We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Great Northern Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Great Northern Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 467: English reviews
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

i have stayed in this hotel quite a few times since the Manager Shaun Rollinson took over. he has made such a different, rooms are clean ,beautifully decorated staff polite and helpful! situated right next to train station also a large Waitross store. my last visit was 17 December 2016.i would thorougly recommend this to any traveller , and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirleycassidy
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Mrs Cassidy Thank you for your review, and I am pleased that you enjoyed your return trip to us. I have a great team here at the hotel which does make my role a lot easier, without them, I would be lost. Lets hope we can catch up on your next visit. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager

Kortrijk, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is well situated, close to the station and the Queensgate shopping mall, and has free parking. The room was big and comfortable, and the bathroom well equiped. The evening meal was a special offer, two courses and a half bottle of wine for £18.52 it wasn't great, but for that price I guess you can't complain. The service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food in the restaurant was of a very high standard, the breakfast was freshly cooked and with quality ingredients. The restaurant is quite big, it could do with half the room being screened off in less busy times to make it less cold and unintimate. The bedroom was a decent size and the beds, bedding and pillows were great. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drani
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Drani Thank you for your review, and your comments will be taken on board. I am looking into the issue with your bill and will have this resolved shortly, and I look forward to seeing you again at the hotel soon. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Next to the station - good; bar service by someone who appeared to be a manager - poor; gent's toilet was discoloured - bad. Would I go back? Very unlikely, even though the only branch of a particular supermarket is next door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgfj20424
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We shall be dealing with the issue mentioned regarding our toilets, to see how we might restore the original fixtures and fittings. I am sorry that you felt the bar service was poor, We do have many positive comments regarding the bar operation with its local real ales, and large array of spirits, and exceptional...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our daughter wanted a family Sunday lunch for her 18th but being a December birthday we were concerned that Christmas takes over and she wanted the occasion to be memorable and special. We had our wedding reception at th Great Northern Hotel 25 years ago and after returning in May to mark our Silver Wedding we were very impressed with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hedz68
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Hedz68 On behalf of the owner please let me say a big thank you for your review. I know you contacted the hotel direct , and we do appreciate that you have taken the time to post your comments on this website. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I last went to the Great Northern years ago when it was okay, but a bit tired and shabby but what a transformation it has had! We were at a company Christmas party a week ago and I am amazed at the place. Lovely food, really beautifully presented as well as hot and tasty. The staff were friendly and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RevelsMaster
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Revelsmaster Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your party and that you have noted and appreciated the effort that has been made over the last few years to improve the Great Northern Hotel. However, this would not be complete without the sterling service of the staff, and they do enjoy their roles which shines through...

bonby
Reviewed December 11, 2016

Overnight stay with old Friends for a reunion. Travelled by train and the hotel is literally across the road from the station. Nice bar area and plenty of seats. Staff polite and helpful although one young barman liked wandering off a little too much. My room was comfortable clean and bed warm and comfy too. Breakfast was good and good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Chris A Thank you for your comments, our bar has become increasingly popular due to the large selection of drinks on offer and the standard of food that we serve. I will be making sure that this particular member of staff takes note of your comments. I am pleased that you have highlighted our breakfast as we do cook all...

Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

Thank you for the extremely helpful service in the Car Park. The attendant is fantastically helpful, always cheerful and ensures that myself, other family and friends would not consider parking elsewhere. He is a great asset to your business. Recently he took my keys, helped me park making sure I didn't miss an important meeting. Much appreciated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger F
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Roger F Thank you for mentioning the car park. Ayhan does an exceptional job in maintaining high customer service even when the car park is so busy. He is always recognised by customers and fully deserves a mention. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager

Reviewed December 7, 2016

My husband and I went to the hotel Saturday and stayed overnight. the room was very comfortable and clean. We had a buffet lunch which was very tasty the only complaint was that the plates were cold. The staff were very obliging and very plesent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Sandra W Thank you for your review. I will address the comments you have highlighted with the team. It is nice to know that you will be back next year, look forward to seeing you then. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager

Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

For the second year in succession we (36 of us) held our retired rail staff Christmas reunion here. Once again the food was good, plentiful and reasonably priced. The success is down to Lizzie and her team who have been so helpful and going the extra mile to make our visit memorable and enjoyable. Also in arrival I was greeted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pete w
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#7 of 29 in Peterborough
830 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 29 in Peterborough
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Queensgate Hotel
Queensgate Hotel
#15 of 29 in Peterborough
298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough
Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough
#24 of 29 in Peterborough
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Iconic Victorian Railway Hotel, recently refurbished to enhance the elegance of this stunning hotel at the heart of the city centre. A warm welcome awaits.Please be advised that our rooms are not air conditioned, and there is no lift on the property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Address: Station Road, Peterborough PE1 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Price Range: $71 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Great Northern Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Great Northern Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't take room 135”
 of 5 bubbles Drani, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Executive Room.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisash57, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
“Quiet floor”
 of 5 bubbles janetdA2470NZ, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms beautifully furnished.”
 of 5 bubbles 860sl860, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
“Always ask for an upgrade!”
 of 5 bubbles 303IanC, Jul 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay