We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Cairn Hotel Yorkshire

Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cairn Hotel Yorkshire
Cairn Hotel Yorkshire
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,068 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,061: English reviews
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It's an architecturally imposing building,but sadly let down by the staff & management. Presence of management lacking in all areas. Staff very unhelpful to the point of being rude. Bar staff in particular. We had exceptionally hot weather, no effort made whatsoever to aerate areas. Corridors in bedroom areas all windows & doors closed, plus dining room not one window... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
North West
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A shopping trip to Harrogate. I can recommend it for customer service and pleasant environment, but frankly the food is awful and certainly overpriced for the quality received. The breakfast buffet was no better. There is a Wetherspoons within easy walking distance where you will receive a far better meal. A lack of WiFi in the bedrooms (unless you paid... More 

Helpful?
Thank KingGooner
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel looks great when you pull up in the car park and also when you walk into the lobby, but dont be fooled , i know this is only a 3 star hotel but when you see the rooms they are like a 1 star room i am not sure about all the rooms but the room we was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave H
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay this is very much appreciated. I am so sorry to read that you were not happy with your room this is extremely disappointing for me and we will certainly do a full investigation into the comments you have made. Thank you for your kind... More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was spacious and tidy, with a huge slightly dated ensuite, but clean and functional. The stay was, over all, very pleasant, with the only small gripe being the morning breakfast. The sausages being overcooked and the hash browns soft and soggy, barely fried. The coffee was quite good,

Helpful?
Thank Aromulus
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay this is very much appreciated and thank you for your comments regarding our coffee. I am so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your breakfast this is unusual to hear however I will discuss your comments with my kitchen team. Many thanks More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at the cairn hotel we had complimentry strawberries & pimms on arrival. The food was excellent even suited my fussy husband! The staff were very friendly and very accomodating. It was also very central for our needs. We will most definately return as we could'nt fault a thing.10/10

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine F
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay this is very much appreciated. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you for next years show if not before. Kind regards More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This has the makings of a lovely hotel, and obviously was years ago, but now is very tired and dark and not comfy. It has a stingy feel about it, for example the Wi Fi is not free in the room, unless you book directly. At £5 for 24 hours, no thank you. The products in the room come with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry to read that you were not happy with your stay and would like to take this opportunity to apologize. Our ground floor and public area wifi is free of charge to all our guests, however we do offer a premium wifi in the guests... More 

Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Paid £125 for an overnight stay last minute as everywhere else was fully booked. The room itself was fine if not on the tired side, dark wood, chipped paint, old furnishings and wallpaper etc. The breakfast was average, nothing special. Did get a laugh out of the notice by the toiletries that stated if we took them we would be... More 

Helpful?
Thank lauralovesgrub
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read on tripadvisor that you were not happy with your bedroom this is very upsetting for us and I would like to offer my sincere apologies. Our ground floor and public area wifi is free of charge, however... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is ideal location only short walk into town great wine bar a couple minutes walk away close to playhouse Staff very pleasant, check in was fast and facilities explained room was spacious and clean breakfast was good. Plenty free car parking. It does need some area updated in corridors etc but we'll worth the money and will be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank barbaral61
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay this is very much appreciated and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind regards More 

North of England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I stayed here last weekend. the rooms were all clean and tidy with no problems except for the water. On the 3rd floor the hot water was scalding and no cold water would come out of either the shower or the cold tap on the sink. The second floor rooms at least had cold water. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mummymuz
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay this is very much appreciated and thank you for your kind comments regarding our breakfast. I apologize that our dinner what not to your taste this is very disappointing to read. I am so sorry that you had no cold water I do hope... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to grab a last minute break in Harrogate and we weren't disappointed. We loved the character of the Victorian building especially the large dining room where we enjoyed a scrummy breakfast. All staff should be commended for their friendliness & willingness to help. The reception staff allocated us a twin room at the front of the hotel with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah F
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay and for your lovely comments regarding the hotel and staff. We hope to see you back very soon. Many thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

435 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (56)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (228)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Room (36)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Single room (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (30)
Viewed
The Crown Suite (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 stars 2,089 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#3 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 stars 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel Yorkshire

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range: $97 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel Yorkshire 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cairn Hotel Yorkshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate
Cairn Hotel Yorkshire Harrogate
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay