We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Priceline$120*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$129*
$120*
$129*
$129*
$120*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

591 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 570: English reviews
Start your review of Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
 Click to rate
Belfast
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We checked in on a Sunday and were very pleased to be upgraded to a room in the main hotel, rather than the lodge (more about that later!) The room was very spacious and the bed was huge - super-king-size 6'. We ate in the bar, which is in an new extension with large windows looking out on the scenery....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeeJayDee
Longford, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

this is a three star hotel should be 4 star rooms big beds big very clean found the food very good would go back again five of us went in may lucky with the weather plenty of little villages around glad we booked a last minute deal will go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonybate2016
Lecco, Italy
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

When we arrived at the hotel reception we were stood waiting awkwardly for the receptionist to finish her personal phone call about her daughter's lovely new dress. When she finished she greeted us and told us that our night in the oldest hotel in Ireland was not going to happen and that we would be staying in the lodge across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ver090
Inishcrone, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was disappointed with the seafood chowder as it came in a small bowl, very little fish, and it was too thick. The lamb came with mashed potatoes and a salad. The lamb was chewy and the potatoes were so so. I had to ask for dressing for the salad. Along with a pint of smithwick the.billwas just under 30€.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomapar
Longford, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

my husband and i stayed here during the easter break. absolutely loved it.food was delicious and excellent service. staff very friendly.great value for money.will definitely be returning to stay again.fionnuala longford

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fcneary
Ciara A, Reception at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Fionnuala, Thank you for your very kind and complimentary review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I shall pass your comments along to all of the Woodenbridge team members. We hope you return very soon, we are getting fabulous weather! Kindest regards, Ciara Aherne

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is big enough to hold a group. I would imagine its a great wedding venue. or for a large family party. the bar food is very nice. the rooms are clean and nice. you get what you pay for. preferably stay in the hotel area rather than the lodge - however they are just across the road. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review, we love to receive feedback from our guests. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are thinking of planning a group or family stay away, please do not hesitate to contact us, we tailor-make ever stay to ensure it is a memorable experience. There are plenty...

Waterford, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

After driving through the majestic array of forest trees and over stone cobbled bridges Woodenbridge was a welcomed sight that looked like home away from home. It seemed rather small from the outside but never judge a book by the cover. Once inside you journeyed back in time to read the stories of those who built this beautiful historical accommodation....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What an absolute pleasure it was to read your review, it is wonderful to receive such complimentary reviews from our guests. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have to agree with you, Woodenbridge hotel is full of character, and we are so lucky to be located in such a picturesque location. We have an...

Reviewed April 14, 2017

I booked into this hotel with a few friends whilst in area playing golf and could not believe the value. It is located in a very scenic area right beside a fantastic golf course (Woodenbridge). The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was excellent as was the accommodation. The atmosphere was brilliant. I have returned yesterday and i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
Ciara A, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, Thank you for your kind comments, it is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our guests. The satisfaction of our guests is of highest priority and it is important to us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable, and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our offered facilities. I shall pass your...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed April 12, 2017

My parents always enjoyed staying at the Woodenbridge Hotel. We have just returned from two night stay and understand why. We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay. Our room was bright with a lovely view. The beds were comfortable; we slept very well. Downstairs was an eclectic mix of old and new. There was a nice sense of history...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merrybeau
Ciara A, Reception at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would have to agree with you, the area is very relaxing and has a welcoming idyllic ambiance (including breath-taking views!) There is a great atmosphere and character to the hotel, we are quite conscious of the area’s Irish history...

Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

My niece had her wedding here and it was beautiful. Staff are so lovely. We stayed in the lodge rooms. Very comfortable and clean. Very nice decor and plenty of parking. Surrounded by beautiful mountains and small windy Irish roads. Close to Avoca Hand weavers. Recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Theresa S
Ciara A, Reception at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely comments, and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your niece's special day! I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and character of the hotel and lodge. I will pass on your comments to all the Woodenbridge staff members. We hope you return to us again for another enjoyable stay. Kindest regards, Ciara Aherne

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (149)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
4.3 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
662 reviews
21.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
985 reviews
19.1 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
488 reviews
5.2 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
983 reviews
13.3 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the vale of Avoca, one of Ireland’s most beautiful locations, and established in 1608, Woodenbridge hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland and one of the few remaining family-run hotels. The hotel itself overlooks the vale of Avoca and the amazing Woodenbridge golf club, while Woodenbridge lodge is adjacent to the main hotel and is surrounded by peaceful gardens on the banks of the Aughrim River. All of the rooms are en-suite and with complimentary wireless access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Address: Vale of Avoca, Arklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Price Range: $69 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodenbridge Hotel And Lodge
Woodenbridge Hotel Arklow
Best Western Woodenbridge Hotel
Best Western Arklow
Arklow Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
Bangor, United Kingdom
3 hours ago
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago
Ardee, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We got room 108 at the front of the hotel. Very large room with a nice room from it's small windows”
  • Room 108. HUGE bed, lots of space
DeeJayDee, yesterday | Read review
“rooms in hotel are more expensive than rooms in the lodge which is across the road so if its raining you get wet going for brekky”
tonybate2016, 5 days ago | Read review
“stay in the hotel instead of the lodge”
265karenm, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Best Views great location”
elizabethberryla2017, Feb 27, 2017 | Read review
“211 ... don't be fooled ;-)”
gschulzb, Feb 25, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Priceline
$120* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com$129
TripAdvisor$120
Expedia.com$129
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates