We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bell Inn Stilton

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bell Inn Stilton
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 405: English reviews
Start your review of Bell Inn Stilton
 Click to rate
Peterborough, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been coming to the Bell Inn Stilton for a number of years for a meal with the group of chaps. This year was the poorest meal we have had, which is such a shame as it's a lovely place to eat. Hey ho. Next year we will spend our money elsewhere

 Report
Helpful?
Thank henders
toptable10, General Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this review

All feedback is received in a positive light as it enables us to learn from out mistakes. As you rightly pointed out it is a shame you are looking elsewhere for your next meal. I can only apologies that on this occasion we fell sadly short of your expectations. I would be grateful if you could call the Hotel to...

Weybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although we didn't stay here, we phoned ahead and booked a table for a breakfast. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, who directed us upstairs. We were met by Hazel, who showed us to our table. Hazel and her team looked after us really well, and a great tasty breakfast was provided. Plenty of tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebzHaz
toptable10, General Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this review

I am delighted that we set you up for the day with a good Breakfast. Hazel is a real asset to our team, I am in awe of her bright cheery nature and this time of morning. Kind regards Jo

united kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just got back from a 2 night stay at this hotel , i have to say i cant find any fault here and previous comments from Jan on this site baffled me . This is our honest review . Arrival No problems getting here , straight off the A1 from the north , we were greeted at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bomberslady
toptable10, General Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I will most definitely pass on your thanks to all our front of house team, from housekeeping to bar staff. We hope to see you again when the sun comes out, the courtyard is lovely in the summer time. Kind Regards Johanna Grimshaw General Manager

Reading berkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friends had eaten at and recommended the Bell. So six of us met up to celebrate a birthday. Arrived mid afternoon, enjoyed the rugby in one room. Rooms well appointed, very comfortable bed, good hospitality tray, Wi-Fi worked and lovely bathroom. Reception staff pleasant and welcoming. Went to Bistro for evening meal. Waiting staff again, very pleasant. Variety of starters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine e
toptable10, General Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at The Bell Inn, Stilton. It sounds like you all thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Johanna Grimshaw General Manager

Retford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A party of 20 for Sunday lunch, at this fine old coaching inn, real ale, nice dining area and great service. I started with the stilton pate with pear chutney very good. Roast beef with roasties and plenty of fresh veg, Large Yorkshire puddings, as many as you can eat, five for me, crumble for dessert with custard. Others in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John T
toptable10, General Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your lunch. We firmly believe that Sunday lunch is about good company and good food - (lots of it!) I will pass on your praise to all the department concerned. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Johanna Grimshaw General Manager

Lincoln
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights last week, 1st night I was woken by the inconsiderate person in next room deciding it was ok to switch his tv on at 3am! 2nd morning got in shower at 7.30 and no hot water, complained and moved to next room and still the same! So cold shower it was. Unbelievably I stayed there 2 years...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeilWilsonLincoln
toptable10, General Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this review

It certainly seems that you did not have the best experience with us. I can only apologise for the inconsiderate guest and hope that after the night porter intervened you managed to get some sleep. Unfortunately no hot water system is infallible and I can only apologise that we were unable to rectify this on the day. If you choose...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 19, 2017

We booked the bistro at the bell to take a small gathering of business people for Dinner. They were impressed by the building and interior as soon as we arrived. The staff were welcoming and the menu appeared varied, Then a few disappointments whilst cheerful service was slow, we ordered starters the prawns had sold out, moving on to diner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelExp123
toptable10, General Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this review

Thank you for having taken the time to submit your review, we appreciate all feedback. I can only apologise for our shortages, all our food is fresh and cooked to order. It would appear that on this particular night it was extremely busy with many guests opting for the Steak, Hake and Prawns. Unfortunately there is no Butchers across the...

peterborough
Reviewed January 19, 2017

Four of us booked our Christmas meal here, it was a Monday evening, therefore very quiet, there were three other parties in the Bistro so far from full, we were sat by a window, which within half an hour we were back in our coats as there was a cold draft coming through. The starters were brought out promptly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tshukuduky
toptable10, General Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps us to improve the service we offer. Having investigated, I am sorry to say that we have no record of any complaint received highlighting these concerns. I would ask you to please contact the hotel directly and I will be very happy to discuss the matter further...

Peterborough
Reviewed January 15, 2017

Country Pate that should not have pistacho nuts in it? Otherwise adequate. Soup of the day not very clever, so much of it left. The bread an butter that accompanied was the best part of this dish, the bread tasty and between 1-2 Oz in the pat of butter. NO french wine in this restaurant anymore, so change your wine...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank YeOldOne
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 12, 2017 via mobile

I'm not sure what's going on at The Bell to be honest but the meal quality seems to decline with each visit and the prices definitely don't reflect it. The days of some heart warming Dingly Dell pork dishes appear to have long gone and instead replaced by some more "out-there" dishes which just don't have the flavour they used...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JTDaprince
toptable10, General Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this review

Thank you for having taken the time to wite down your thoughts, I am only sorry that you feel we have lost our way. We have changed our style over the past year and achieved 2 AA Rosettes on our last inspection. We are working on our new Spring Menu which I think will be worth popping in for! Kind...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
6.5 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 29 in Peterborough
321 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#8 of 29 in Peterborough
841 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Peterborough (Norman Cross A1(M), J16) Hotel
6.5 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#14 of 29 in Peterborough
322 reviews
4.5 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#10 of 29 in Peterborough
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bell Inn, historically an important stop on the Great North Road between London and York, is one of the finest surviving examples of a 17th century Coach House. Famous as the Birthplace of Stilton Cheese, this popular inn sits at the heart of the village.Built around the old courtyard our Village bar and Bistro, Galleried Restaurant and Bedrooms have been skilfully blended into the ageless stonework offering old world charm, relaxing comfort and the most modern facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bell Inn Stilton

Address: 33 Great North Road | Stilton, Peterborough PE7 3RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Price Range: $109 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Inn Stilton 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bell Inn Stilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn Stilton Hotel Peterborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Bell Inn Stilton staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Manchester
1 month ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Bell Inn Stilton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Discuss your needs with the stFf who will do everything to oblige.”
 of 5 bubbles 541keithj, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
“In the front rooms you can hear lorries unloading to the shops opposite quite early in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles worldt222, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
“If there is an event at the hotel the Garden Rooms would be a good choice. I am sure the staff would suggest that.”
 of 5 bubbles LizT647, Oct 2, 2016 | Read review
“Definately worth a visit but try to avoid staying when large parties are booked in to get the best from this wonderful, unique venue.”
 of 5 bubbles _jenny_murray45, Sep 29, 2016 | Read review
“The garden rooms are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Alan_Dobson., Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question