We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Great Northern Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Great Northern Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 415: English reviews
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When travelling around the country an enjoyable stay will often mean around 16 hours. In that time you need to sleep, wash, eat, work and if time relax. I unfortunately often don't get time for the last one. Evening meal and breakfast were very nice and well served. Bed and room were nice too if a little hot, no air... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry S
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I got married here on the 13th August and we cannot thank you guys enough ! From the first day we came in to look around to the day after the wedding the staff were second to none absolutely not a bad word to say about them. The food is amazing, the bedrooms are faultless, a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank danieljones201057
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One word Wow!! The service from the staff here is second to none. From entering the building my wife and I were treated exquisitely. The food here is worthy of the most critical palette. Everything was cooked freshly, from breakfast to dinner and wedding breakfast. Page, Osi, Adrian and Maria were outstanding. I will definitely return. Thank you for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is ideally located as my daughter's wedding took place at a nearby church. The bedrooms were beautiful and very clean indeed. The staff were very polite,friendly and professional in how they looked after us all. I would like to highlight Sophia who supported my daughter with the wedding reception arrangements ,also Neil and Lizzie the duty managers. Lizzie... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank greenkenneth2016
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

greenKenneth Thank you for your review, and I am so pleased your daughters wedding was a special day to remember. Zsofia Lizzie and all the team do work so hard to make the day as easy and stress less as possible. All the best for their future happiness. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having been stuck on the A1 for 5 hours, I arrived at midnight (having booked at 11.30pm) to a very warm welcome and a lovely large room. Additionally, there was free parking. I could have kissed them. The thought of having to drive round looking for parking (having been parked on the A1!) was not something I would have welcomed.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sl140
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

sl140 Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comment regarding the room , in certain rooms the hot water pipes do run behind the skirting, this can give the impression the heating is on. A fan in the room should be provided as standard and my apologies... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Looked old and tired from outside, better inside. Had a meeting in the breakfast room. Enjoyed a lovely breeze from the open windows, and friendly helpful staff were great. We both had something to eat and tea and they made sure we got the best deal available when paying. Would use the venue again.

Helpful?
Thank joannemF6551QN
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The hotel is perfectly suited for informal business meetings with so many options and areas to sit. We have refurbished the inside of the building over the last two years and we are looking into what can be done to improve the outside. Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not very disabled friendly, no lift available! If you order breakfast make sure you have plenty of time to spare! Waited nearly 45 minutes, and then orders were wrong! Porridge resembled something with the consistency of wallpaper paste! Not what I expected from a hotel of this class!

Helpful?
Thank Rich2418
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Rich2418 Thank you for your review and we will be looking into the breakfast issues as this is not our normal standard as you can see from the previous review. All our food is cooked to order so , but 45 minutes is unacceptable and my apologies for this. Regarding our facilities , what we have is all listed on... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I often stay at the Great Northern Hotel for Business. This is literally across the road from the train station, though once inside you don't feel like you are. I find the room very comfortable, clean with good amenities. Staff are friendly and they do a great full English brekky - highly recommend it! prices vary, its not always the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian C
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Ian Thank you for your review and it is pleasing to know that you enjoy staying at the GNH, all the staff work very hard to make sure your stay meets your expectations, and I am glad that you have highlighted the breakfast, which is certainly a hearty way to start the day. Look forward to meeting you on your... More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

I have just come back from spending two nights at the Great Northern Hotel. I travelled by train and chose this hotel because is is directly opposite Peterborough Station. I booked by phone and was asked if i had any special requests. I said i didn't want to many stairs. The receptionist Steph immediately upgraded me to a superior room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia J
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Patricia thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope that you will be staying with us soon. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager More 

Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

If you want a good night’s sleep – do not stay here, especially if there is a function underway. There appears to be little or no soundproofing. The quietest spots are in the corridors! I have slept better in airport hotels and city centre hotels including a hotel beside a very busy Parisian expressway than here. Apart from the constant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank catowner2015
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Mrs Youngman I am sorry that your stay with us was not satisfactory. Every effort is made to contact the guests before check in to inform them of any functions, as well as information given on check in. I believe the music over ran by 15 minutes and this will be addressed with the staff concerned to make sure the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#5 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 29 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Orton Hall Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough
Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough
#23 of 29 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
3.6 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#12 of 29 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Iconic Victorian Railway Hotel, recently refurbished to enhance the elegance of this stunning hotel at the heart of the city centre. A warm welcome awaits.Please be advised that our rooms are not air conditioned, and there is no lift on the property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Address: Station Road, Peterborough PE1 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Price Range: $75 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay