We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Great Northern Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Great Northern Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 454: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

On business , ideally situated just outside the train station , very clean large room , recently decorated bar and lounging area , staff were very accommodating and food in the restaurant at a very high standard , definitely worth staying , walking distance to shopping centre , very good value for money I highly recommend it especially with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Coachhous
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Was given a standard room when paid for a deluxe, shower didn't work, payment was taken for group booking before we arrived, payment for rooms was accepted separately afterwards therefore was paid twice. Still awaiting money back. Manager continued to tell me this wasn't in her control. Unacceptable. 7 working days to receive money that should not have been taken... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma B
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Emma Our Deluxe category of rooms is the lowest category that we have and reflected in the price paid. As our Reception Manager explained to you the hotel does run a check on the card before arrival to ensure that payment is available to be made, but we do not take the money from your account until you arrive and... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

From the first phone call to enquire price & availability I was impressed. Everyone I spoke to was friendly & nothing was too much trouble. There was 18 of us & we had the garden room to ourselves which was so much nicer than sharing with strangers. The afternoon tea itself was tasty & plentiful-not many of us could manage... More 

Helpful?
Thank annied08
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Annied08 Thank you for your review, The garden room is our more traditional room and ideal for an small private gathering. We are now receiving great feedback regarding our Afternoon teas, and the team has put in a massive effort to make sure that value for money is given combined with a nice variety of items on offer. Wishing you... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I got married on 1st October 2016 and chose this hotel for my reception for it's location (being right by Peterborough Train Station and close to the City Centre made it good for my guests). From the moment I first made the enquiry nothing was too much trouble. There were several wedding open days and emails regularly reminded me of... More 

Helpful?
Thank jennifer h
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We enjoyed an amazing meal at The Great Northern Hotel's Restaurant and would thoroughly recommend. Lovely quiet atmosphere- each dish was very well prepared & presented. Tasted great- all washed down with some lovely house red! All 4 of us felt that the quality of the food was some of the best we had tasted whilst eating out in Peterborough.... More 

Helpful?
Thank heather1733
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Heather1733 Thank you for your review. Imre the Head Chef is doing a fantastic job with the food that he prepares and takes great pride in what he produces, as do the floor staff in how they take care of the guests. I do hope you will spread the word about our hidden gem so that more people might sample... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
398 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's not often you go into a hotel bar and can't hear yourself think with football blasting out from 3 big TVs. We had a drink there 7pm mid week when there wasn't any significant sport on but still the bar was full of the noise. Nobody was watching the match and I asked the bar man to turn the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clare F
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Clare F Thank you for your review. I am sorry you felt the TVs were too loud. I believe as soon as you and your guest asked for the TV nearest to you to be turned down this was done immediately, as well as reducing the sound on the other TVs, however it was a Champions league game on TV... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on 2 different occasions (both for extended periods) and loved it! The restaurant, bar and coffee shop are wonderful. The rooms are filled with character. There is ample parking and the hotel is just across from the train, which is extremely convenient. Friendly staff augment the comfortable atmosphere. I would strongly recommend to anyone!!

Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
653 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were here last night and won't go again With all the places in town why this place hasn't got its act together I will not understand We arrived and the bar was dirty , good, wrappers, glasses a total mess everywhere . There was nowhere to sit and when we asked a guy who was doing nothing to clear... More 

Helpful?
Thank Droopydrawrs52
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am extremely disappointed that your experience with us at the Great Northern Hotel was so dire. As you will see from our reviews we do normally excel with our service levels so a full investigation of this matter will be taken , rest assured. My sincere apologies that your meal experience was poor.... More 

peterborough
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

we had a joint 70th suprise birthday party here which was booked 11 months before catering for 40 people for Sunday lunch , from start to finish nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing, hot and catered for everyone's needs from tender beef to succulent chicken and mouth watering vegetarian options couldn't ask for better quality food and... More 

Helpful?
Thank kazza24Peterborough
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that your celebrations went so well. Tracy and the team do work very hard to make sure that everyone enjoys their time with us at the Great Northern Hotel. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager More 

Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

LOVED this...handy location decent sized room and quirky mix of modern and Victorian decor. The bed was something else, as was the bathroom...definitely value for money. Staff are very welcoming and friendly. Only issue was the whistling from the steam trains on the Saturday morning. Was it enough to put me off? Not at all...recommended

Helpful?
1 Thank SimonToyne23
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#6 of 29 in Peterborough
824 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 29 in Peterborough
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough
Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough
#25 of 29 in Peterborough
279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queensgate Hotel
Queensgate Hotel
#16 of 29 in Peterborough
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Iconic Victorian Railway Hotel, recently refurbished to enhance the elegance of this stunning hotel at the heart of the city centre. A warm welcome awaits.Please be advised that our rooms are not air conditioned, and there is no lift on the property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Address: Station Road, Peterborough PE1 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Price Range: $72 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Great Northern Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Great Northern Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Quiet floor”
 of 5 bubbles janetdA2470NZ, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms beautifully furnished.”
 of 5 bubbles 860sl860, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
“Always ask for an upgrade!”
 of 5 bubbles 303IanC, Jul 26, 2016 | Read review
“Quiet rooms are at the back of the hotel, away from the train station”
 of 5 bubbles TOBIANDVIVA, Jul 7, 2016 | Read review
“For reduced outside noise, select a room on opposite side to station.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelhF9876RF, Jun 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay