a good sized bathroom.We walked into town to see christmas lights what a change from having to get the car out everytime .Really friendly and a great breakfast, we had our dog with us and the car was very handy for stable room.Thank you Sandra.

Helpful?
1 Thank christine s
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review So glad you enjoyed your stay with your dog Harrogate Christmas lights are beautiful aren't they I hope you have a great Christmas Sandra More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015 via mobile

The owner & staff are friendly & polite, the rooms are modern & clean and the breakfast delicious! Would highly recommend Alexa house to anyone visiting Harrogate whether it for business or leisure. ...................................

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thanks for the review I am pleased we looked after you and you enjoyed your stay Kind regards Sandra More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#2 of 103 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#54 of 103 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shannon Court Guesthouse
Shannon Court Guesthouse
#26 of 103 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#10 of 103 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#1 of 103 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#9 of 103 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alexa House is a beautifully restored detached Victorian property with ample free parking, situated just a short stroll from the town. The Conference & Exhibition Halls are close by so it is the ideal place to enjoy a visit to Harrogate whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alexa House

Address: 26 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range: $102 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexa House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alexa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexa House Hotel Harrogate
Alexa House Harrogate, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay