We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Northern Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Great Northern Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 410: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Looked old and tired from outside, better inside. Had a meeting in the breakfast room. Enjoyed a lovely breeze from the open windows, and friendly helpful staff were great. We both had something to eat and tea and they made sure we got the best deal available when paying. Would use the venue again.

Helpful?
Thank joannemF6551QN
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Not very disabled friendly, no lift available! If you order breakfast make sure you have plenty of time to spare! Waited nearly 45 minutes, and then orders were wrong! Porridge resembled something with the consistency of wallpaper paste! Not what I expected from a hotel of this class!

Helpful?
Thank Rich2418
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Rich2418 Thank you for your review and we will be looking into the breakfast issues as this is not our normal standard as you can see from the previous review. All our food is cooked to order so , but 45 minutes is unacceptable and my apologies for this. Regarding our facilities , what we have is all listed on... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I often stay at the Great Northern Hotel for Business. This is literally across the road from the train station, though once inside you don't feel like you are. I find the room very comfortable, clean with good amenities. Staff are friendly and they do a great full English brekky - highly recommend it! prices vary, its not always the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian C
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Ian Thank you for your review and it is pleasing to know that you enjoy staying at the GNH, all the staff work very hard to make sure your stay meets your expectations, and I am glad that you have highlighted the breakfast, which is certainly a hearty way to start the day. Look forward to meeting you on your... More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have just come back from spending two nights at the Great Northern Hotel. I travelled by train and chose this hotel because is is directly opposite Peterborough Station. I booked by phone and was asked if i had any special requests. I said i didn't want to many stairs. The receptionist Steph immediately upgraded me to a superior room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia J
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Patricia thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope that you will be staying with us soon. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager More 

Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want a good night’s sleep – do not stay here, especially if there is a function underway. There appears to be little or no soundproofing. The quietest spots are in the corridors! I have slept better in airport hotels and city centre hotels including a hotel beside a very busy Parisian expressway than here. Apart from the constant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank catowner2015
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Mrs Youngman I am sorry that your stay with us was not satisfactory. Every effort is made to contact the guests before check in to inform them of any functions, as well as information given on check in. I believe the music over ran by 15 minutes and this will be addressed with the staff concerned to make sure the... More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked to have breakfast here before catching the train for our day trip to London. After the initial concern that the chef was not aware of our booking but reception were, we were very impressed. The Dining room appeared to have been recently newly decorated and was beautiful. All the staff were extremely friendly including the cleaners. There is... More 

Helpful?
Thank wendy24-10
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Wendy thank you for your review. We do cook all our hot breakfast fresh and we like to think it is a hearty start to the day. The cold selection buffet on offer does allow you to indulge further and make the most of what we offer. We did refurbish the restaurant last year so it is nice that you... More 

Morcott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed one night at this railway hotel. Staff were exceptional, service was quick and efficient and the bar & restaurant is a good value for the money. I will certainly recommend this hotel and surely will return.

Helpful?
Thank TOBIANDVIVA
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

TOBIANDVIVA Thankyou for your review and i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager More 

edinburgh
Level Contributor
237 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here with friends as attending an event in Peterborough. Obviously been a grand hotel in its day and had the odd bit of refurbishment eg the dining room but all a bit mix and match so no real feel of one design and a result looks a bit hitch potch and dated . On the plus side very... More 

Helpful?
Thank katie26
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Katie26 Thank you for your review, and I can inform you that we have changed the background music, to a more modern tone. The hotel public areas and bedrooms have been refurbished over the years but we have tried to keep the traditional feel in most areas whilst providing all the modern facilities needed for today's traveller. I do feel... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the great northern whilst attending Peterborough Heritage festival, which we would highly recommend. Every member of staff we saw were friendly, welcoming and working hard. The lady who checked us in was great, and changed our booking from a twin to a double in a stress free and helpful way. The breakfast staff were lovely and great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol R
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Carol R Thank you for your review and I am pleased that the majority of your stay was to your liking, Paige will be pleased that you have highlighted him as he has only just joined us. Our bar prices are displayed in the bar and whilst i agree they are more expensive than Waitrose, I feel for the fact... More 

Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very convenient for the station (as you would expect from the name). Nice friendly reception, old world style throughout. If you want to dispense with the production line "plastic" experience of the modern chains - this is your place. Food OK, rooms OK, but very hot. Had to sleep with windows open, but then it was noisy. Not for everyone,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Michael H Thank you for your review, you have highlighted the temperature in the rooms, which we do try to help by having a fan in all our bedrooms. Our location does mean that there can be some outside noise when the windows are open, I am pleased that you will be staying with us again. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#5 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 29 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Orton Hall Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough
Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough
#21 of 29 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queensgate Hotel
Queensgate Hotel
#15 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Iconic Victorian Railway Hotel, recently refurbished to enhance the elegance of this stunning hotel at the heart of the city centre. A warm welcome awaits.Please be advised that our rooms are not air conditioned, and there is no lift on the property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Address: Station Road, Peterborough PE1 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Price Range: $76 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay