We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Swan Hotel

Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Swan Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If it were not for my room (148) it would be a 4 or 5. The dining hall, bar area and facade are amazing. Staff attentive and helpful. However for nearly £100 on a wet and windy Saturday in February I was disappointed with the size of the room. I'm glad I didn't take the family cat with me. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank portmanrd
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely old building typical of Harrogate. Friendly staff, barmaid gave us a few ideas of places to eat. Nice room, clean & pleasant, with large bed & big bathroom. Only criticism was the positioning of the TV, next to the bed , so unable to lie in bed & watch TV, in comfort. Comfy bed, no real complaints & would... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David C
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer Thank you for your kind comments and I am pleased to hear that your enjoyed your visit to Harrogate. Could you please contact me at the hotel regarding your bedroom feedback, it sounds like something we could change easily; sorry we didn't spot it.... Kind regards David Ritson More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we went here with a groupon voucher which included evening meal when we chose a starter each we were told we could both only have one option which if you didn't like black pudding or fish hard luck. the starter arrived on one plate to share and was stone cold, the main was very nice I ordered warm pear and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank aileen c
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that your stay was not entirely satisfactory. Apologies you didn't like the Yorkshire tasting platter and that the dessert was not as described. I also appreciate your comments regarding the children and the piano however I would hope that you appreciate this a challenging situation to deal with... Based... More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked via groupon 2 nights £169 b&b and meal on first night good value. The room I thought looked a little tired and only a double bed but was clean,the deserts sounded lovely but I thought the quality was very poor for the price.drinks were very reasonable and all the staff we came in contact with were very helpful.the hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank david s
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They change £99 a night B & B I think. We paid, through Groupon, £169 for two nights B & B inc evening meal one night...so look for a deal. Our room was on the first floor, forward facing and on the end of the corridor, and very nice it was too. OK, so only a standard single bed but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank watfordpip
North Wales, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I belong to Bedposts, an on-line review and accommodation group. We held our 5th annual conference at The Swan Hotel, we had lunch and later I had dinner with 2 friends. At all times the staff were courteous and efficient. Faultless meals and service.

Helpful?
Thank Prifmawr
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the Old Swan through a Groupon offer and we were not disappointed. We were thinking of upgrading our room but we were glad we hadn't. We were in room 280. The room was a reasonable size and had a great view at the front of the hotel. The room was very warm, if anything a bit too warm... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank KovacsKmk
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just had a great weekend at the old Swan - lovely room, great meals, amazing welcome and help from the staff, and so close to walk into town and back - could not have been better. My dinner on Friday night (especially the scallops to start) and both breakfasts were memorably good - very rare!

Helpful?
1 Thank Gourmetexplorer1952
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a weekend trip to Harrogate upgraded to an executive room Bed and breakfast what can i say staff great room brilliant breakfast superb may be an old hotel but has lots of character they do not have uht milk,they supply you with fresh milk a quick call to room service and its there within 5 minutes. So... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Douggie D
London, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an old hotel with a 1920s style. The rooms are very spacious but looking a little faded, and so could do with some updating but the downstairs areas are grand and full of personality. Breakfast was very good and there was a wide variety of items to choose from.

Helpful?
1 Thank RoseTada
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (164)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 33 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 stars 1,804 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#3 of 33 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 stars 3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#21 of 33 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#17 of 33 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay