We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,324: English reviews
Start your review of Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent facilities and room. Staff very friendly. Only criticism is bar food was not as high standard as price would suggest- slightly disappointing. Breakfast very nice. Overall would stay again but would book restaurant instead.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nataliefromireland
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nataliefromireland Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that your food in the Knuttel bistro was not up to our normal standards and I will certainly speak to our chef about this. Kind regards Sharon McMahon Sales & Marketing

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From start to finish we had a great stay at the Hillgrove hotel. We didn't get to use the Spa facilities as were pushed for time. However room breakfast and hospitality was excellent and would not hestitate to stay here in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolineheaney
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear carolineheaney We really appreciate your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We hope that next time you are back you get to use the lovely spa facilities. Kind regards Sharon McMahon Sales & Marketing

County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here before a job interview. Great hotel, large room and large bathroom, great food and the best thing of all was the staff. They are incredible. I would stay here again. Great spot. It was great value for what I paid. Plenty of party and just a short trip to Armagh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin D
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gavin D We really appreciate your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us and your comments about the staff, bedrooms and food. I hope you get the job :) Kind regards Sharon McMahon Sales & Marketing

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for one night. Great family hotel. Good facilities and helpful staff. Very late check in as we arrived at 1pm. One of the rooms ready at 3.30 and the other at 4.30... enjoyed the break and leisure facilities! Very family orientated.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CarmenMuresan
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Myself my wife and 2 kids had a great stay at this hotel. We will definitely be back again soon. Plenty for the kids to do and the staff were brilliant. Kids loved playing in the pool and then they hung out in the kids club for a couple of hours.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ruairi m
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Like the interior and the quirkyness style in the hotel. The staff are friendly and got a warm welcome. The rooms were clean and airy. Only downside of this hotel is a kettle and tea and coffee sachets. These have been in any other hotel I have stayed in. The breakfast was tasty. The other thing aswell which I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayleigh o
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear kayleigh O Many thanks for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel and your lovely comments about our quirky hotel decor, we like to be different :) I am really sorry that you did not find the kettle and tea/coffee sachets which are in each room. We do advise guests on the website about the wearing of swimming hats and flip flops...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife an I visited the Hillgrove on 14 February. The room w as great, a spacious and with an excellent en suite. The dinner was great and my vegan needs were catered for tremendously. The head waitress was fantastic and some helpful as were the rest of the very friendly staff. Our thanks to all at the Hillgrove. T...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Terry M We really appreciate your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our chefs at the Hillgrove Hotel like to be able to cater to all clients dietary requirements, so we really appreciate your comments which I will be sure to pass on. Kind regards Sharon McMahon Sales & Marketing

County Monaghan, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a beautiful meal in the bar in this hotel today i really enjoyed it the bar food is fantastic .And while i was there i got a look at the refurbished Vettriano Restaurant and i have to say Classy Style has hit this restaurant with a bang , it is totally amazing it sure blew my mind ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _mary_gormley58
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear mary_gormley58 We really appreciate your lovely comments regarding your recent dining experience in the Knuttel Bistro and the compliments regarding our Vettriano Restaurant. We have to admit that we are thrilled with how it has been transformed. Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon. Kind regards Sharon McMahon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for a spa package & Sunday lunch. Treatments were 1st class & Sunday roast was nicest I've tasted. It's a very busy hotel &a lots of craic to be had. Therapists were lovely homely girls & very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smstrain
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Smstrain Thank for taking the time to review your recent spa day with us. I will certainly pass on your lovely feedback to our Spa Manager and also our chef. Kind regards Sharon McMahon Sales & Marketing

Portaferry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have just returned from the Hillgrove in Monaghan. We had a fabulous weekend, the room was first class with a walk in shower as well as a bath. The staff in the hotel were second to none. Everyone had a smile on their face and a willingness to help. Liam in the bar was exceptional. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fitzsiae
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear fitzsiae Firstly thank you for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel Leisure & Spa for your recent break. We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and especially the bedroom and food. Liam is the hear and soul of the Knuttel Bar band I will be sure to pass on your compliment. Kind regards Sharon McMahon Sales & Marketing

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

264 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (240)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (127)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Monaghan
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
12.3 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
189 reviews
13.2 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Vettriano Restaurant
Vettriano Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Price Range: $93 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
1 month ago
over a year ago
northern ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a room facing the Cathedral, it's really picturesque”
 of 5 bubbles Dollos, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Lovely view overlooking the Cathedral”
 of 5 bubbles karenwall2017, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“ground floor is handy”
 of 5 bubbles pauloW2505HQ, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“first floor was good near lobby and dinning room”
 of 5 bubbles brendano721, Jan 17, 2017 | Read review
“Go to the back of the hotel.much quieter”
 of 5 bubbles maryS87, Dec 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question