We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Abbeywood House Newport Road, Westport F28 EC64 Ireland
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (19)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (4)

About

#5 of 21 Specialty lodging in Westport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
What do you look for in a place to stay? Do you find hotels too expensive? B&Bs too claustrophobic and hostels too communal? Abbeywood gives you the best of all three...A former monastery, still retaining many of its original features such as stained glass windows, polished wood floors and high ceilings. Its situation, set in off the road in its own grounds makes it hard to believe it's so close to the centre of town. Come see us!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Room features
Iron
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
54Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 33
  • 15
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
gracelawlor4 wrote a review Jul 2018
County Wicklow, Ireland1 contribution
I have been going to Abbeywood for over 15 years and have gone there for the past 12 years with my son he is now 15 and still always his best holiday and still loves pointing out the church spire because he knows we are in Westport and we are going to the hostel. The hostel is spotless from top to bottom and the beds are so comfy. The best thing about Abbeywood is the owner Suize she keeps everything ticking over like clockwork, she has gone out of her way to look after myself and my son over the years and has shown us nothing but kindness and nothing was ever a bother. Suize has always time for all her quests and is a great ambassador for Westport promoting all the beautiful attractions Westport has to offer. We are very sad that Abbeywood is for sale but we will hopefully get down again this summer to add to our years of beautiful memories.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Elma S wrote a review Jun 2018
London, United Kingdom70 contributions32 helpful votes
Booked to stay here thinking we were staying at a bed and breakfast, this is a hostel but advertised as Bed and Breakfast, rip off Ireland, there are communal showers on one floor and nothing on ground floor only a toilet, we lost our money as we decided to leave, we asked to be moved to a floor near the showers as there is one room. On ground floor and were offered a room with bunk beds and a single bed, we are late sixties, paid £124 for the experience. The place is up for sale, says it all.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan C, Owner at Abbeywood House
Responded Jun 25, 2018
Nobody likes getting a bad review however when it's a small family run business it always affects you more. Luckily they are few and far between as previous reviews on Trip Advisor will show and everyone has the right to their opinion. In this case however there are a few inaccuracies. We are not a traditional B&B or a hostel and we certainly are not a " hostel pretending" to be a Bed and breakfast". A hostel usually has shared dorm space and kitchen access. We provide private rooms with shared bathroom facilities and a continental breakfast of home made brown bread, toast, cereal, fruit, orange juice, tea and coffee in the morning. We make it very clear at the time of booking that the rooms are not en-suite. We have a Triple room with a bunkbed and a single bed which is €75 per night in high season (yes that's €25 per person) . The Double room (with a Double bed) is €60 per night in high season, hardly "rip off Ireland". As these guests were not happy with the situation of their room they were offered the only other room free on a busy Saturday night in Westport which happened to be the Triple room with a bunkbed and single bed. We receive consistently high reviews on AirBnB and Hostelworld among others. We also have a huge amount of return guests who appreciate the unique nature of the building, a former monastery, along with the comfortable surroundings, excellent location and the great wifi! . Try us out for yourself :)
Read more
SocialTraveller wrote a review Nov 2017
Vancouver, BC218 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
We have stayed at Abbeywood House each time we have gone to Westport for a number of reasons. Susan and Guillaume are two of the main reasons - they are both so accommodating and fun to talk with. The house itself was an old abbey now converted to a hostel. Rooms are big; lots of hot water and great showers; it is clean and the building has lots of character. Beds are comfortable and the breakfast takes place in the old chapel - the coffee is always great. Not to mention you have a great view of Croagh Patrick from Abbeywood, and to explore Westport you can leave the car and walk in to town within 4 - 5 minutes. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: All rooms are great, but the view is a bit better upstairs.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from CailindeasMayo, Owner at Abbeywood House
Responded Nov 21, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review! We have a number of guests who return year after year and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much you come back again. Hopefully see you in the future! Regards, Susan
Read more
cosmil wrote a review Aug 2016
Massachusetts108 contributions24 helpful votes
The location was good (removed from road but behind a large construction site) and the owner was incredibly friendly. We stayed at B&B's for most of our trip and this definitely felt more like a hostel to us. We appreciated the sink in our room but we weren't prepared with our own soap. The shared bathrooms and showers were clean.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
GG1971 wrote a review Aug 2016
Dublin, Ireland14 contributions9 helpful votes
Abbeywood is great, we stayed there for 3 nights with our kids, perfect base for doing the greenway cycle which is brilliant. Abbeywood is a friendly place and well run. Clean warm and comfortable. We had a lovely stay, able to stroll into Westport in the evenings and sample the pubs and restaurants. The staff are very helpful and will make you feel at home. The continental breakfast is good as well, maybe Abbeywood could add some yogurts to the menu or even scrambled egg would be nice , but other than that no complaints :-)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Previous
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Abbeywood
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty MayoWestport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Abbeywood House
Which popular attractions are close to Abbeywood House?
Nearby attractions include Westport Town Hall Theatre (0.2 miles), Matt Molloy's (0.2 miles), and The Legend of Grainne Mhaol (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Abbeywood House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Abbeywood House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Abbeywood House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Abbeywood House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ring's Bistro, The Gallery Wine & Tapas Bar, and The Pantry & Corkscrew.
Is Abbeywood House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Westport.
Are there any historical sites close to Abbeywood House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Westport House & Gardens (0.6 miles), Clew Bay Heritage Centre (1.3 miles), and The Pirate Adventure Park at Westport House (0.9 miles).