We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Chequers inn

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chequers inn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 67: English reviews
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We were 8 people when we went to the famous steak night a couple of days ago. I had creamed mushrooms with crispy bacon for starters, followed by ribeye steak. Well well. The starter was the best ever, and the steak was so tasty. We had few wines and beers, and the dessert was also to die for, as everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Issanasrawi
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Just had a Sunday meal , lovely setting , excellent service and the best , most tender roast beef I've ever had . Good was piping hot and plenty of it .had a pate starter and main meal, couldn't eat one of the delicious sweets Will defiantly be back . Was very busy so I would book in advance .

Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel M
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived for a one-night stay. Booking in was straight forward and the staff friendly. The room was very small but adequate for our purposes. Sadly, the bed was very uncomfortable with a poor quality mattress that had springs poking into me all night. There was a bar/restaurant. The food was good but the beer was not so good with... More 

Helpful?
Thank chasgunter
shellie47, Owner at Chequers inn, responded to this review

The mattress in question has been replaced.All rooms have been recently refurbed with new bathroom suites.new carpets and redecorated.I feel the comment not to stay with us or only if you need somewhere cheap is a bit harsh.We are a family run business caring for our customers for 52 years.Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The reception staff were very helpful on our arrival. The room was excellent - newly refurbished new carpet very comfortable bed and excellent tea & coffee making facilities. The bathroom was refurbished and very clean . We had dinner in the restaurant - carvery. We had an early start so we're not able to have breakfast. Although not mentioned on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Purplelady472
Ripon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

6 of us attended the famous ‘steak night’ a few weeks ago. A very traditional pub that appears to have lots of regulars. We were seated straight away and a drinks order taken from us at the table whilst we looked at the menu. With it being steak night, we all ordered steak! It came fairly quickly to say that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachael D
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, very clean and great staff. We were staying over for 1 night family visit, leaving early the next morning. The staff provided us with an extra early breakfast, wide range of choice of starter (cereal, fruit, yoghurt, orange juice, milk) then a full English breakfast with tea and coffee. We had drinks on site on the night time,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura G
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

Arrived to check in for a pre-booked one night stay just after 3p.m. on a Saturday in June. The place was closed (apparently it closes between 2p.m. and 6p.m.). There was nobody in the separate reception area. After having driven for over three hours to get there, we decided to find alternative accommodation nearby. I spoke on the phone with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Archie G
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

The starters.the carvery.the sweets are very good value i have never had a bad meal it also as it's own motel and a caravan park worth a visit it is in a good location as a Base Camp near to harrogate Knaresborough ripon and Ripley castle

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

We are a group of 4 cyclists who stopped here for one night as part of the Way of the Roses coast to coast cycle ride. Everyone was fantastic and looked after us very well. Secure cycle storage, great food and great accomodation. No faults at all. Recomend to all and a massive thanks to the hosts much appreciated.

Helpful?
Thank Graham A
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

We have been coming here for a number of years now for the carvery & have always found the food to be of great quality & value . Great service too. Not stayed in the accommodation but it sounds ok for the prices advertised. As a local taxi driver l have recommended this establishment to a number of my visiting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.0 mi away
Cairn Hotel Yorkshire
Cairn Hotel Yorkshire
#11 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#8 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wellington Inn
The Wellington Inn
#31 of 103 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Market Tavern
The Market Tavern
#14 of 17 in Knaresborough
3.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#3 of 103 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sophie's B&B
Sophie's B&B
#56 of 103 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Chequers inn

Address: Fountains Abbey Rd. | Bishop Thornton, Harrogate, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range: $76 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chequers inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Chequers inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay