We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cairn Hotel Yorkshire

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cairn Hotel Yorkshire
Cairn Hotel Yorkshire
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,136: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

It was clean, tidy and the staff where friendly and helpful. The hotel room was a little tired but must have been splendid in its heyday. Great location and an easy walk to the town centre. Plenty if parking spaces. The hotel catered for a gluten free breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
Renfrew, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Loved the entrance downtown Abbey feel. My room had no view looked into a cavity in the building with unused rooms a stone throw away. No light got into my room at all and I found it a little spooky so I tried to sleep with light on. Found it difficult to sleep Breakfast excellent. Desserts excellent. Main course iffy.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann L
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your lovely comments regarding our breakfast and desserts. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your main course or felt comfortable in your room. Reception is open 24 hours and would have been more than happy to find you an alternative room should you have... More 

England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Three night stay as a base for exploring this part of Yorkshire. The ambience is resolutely traditional, but in my book that's a compliment. Staff were courteous, helpful and efficient.We requested and were given a quiet room (a 'classic twin, on the second floor at the back). There is plenty of parking, a real boon for such a central location.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelator2
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your lovely comments about the hotel, food and service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, hopefully very soon. Kind regards More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Enjoyed are stay and would visit again. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpfull. We took our two dogs and this wasn't a problem but we were charged an additional £20 per night. Harrogate has a lot to offer and we could have stayed longer beyond our 4 nights.

Helpful?
Thank Brian G
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your very kind comments about our staff and breakfast. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We loved this hotel for its grand spacious lobby, the rather old fashioned requirement of handing your key in to reception every time you leave the hotel (personal interaction with the friendly helpful staff - fabulous), and that you are served at the buffet breakfast. Nice little touches that older folk like us appreciate! The staff are wonderful - we... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Roz L
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your very kind comments about the hotel, staff, value for money and the service we provide I hope to see you back again very soon. Kind regards More 

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Large hotel with clean spacious rooms. Breakfast was ok and the bar looked fine although we did not use it. Hotel is halfway up a hill on the edge of town, 5-10 minute walk to centre. Overall good value for money.

Helpful?
1 Thank storz14
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for comments about the hotel, breakfast and value for money. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards More 

Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The initial impression of this hotel is that it has a good sized car park. The hotel is rather old fashioned though non the worse for that. It is not particularly disable friendly - only one lift and when we checked in they had run out of rooms with walk in showers.. They have made some effort with a rather... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mentorex
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry that we didn't have a walk in shower on your arrival, it is always best to request one prior to arrival as they are very popular. The ramp to the left of the entrance is used on a daily basis by wheelchair users and... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are going to stay at this Hotel, do not eat here. The breakfast is edible but the evening meals are not. We had a fan in en suite bathroom which did not go off and ran all night, high meant sleep was impossible.

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy your meals with us, this is very unusual for me hear as we cater for over 150+ guests every meal and rarely get complaints. However I do appreciate that everyone has different tastes and for this reason there are 3... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Cairn hotel after reading the Trip Advisor reviews and ratings, which had mainly said it was old-fashioned but very clean. It was so old-fashioned that there was a strange vibe to the hotel - the corridors in particular felt like an old care home or hospital. I also did not find it to be particularly clean,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carla P
Gaynor W, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us this is very disappointing for me to read. As you mentioned we get lots of compliments about our cleanliness and it is totally unacceptable for you to have found anything... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for three nights. Our room was a little tired looking which is what I expected for a 3 star hotel. The bathroom was very spacious. The toiletries are a large handwash and shower gel, not the nice small ones we all take home if we have not used them. We found the staff friendly and breakfast was excellent. Scary... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 800sophie
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

436 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (56)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (228)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Room (36)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Single room (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (30)
Viewed
The Crown Suite (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 stars 4,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#3 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel Yorkshire

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range: $86 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel Yorkshire 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cairn Hotel Yorkshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate
Cairn Hotel Yorkshire Harrogate
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay