We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Harbour House

Finisklin Road, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Sligo International Tourist Hostel)
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Harbour House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 48: English reviews
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Scruffy with charmless decor, but clean, offering a friendly welcome, a cheap bed and a kitchen stocked with homemade scones, tea and coffee, breakfast cereals and bread. Not a place to hang out, but a cheap and comfortable night's sleep, and a delicious fruit scone or two.

Helpful?
Thank SuddenSunlight
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The accomodation is reasonable priced and within walking distance from towncenter. Alas, this seems to attract groups of stags if you are unlucky, their drunken behaviour beraving you of your sleep. Apparently security is poor during the night.

Helpful?
Thank RSL3881
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The outside area seems iffy, but the room was lovely. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is close to town, so a pleasant walk. Not centrally located though. I felt safe and the facilities were clean.

Helpful?
Thank Mary C
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

The order of the day is "make yourself at home". I have never felt as able to be myself in the way I have here, all thanks to Laura. The room was clean, simple and comfortable, who could ask more? This is my first visit to Ireland and would definitely recommend Harbour House to anyone!

Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
Malaga, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

From the minute I arrived I felt more than welcome. Laura offered coffee and a freshly baked scone (just out of the oven). Check in was straightforward and was shown to my room, given the WiFi password and a map to the town. The location is at the beginning of finisklin which is Sligo's main business park. But you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jorge M
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of musicians for a wknd. Found it clean,very friendly and will definitely be back.great value.double room was clean and warm and for €44 all in amazing value. Paddy was a gent to deal with.highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
HarbourHouseHostel, Manager at The Harbour House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Gerry, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

My husband and I stayed one night recently and found it clean, tidy and warm. Laura C was extremely welcoming, inviting and friendly. The breakfast was adequate and there was plenty. We knew it was a 10-15 minute walk into town but saw that as a bonus, having driven all day. Laura C recommended a pub the Fiddlers Creek which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Garth C
HarbourHouseHostel, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found Laura so helpful, we look forward to welcoming you again soon More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

I was there last weekend. I have to say that I had read some reviews before, which were pretty negative, about the hygiene standard, the breakfast, the distance from the city centre etc., and I had my prejudices, but I totally changed my opinion when I arrived there. First thing, the hostel is 8 min walking from the bus station,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fede_2015a
HarbourHouseHostel, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review "Fede_2015a". We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Harbour House. Laura has a wealth of local knowledge and will always try to steer guests in the right direction on things to do in Sligo! We look forward to seeing you again very soon More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016 via mobile

I was lucky because we were only 2 in a 8 beds dormitory. The bed was really comfy. It was very quiet. Bathroom is ok. The room was warm. The kitchen was great. Breakfast was great as well. It is a 10 min walk from the train/ bus station. I really enjoyed my stay I would recommend if you are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mathilde M
HarbourHouseHostel, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mathilde, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

I have stayed in hostels and hotels all over the world and this is the only time I've ever been driven to write a negative review. Firstly, and worstly, was the noise. A large group was there during my stay and their noise kept me up for most of two nights despite wearing earplugs. No attempt was made by the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank fozwal
HarbourHouseHostel, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review fozwal and we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, however, as is the nature of Tripadvisor (there is no record of the day that you stayed) we cannot respond to the specific complaint about your fellow guests and the noise that they made or the damage that you say they caused.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.6 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Sligo
Clarion Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel & Leisure Club
4.5 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Harbour House Budget Accommodation Guest House is a tourist budget accommodation in Sligo town, with en-suite single rooms, double rooms, twin rooms, family rooms and dormitory rooms. It is situated only 12 minutes walk from the centre of Sligo town and the main train and bus station for the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Address: Finisklin Road, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Sligo International Tourist Hostel)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Price Range: $47 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay